Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Lonely Planet article criticising Dublin as tourist destination ‘doesn’t make for pleasant reading’

• 22-06-2022 1:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭
    Holding tyrants to the fire

I would ask anyone who is going to post in this thread to consider reading this article first, thanks.

Seriously what's wrong with the denizens of our capital? Have they no shame? It's bad enough that living in the crime-ridden concrete favelas of Dublin are taken as a point of pride (source: Philly McMahon, Life Magazine, 19/06/2022) but now the international reputation of the whole country is suffering thanks to the grubby, greedy publicans and hoteliers.

I had to suffer the indignity of visiting Dublin a few years ago and take the LUAS from gross point A to point B. Never mind the fact that it was so absolutely greasy I genuinely wondered if I had fallen into an old chip van, the journey was interrupted by a gang of Dickensian-like urchins throwing stones and hurling abuse at the windows (and passengers), toothless sneers branded onto their freckled, dirty faces.

The whole city is rotten from top to core and it seems that everybody is complicit in it. From the handsy café owner gouging grannies for five euro cups of tea in his tucked-in XXL Dunnes shirt to the Air BnB slumlords pricing ordinary people out of owning an actual home by charging tourists for a month's mortgage payments for a week's visit.

It is well known that the people who live in the rest of the country need to pay the same amount of taxation for a massive reduction of services and yet it is all in Dublin that these dystopian nightmares occur. We can, and should, blame the Government (which is based in Dublin) for all of this but I think it's time that the business owners in Dublin take a long hard look at themselves and stop fleecing every man woman and child who comes their way. I'm sick of them and their constant poor mouth act. It's time for the business people to start paying their way.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,521 ✭✭✭Allinall

What cafe is charging €5 for a cup of tea?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭mumo3

@CGI_Livia_Soprano the whole county has turned into a temple bar price gouging cesspit with gangs of feral children / teenagers thrown in for good measure and that is not just city based .... and I'm born, reared and still live in Dublin

• Registered Users Posts: 134 ✭✭freemickey

It's fairly disgraceful alright. "Dirty old town" it was, but it genuinely has transformed into something much worse.

Unless you follow a very strict path through the wealthier areas, the city centre has become a tip. The local scum has been bolstered by international gangs of scum for that true multicultural flavour.

Homeless tents grouped alongside some of the countrys busiest streets. Had the pleasure of seeing gardai and cleaners roll up to one with a barrel of disinfectant the other day spraying the place down to remove the pong of pi*s, one unlucky dude getting out of his tent to complain about getting wet.

Junkies sharing transport along the luas lines on the way to courts and conveniently methadone clinics a stop away.

During the pandemic the place was a sight to see if you ventured into it. It's only gotten worse.

Just awful, you'd be embarrassed to show anyone visiting the place, unless, again, you follow a very narrow path with blinkers on.

And all of this while the country is supposedly booming with MNC tax windfalls? Where's the money gone? A few backpockets and squandered, that's where.

And the prices too. Damned.

And yet Dublin is listed as 7th in their 2022 top 10 cities to visit. Odd, no?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭growleaves

You've got to pick a pocket or two.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,976 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

• Registered Users Posts: 6,780 ✭✭✭timmyntc

Paris is a hole, but at least it has some culture and sights worth seeing. What is there to see in Dublin? The spire? 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

That’s not really a good thing though, is it? Looking at the filth around you and thinking “at least I’m not in Syria.”

Maybe de Dubz can show a bit of pride in their city that shows more tangible results than roaring at their Gaelic football team or claiming “Croker” as their own.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,753 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It’s an expensive kip, really poor value for money in every aspect… hotels, socialising, shopping , not guaranteed the weather, unsafe in many parts, junkies and scumbags abound, absolutely terrible public transport…

ive spent a lot of time in Madrid.. beautiful, safe city, police are plentiful, visible and not shy about engaging with individuals VERY proactively if they see something or some persons that raise suspicions…, public transport is just incredible, super clean, efficient, just an aura of safety…and cleanliness and niceness…

cops, you don’t see two walking about, here you might see a female Garda about 5’5” with a guy about 5’10” looking like they can’t wait to get to the end of the street and turn the corner..

Madrid…this is everyday….

cops everywhere, on foot, in groups, not one or two… in cars, motorcycles, on bicycles, mopeds, segways.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,512 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Lot of jealousy out there from our country “cousins”. Dublin is fine.

You just have to avoid an “area” on the northside from Talbot St up to Parnel St and across to, but not including, Capel St and all the way back and out from there.

The rest of town is grand. Great people, great nights out and great tourist destinations.

The tide is turning…

Find it perplexing that in Ireland the UK we found it acceptable to have any aul person as a police officer.

As you said, some little skinny midget (who isn't even armed as a compromise).

Just laughable that people here can be Guards and be 18 stone in their 50s.

There should be no excuse for not following the norms seen across Europe and the world.

And the fact they're unarmed makes the whole thing even more laughable as they're supposed to police by presence.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,007 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I was in Bulgaria a few weeks ago. You can just touch in with your credit card. I suspect Dublin Bus are still doing the exact change thing though I think they've a prepaid card as well. Surprised they don't just ditch it.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,548 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Dublin has priced itself out of being a competitive location for tourism, for much business generally and most certainly for living. The exorbitant living costs of Dublin are now endangering its long-term economic future according to IBEC, with many major employers unwilling to expand as it is impossible for employees to find anywhere to live in the city.

Public transport is very poor for a city of its size and status. It is a badly managed and badly run city.

I read the Lonely Planet article and it is bang on. Irish hoteliers and the hospitality sector in general is well known for its greed and price gouging/rip off culture. And no, I just don’t buy the poor mouth “costs have risen” shtick as this has been going on long before the Ukraine war/fuel price hikes.

Dublin is caught in a vicious circle of rising living costs which fuel demands for higher wages, in turn making the city more expensive and on it goes...

The city is now very unaffordable for the average tourist. Weekend city breaks in Dublin this Summer are costing up to €900 for accommodation. It cannot be sustained and people are already choosing to travel elsewhere.

This pure greed is killing the goose that lays the golden eggs in terms of tourist revenue. The hoteliers etc are too thick ignorant to even see the threat to their own sector.

• Registered Users Posts: 892 ✭✭✭FlubberJones

Dublin is expensive there shouldn't be a debate about that, its a simple fact. And yes there are TONS of scumbags around, but if you know the city you simply go to "nicer" areas...

North side I simply avoid when on a night out, during the day it's ok I suppose and if I have to I go there.

Drinks and Eats... it's South all the way,

Tourists though don't have the benefit of this and if they wander.... oh dear.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,697 ✭✭✭SaoPaulo41

• Registered Users Posts: 8,345 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

Strange that you don't mention the vast amount of prostitutes on the streets in Madrid. Watched a gang of the police you mention here sitting around and chatting to the hookers as they sell their ware very openly on the streets. For those who haven't been this is not at night but during the entire day. As you walk down major shopping streets in the city they are there.

Graffiti is on a level you really don't see here. Everything is tagged and the streets are filthy with rubbish and dog sh*t. I really disliked my visit and would no go back but I would go to Barcelona tomorrow.

Your view of Dublin is very different to mine. The facts are quite clear that your "opinion" is a personal one of feelings. You can simply look up details to know Dublin is not the crime and war zone you think it is. If you read the actual article from Lonely Planet is is really not that bad.

Can you let us know where you live so we know what your daily experience is?

• Registered Users Posts: 414 ✭✭dorothylives

I think it's a fair description. Less than 1% of hotels have rooms available for tourists, the government have block booked a lot of that, so they can ask what they like for the few rooms that are available. The guy tried to gloss over that by describing it as an increase in tourism post pandemic, it is what it is. Almost 40,000 people have arrived here since January seeking asylum, they have to be put somewhere. The city centre is a dump, there's no culture. The place is full of scum and drug addicts. Come for the price gouging, if you can find a hotel, stay for the drug addicts and roaming gangs of thugs. No thanks. No offence meant to the majority of ordinary non criminal Dublin people.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 37,007 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I like Madrid but the place seems to be awash with pickpockets.

My gripe with Dublin is that its priced like a better city without the amenities or the attractions. If it were for Ireland's disproportionate prestige, reputation and soft power I daresay it'd be devoid of tourists altogether.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

I didn’t hang around in areas where there were prostitutes, I can only relate my experiences, nothing strange about that whatsoever. 🫢

Barcelona wasnt too bad last time i was there, there was a feeling it cleaned up, when I was there in ‘14 the nighttime revealed a more sinister undercurrent to the city. I was followed by a couple of individuals with the likelihood of being robbed until I took a detour that saved my ass, prostitution in main squares there.

madrid, I stayed on the beautiful Calle de Moratín twice and Riu Plaza España near Gran Via…. Without problems, without danger vibes, just nice.

Just because you don't see value in Dublin's attractions doesn't mean much. Many Irish people don't even vaguely consider the attractions here or ever go to them. I have foreign friends who come over and love the city. I have met many people who dislike Dublin after coming from other parts of the city and complain but ask them about any of the museums in Dublin and they have never been to any. Many only know Dublin from going to Croke Park or a gig. You won't find a better city in Ireland than Dublin.

You must have been blind. You know where the bear and the honey tree is in the centre of the city? All around that area which is their city centre. It isn't just women either

no, I get my eyes tested regularly… but thank you for that contribution :)

id probably rather the illegal sex trade as opposed to the undercurrent of violence that has enveloped us here, largely unchecked and undeterred by judges, Gardai and politicians.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,952 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

Stayed in the theatre district of Madrid, wouldn’t have thought it was a scummy area, but loads of pro’s on the streets.

Got ripped off going into Barcelona in taxi which brought us on a tour around city on way to hotel, google maps and the return fair confirmed this. Pickpockets everywhere in Los Rambles, couldn’t walk down the street without being hassled.

Every city has its good and bad parts, if people here want huge wage increases, expect to pay higher prices.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Agreed, country mouse here, I always liked living there through college and early years working. Never any hassle apart from the odd headbanger but nothing ever serious. My only issue is we have allowed the ghettoization of some of our city centre.

First they came for the socialists...

Just because you tell lies, doesn't make them true. I never said the attractions were valueless. I said that for the cost of staying in Dublin, one could visit a better city for their time and the same money.

Ireland isn't exactly awash with cities. This isn't a high bar to jump over.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 7,683 ✭✭✭growleaves

A month's rent for two nights in a hotel isn't the result of high wages.

According to indeed pay is €11-14 an hour for a hotel receptionist.

You need to back up there and explain what lies I have said. You have an opinion of Dublin and its value but if a person has already been to the cheaper cities Dublin is still unique whether you feel it is or not. There are literally things you can't see anywhere else in the world. I like Paris but it is absolutely filthy to the extent it causes problems for tourists

• Registered Users Posts: 8,375 ✭✭✭Riddle101

At the end of the day, it all comes back to the government. They don't seem to do anything to change things for the better and seem content with keeping everything as is. It would certainly help if they could start targetting anti-social behavior more, maybe introduce a few new laws that tackle the high cost of living in Dublin or try cleaning the city up a bit more. Without the government's help, things will just stay the same.

Already did.

I've no idea why people get so hysterical whenever someone says something less than effusively positive about the place. I live in London and, as great as it is, it's by no means perfect.

H. H. Asquith