Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Fighter jets for the Air Corps?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,136 ✭✭✭purplepanda

Why should I repeat what others have already costed in great detail contained in this thread previously, also including the Defence Commission which consisted of military experts from home & abroad? If you haven't managed to read the suggestions given & not noticed the media reports over the last years, that's not my issue.

Suggesting that a €billion is to be spent on squadrons of fighter jets is your fantasy & nobody else's.

You are just on here to abuse other posters & have no serious proposals nor debating skills to make regarding defence & military expenditure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,774 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Britain is still the most likely agressor especially if it becomes destabilized. I'm sure we would have support from some foreign power in this situation but we would have to defend ourselves first and a few modern jets would be a part of this initially. The key is to make it not worth any enemy's while. Back to the aircraft there is no need to spend billions a few hundred million for a few interceptors to shoo off intruders or rogue aircraft. I know the US didn't stop all the airliners (one may have been shot down) but for some reason they weren't expecting an attack of this type. We now know better. As for who makes that call that would have to be decided by the proper authorities using hopefully a prearranged protocol and an actual aircraft flying alongside could make direct contact with the suspect aircraft.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 142 ✭✭Nighttime22

I am literally uncontested on here in terms of factual debate, if you want to be factually correct i suggest you go back thru the posts and you will notice a select group of posters that have been on this thread 5 years plus that infact started attacking me as soon as i said that Fighter jets arent in fact needed in this country.

Of course they have no thoughts of there own and just regurgitate that "commission said so" to which i retorted it as nonsense and sited several key facts to back my points.

Notable Key facts include.

1) Irelands Geographical Location and proximity to nations with good ties and strong militaries that would without doubt aid us in the extremely unlikely event we were invaded.

2) The futility of us shooting down a Russian aircraft that refused to obey a weak, underfunded outdated token irish airforce.

3) Our inability to cope with the response from countries like Russia if we did in fact use Fighter Jets to shoot down there aircraft thus leading to the point why even have them in the first place?

4) The billions the program would cost and it would unless you think the jets will pay for themselves and in there spare time build there own facilities, radar, buy munitions and train pilots.

5) Our Global presence and the fact we conduct ourselves well and are well liked by other nations, no need for fancy fighter jets if you get along with everyone which we do.

6) And last but not least we have got by without jets for decades without any incident or need for them why should we all of a sudden allocate over a billion or more to something that would be a token effort at best at air defense when we could use that money far better in the country.

I have an open challenge to alot of know it all posters on here to answer these points with any decent level of sense and logic all have failed to do so.

I can therefor conclude that these people are bluffing and just regurgitating stuff they read online and will defend there war/top gun fantasies to last.

Ill just entertain the idea that Britain overnight implodes and randomly decides it wants to attack us again. We have bought our 10-15 outdated jets great. Britain launches several preemptive strikes and cripples them instantly at the start of the war, with air superiority achieved they now run sorties relentlessly over Ireland crippling key infrastructure and military bases to which we have no reply. They then thru the north start a ground attack to mob up the rest they are in Dublin in a couple of days and the country is occupied in a week.

Key points there first strike ability is superior to our nonexistent one and there army is vastly superior to ours in everyway = quick end for our standing army and were back to the good old days of guerilla warfare.

Please explain to me how 10-15 outdated jets helped?

AS for the rouge Airline, once its in the air its basically too late if thats what you are concerned about airport security would be a far better investment.

Random acts of terror are nearly impossible to stop regardless of equipment.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,894 ✭✭✭✭bear1

You're literally doing what you don't want done to you, taking pot shots and acting as if you know better than the defence forces.

You clearly haven't got a clue, and i find It somewhat laughable that your only line of defence is that other countries should protect us.

Would ya ever feck off what that shite, you couldn't string a proper argument together if your life depended on it.

You have literally no counter as to why Ireland doesn't need a defence nor can you in any way shape or form provide a scenario where you can back up why Ireland should rely on other nations.

Taking your rants on a questionable whole, Ireland as a sovereign state should not engage in any sort of defence spending because the UK and the US are there to protect us.

Utter gibshiterry

How does airport security bring a hikacked airliner down? How does that stop it happening?

So you admit that we have no control over our airspace then if a country can take it over easily... Have ya found an exit to the circle you keep running in?

So random acts of terrorism can't be stopped so may as well just say feck it and do nothing at all to stop it.

Jaysis :D

Lets go through your 'facts' ...

1) Irelands Geographical Location and proximity to nations with good ties and strong militaries that would without doubt aid us in the extremely unlikely event we were invaded.

As I said before they may help but we have to fight back first Also the UK is still the most likely enemy, would other nations look on it as an internal matter?

2) The futility of us shooting down a Russian aircraft that refused to obey a weak, underfunded outdated token irish airforce.

In these situations a fly by is all that would be necessary how often have the UK shot down a Russian jet in their airspace?

3) Our inability to cope with the response from countries like Russia if we did in fact use Fighter Jets to shoot down there aircraft thus leading to the point why even have them in the first place?

What response could Russia make if this unlikely event occurred? Sanctions? hardly an all out invasion and we show we are prepared to fight them.

4) The billions the program would cost and it would unless you think the jets will pay for themselves and in there spare time build there own facilities, radar, buy munitions and train pilots.

Not Billions as said before. A few jets perhaps on a lease arrangement.

5) Our Global presence and the fact we conduct ourselves well and are well liked by other nations, no need for fancy fighter jets if you get along with everyone which we do.

Really? If a country tries to get along with everyone it is left alone? History does not support this view but precisely the opposite.

6) And last but not least we have got by without jets for decades without any incident or need for them why should we all of a sudden allocate over a billion or more to something that would be a token effort at best at air defense when we could use that money far better in the country. by one..

The Billions again! Yes we did fine without them for a long time but the world is changing fast, look at Ukraine and the threats to peace posed by resource shortages and Glolbal warming coming down the line. You could say that all our regular defence forces are token but that is not to say that they are not necessary. A small force in being can be added to easily starting from scratch is very difficult. There are always ways that money can be 'better' spent but you'll find it hard to get everyone to agree on what.

I fear you've wasted your keyboards keys being typed responding to such idiotic posts.

Myself included. The poster hasn't a clue.

Seems to know better than the actual army don't ya know!

Do you genuinely believe your going to be able to contest the British in a conventional war with a couple of outdated jets? lol

What happened after 9/11? did they put more fighter jets in the air ? oh no they didnt! they increased airport security, these hijackings are the nonsense ye are coming up with to justify Ireland spending a billion or more on a fighter jet program ye seem to be baffled by that number but these things are cheap nor are they free to run lol and all that goes with em.

But then again this is stuff i should be expecting from people who believe

1) Russia is a real threat to Ireland.

2) Britain is gonna implode and randomly invade us.

3) And we are expecting some serious amount of planes to be hijacked coming into Ireland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mupper2

"I'm literally laughing out loud at the stupid logic but what makes it funnier is the smugness that you think your right"

Your entire argument boils down to "Everyone likes the Paddys"

So a few points.

A. The national security of the county goes beyond "fighter jets" and the idea you keep bringing up about us being physically invaded is not what people involved in the NS area talk about in relation to Ireland...it's just something people like yourself glom onto as some sort of clutch argument because you lack the imagination for anything else.

B. The HSE attack was barely 18 months ago, our health system was brought to its knees by a bunch of Russian/Ukrainian hackers and we had to ask for help from various foreign 3/4 letter acronym OGAs because we didn't have the ability to even process the attack never mind take preventative or investigative measures because "Shure who'd attack us?"

C. Unsecured neutrality is not neutrality..for example their are currently 3 "declared" neutral states in the EU Ireland, Austria, Malta.Austria maintains a sizable military and intelligence/cyber security element, Malta has defence treaties with Italy...we...we hope someone will help. Costa Rica famously demiliterised, except for the defence treaties with the US which they used as a big stick when Nicaragua heated u their border dispute a decade ago

D. In your 5th point "Our global presence....we get along with everyone".... That's nonsense and how a child thinks the World operates

I mean

"“The [...] policies of the Irish Government is something else. There is certainly an unfriendly policy towards Russia and that has been stated quite clearly on many occasions.”

RF Ambassador Yuri Filatov Sept 2022

Smug enough for you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭breadmond

No it boils down to these

1) We have no realistic threats and haven't for decades.

2) We have had a Hijacking in decades and airport security is far stricter than ever before. Not that jets will stop that anyway.

3) We have Fantastic relations with the UK and the US among many other nations.

So you want fighter jets because of a cyber attack? lol talk about strawman arguments and completely irrelevant to the topic of fighter jets as there is a significant difference in a physical military strike and rouge opportunistic cyber attack.

I think its absolutely delusional to believe our country is in any form of danger of military attack or invasion, I worry for people that believe this to be a likely scenario, so much so that they want a vast increase on military spending.

No one seems to be able to answer me though,

What is your vision in detail of the Irish army airforce and navy, what would make you feel "We sure can beat the Russians and Brits now in a war!" go on lads i could do with a laugh tell me your delusions of the mighty irish army.

Another walk over light work you are stick to the petty insults its all you have.

In that scenario 'how would the 10-15 jets have helped? I'll answer that in that scenario none of our regular defence force would help. So is your argument we should have nothing?

Even in your scenario the RAF would at least have to deal with the jets frst giving some time/warning for the rest of the forces to prepare. Perhaps a few could get into the air and strike at the invasion force? Finland did great damage to the USSR's invasion with a few outdated planes in 1939.

Lastly the security of airports is outside of Ireland's control at least for aircraft coming from abroad.

We arent in 1939 and no if Britain decided to attack us they get to strike first and without warning, the 10-15 jets and bases would be obliterated and pointless in any regard as even if they did get in the air they are outmatched and outnumbered by the RAF.

It would be a brutal and savagely quick defeat for our standing military your romanticizing if you think they would have a hope in full scale war.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 319 ✭✭mupper2

I mean do you believe Climate change is a real ongoing issue that will severely adversely affect the World in the future? If o do then you already have gamed out likely scenarios, vast previously unmatched population upheavals and migrations.

Several hundred million people havinG to move from Sub Saharan Africa, South Asia, parts of South America even parts of Southern Europe.

Food production interruptions.

Potable water scaricity...you can already see that raising tensions in Central and SE Asia...coutnries are litterally rnnin out of ater to spply their people how do you imagine they will deal with that.

Geo political upheavals to follow...you see here this is going right. And your solution to a World like that is...hope the Brits and the French aren't too busy to help us out...

And then you have us...safe, green blessed with water and resources Ireland...I'm sure we'll be fine

You plan for the worst in national security you don't hope for the best.

You've literally no distance to yourself.

You aren't capable of debating properly and you're not capable of even posting normally so yeah, whatever nighty - not having a clue is your specialty.

Im sorry do you believe in any case we are ever going to be able to stop a military that has the ability and power projection to invade us? Think about it.

Ill make it simple if any nation with the ability to invade us decides to and are determined, jets or no jets we will lose badly its that simple.

The nonsense just doesn't stop with you. Fantastic, keep it up there.

Ive just been shredding your posts, you haven't the capacity to argue the points so you attack the poster no shame in admitting you're beaten!

Prove to me you've been shredding my posts? Unless you mean by talking out of your arse then yes you've beaten me.

In 1939 no one except the Finns believed they had a chance against the USSR. In your secenario it would likely a quick defeat of all our regular defence forces but that would have to mean that the British gets it all right first time. It would come at a cost politically and show we will defend ourselves.

Are you seriously arguing that we shouldn't have any regular defence forces?

Another beat down for you! back to delusional land with ya ted where the mighty imperial irish army can defeat everyone lol

What do you think happens if the British army launches a full scale attack on Ireland in the mornings answer honestly.

You tried with 1 post to argue the point and i tore your post apart so badly you've resorted to petty insults ever since.

I will. If they do all hell would break loose. Our regular force would most likely be defeated quickly if the British giot it right but a guerilla war would go on forever. That does not mean we shouldn't have one, even a token one to show a line has been crossed.

Will you answer honestly if you believe if we should have a regular defence force at all? Your logic seems to lead in that direction.