Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Irish Army Reserve low numbers

• 29-07-2021 11:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭

I see they are going to allow the reserves to serve over seas now to encourage people to join up.

I think they should raise the age limit to join a bit, maybe up to 40 or 45 even. why not? It might be a good way to increase the numbers.

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

Tough call. I dont see the attraction of signing up with the Reserves anymore.

It used to be something to be done, like a rite of passage. It doesnt help your career.

Employers see it as something you could be called up for with no benefit for the employer unlike playing GAA, Athletics or Rugby.

The time you would be putting into training for the DF, you could be doing exams for private industry or over time for your boss. I am not complaining I had fun at the time but I could on reflection I could have spent my time more sensibly.

As for life post-30 you have a house, wife, kids, probably graduated to management position, you put on weight, pick up a few injuries. Its not worth that hassle. I am young enough to remember going to college with French student who were dodging national service (dodge college with time in college & overseas employment, in practice you cannot be trained for the military post 26). There is a certain amount of truth in it that people are less able to trained post 25. Yes there are a few mature students but they are few and far between.

If you havent done Military Service before 25, you arent really going to fit in.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,837 ✭✭✭pgj2015

if you cant be trained for the military post 26, then why can you join the french foreign legion until you are 39?

• Registered Users Posts: 537 ✭✭✭SupaCat95

That is a rough rule. I didnt write it but by and large you will find that to be true. Post 30 people pick up injuries in trainings and missions. Soldiering is hard on the joints muscles bones ...... and in some cases the mind. People applying for the legion may have (and are more likely) to have military experience from elsewhere. I have never met anyone in the legion, met many who claimed to be. The vast majority of guys post 35 wouldnt pass selection, let alone session for a regular army. Also the French Foreign Legion is not really like a regular army unit. I have never been a member or know what constitutes selection but it is in excess of the regular units. So its not really comparing like with like. I would love to know what 35 year old would a holiday in Djibouti doing landing assault course.

• Registered Users Posts: 93 ✭✭Townton

Question re reserve recruitment. What is their stance on people from other militaries joining. If for e.g you were an officer in the UK have some skills like FST or JTAC can you or would they allow you to transfer over? I am presuming like others e.g Canada, Australia, New Zealand that this is a thing, wouldn't make much sense not to be. But just wanted to get an insider's view. I presume there would be some cross qualification recognition as well and that specialist course would make you more likely to be accepted.

Or is this not a thing in the reserves?

• Registered Users Posts: 791 ✭✭✭CreadanLady

Half the fellas I ever see in DF uniforms walking around a fat as fools. Big guts on them.

The MFV Creadan Lady is a mussel dredger from Dunmore East.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Patsy167

Is there anyone on here who has joined the Army reserve in the past few years and can provide their feedback on what they have done?

I did the fitness test part of the application back in 2020 but I got fed up with how slow the whole process was so withdrew my application.

I'm slightly regretting that now and considering reapplying. I'm working full time and want to make sure it's worth it as there's plenty other sports teams and volunteer opportunities that I could be spending my time on.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,708 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

What about the other half?

To be fair, I see people climbing mountains into their 60s now. Most ppl of that age in the 1970/80s were clapped out, ready to hop into the hole in the ground.

People are living longer and like it or not, there's expectations to work beyond the current pension age. I don't see why the age limit can't be increased if the candidates are suitable.

• Registered Users Posts: 3 ivydew

I have a question regarding past use of cannabis. I finished college two years ago and tried it a couple of times during my first two years (and once as a teenager) and it wasn't for me, headaches and heart racing is not my idea of a good time. Other drugs are of no interest to me but that was the 'in thing' within some of my friends as it is in many of younger peoples' these days.

I have been working in a professional setting since then and obviously am aware that drugs and the Defence Forces are a complete no no.

I do however want to enter the RDF as I have always had an interest in it (almost did straight out of school before settling on my course after a year), every year in which a recruitment opened up since I have almost done it but studies got in the way.

Would this history eliminate me as a candidate? (No convictions/formal cautions). I don't want to lie on a form or in an interview regarding this. I would be testing clean for the medical and random checks as my job does tests at random anyway (a Pharma company which will remain nameless).

I just basically wonder is there any point in me applying at all if this is an immediate disqualification or would I just be tested more often (which wouldn't bother me and I could understand). Or if this is something I would have to ask them on the day of the interview or medical?

Thank you.

why would you tell them? I know lads in the Irish Army who do coke any chance they get. say nothing.

I figured if it came up in back ground somehow I'd be done. Like a picture of a party or something that is on someones Facebook I know maybe (although I am not on there myself so don't see why it would be). Got stopped with friends who were smoking when we were younger also, the Gardaí asked our names and told us to stop acting the eejit essentially but don't even know if they took our names down! As I said, no court summons/formal cautions/convictions etc.

I figured there were many many people in who had at least in the past but I figured honesty would have been best to start. Especially as I figured the security check goes beyond normal Garda vetting which I have had to do before. If I am going to be clean on all the tests however I guess you make a good point! Its hardly something I am rearin' to get back at.

Also edit* I am quite surprised at that, I figured the PDF lads would be way stricter on it and more testing, I guess cocaine can leave the system faster than other drugs as long as it is not a hair test they get but that is their job on the line at the end of the day.

You should ask someone who is in the RDF if you are asked those kind of questions. id say they will take who they can at this stage, you will hardly be banned from joining because you smoked weed years ago.

Everyone is at coke these days if you ask me, sad to see but people from all walks of society are taking it, and people are stupid, when out drinking all sense goes out the window.

Yeah its rampant now and so casual to hear people talking about it even. Same people in some cases who won't buy stuff off Nestlé as to how some of their stuff is sourced.

I don't know anyone actually in anymore, my older brother's mates were a few years ago (~8 years), people were getting tested at one stage and they ahd done brownies in Holland a few weeks before but whoever was over them just laughed about it and said it'd be grand but again, this is going back a few years.

I heard they are hurting for numbers, I just have to decide what to apply for Corps wise and I will apply before this round ends! Trying to find an active sub forum on here or IMO to ask people some general questions as I don't want to necrothread or go off topic on one.

If the Finns who have a population of 5 million can have 900,000 reserves, why cant we seriously increase our reserve numbers, seeing as we cant even defend ourselves from the air or by sea, maybe we could try to defend ourselves by having large numbers of soldiers.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,906 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I'm too old for Irish reserves so I'm joining the British reserves. Doing the fitness tests in the gym and I'm doing fine. I'm Reasonably fit but I only do fitness classes like kettle bells, hiit, spin, boxercise and so on. Haven't done any actual running for ages so I just started running again. The run is 2km in under 11 mins. So should be ok on that.

Passed the beep test for reserves first attempt today on my own up innthe sports hall. Also passed the medicine ball throw but need to practice press ups and chin ups and need to test myself on dead lift strength.

A mate is in the reserves so he's going to take me for some loaded walks. It's 4km with 40kg in 50 mins and then another 2km with 25gk in 18 mins (I think). But then there's the basic training part 1 week and a further basic training part 2 which is 2 week. And that can be the tough part.

The application takes ages until the UK too. Pity the Irish don't raise the entry age limit.

What age are you? if you don't mind me asking.

over 35 (Irish reserves limit) and under 42 (UK reserves Limit). Not being snippy, I'd just prefer not to give exact details online.

Why do you ask?

Thats ok, was just wondering what the UK limit was.

its funny how the limit is 35 in Ireland yet they want men up to 60 in Ukraine at the moment. The 35 year limit in Ireland is stupid especially as we are finding it hard to get people to join.

This is what I'm thinking.

I'm joining the reserves because we'll move back to Ireland at some point in the next few years. If things go tits-up, I want to have some training. I saw the poor divils in Ukraine who had to drop their family at the border and go back to take part in the resistance. I thought the only thing more terrifying than having to fight the Russians is having to fight the Russians and not have a clue what you're doing.

If they need to conscript people up to 60, there would be an awful lot of people who don't have a clue what to do. So I want to have some basic knowledge and experience.

I'm not assuming things will go terribly wrong, and I hope it never happens. I just want to be somewhat useful if things do go wrong.

So with all that in mind, plus the fact that they're not hitting their recruitment targets as it stands, it's a bit mad to not raise the age limit.

Here is something I am wondering. The Ukrainians don't want non Ukrainians without military experience anymore. So what would be better a non Ukrainian guy in his 20's with no military experience or a Ukrainian man in his 50's with no military experience?

Depends on the job and the civillian experience the 2 men have, I suppose. But most likely the younger guy. Wouldn't you think?

True, in combat you would imagine the younger guy would make the better soldier. I suppose the Ukrainian guy is fighting for his country though so maybe he would fight harder. I wonder will the Irish Army up the age for reserves, im sure there are very fit men and women in their 40's who would do a good job if given the chance.

If were talking about front oine soldiers, and neither of them had any relevant experience like mechanic or engineer, I'd imagine communication is very important. I presume they put the non Ukrainian speakers together with some ukranian speakers who can take orders and tell the rest what to do. But non ukranian speakers without military experience are probably a hindrance.

They could always do useful things like carrying things or loading and unloading things from trucks, but I doubt they're any great help in combat.

Even then ones without experience 3 months ago, probably have decebt experience by now.

I did my 2km the lunchtime and came in at 10 mins. We'll under the 11.30 for the branch of the army I'm hoping for. Granted, the run test comes at the end of the day after all the other physical tests so it might be a bit tougher than today when I'm fresh.

So with that done, I'm above the minimum standards for all the parts I've tested myself on and without any specific training yet. It's a pity the Irish reserves don't have a higher age limit.

Best of luck with it. Remember the final test to get into the British reserves is you have to kill an Irish reserve lol. only joking, I saw a comment under an Irish army ranger youtube video before, some guy asked is it true you have to kill a member of the SAS to get into the Irish Army Ranger wing?

Id love to know how the non Ukrainian speakers are doing in Ukraine, you never know you might have the odd guy who is used to shooting and who is fearless, he might do damage if he gets the chance.

Ha.

I'm wondering about the interview. What do you say when they ask about being foreign? I presume you ultimately say you live here and you'd do your duty.

Say you consider yourself English and always go for england when they play Ireland at sports etc ha.

No idea, I wonder how picky they are with reserves in the UK? I hear they are so desperate here for reserves they let borderline criminals in and guys who are overweight etc

I've told some whopping lies in my time, but I'd choke if I tried to say that.

I know they're missing all their recruitment targets for the last number of years. I don't know if that has changed since Ukraine though.

Watching some YouTube videos about reserves experience of basic training and one said they started with 38 but ended with 24. Some failed on fitness tests, some dropped out duting the actual practical training drills (a particularly brutal set of hill sprints did-for them) a frw failed the technical stuff like weapon handling, and a couple got injured.

So I'd say they're pretty demanding but the standards are nowhere near the full-time army.

I read an article in the last year saying the Irish reserves weren't fit enough to do drills with the full time soldiers.

What is the story with the Irish reserves? is it a laugh or do you get roared at constantly like the drill sergeants in the American army? or a mix of both?