Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Do touts still hang around outside venues?

• 21-06-2022 9:44am
    Registered Users Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭

As a few of you know I'm a founder and admin of toutless.com which we setup back in 2008 to help fans sell tickets to each other at face value. Back in the day it was not uncommon to have touts hang outside venues and buy low and sell high and the idea of Toutless was to cut out that middleman.

Since then things have changed quite a bit. Tickets are on their way to going entirely digital, so is money somewhat. We've had a pandemic that shut down events for near 2 years and we've also seen legislation brought in to make it illegal to tout (except apparently if your name is Ticketmaster).

I've only been at a few small gigs in Whelan's and the NCH since the post pandemic return and I didn't see any touts but it's questionable if they would have attracted touts even in the past so I am curious if any of the above changes in the landscape have removed the "on the ground" touts.

Has anyone seen the lads outside shouting "anyone / buying or selling tickets?". Are they still there but more subtle? If they're still around how do they handle the digital ticket messing?