If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Where's sahel?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

They’re not noted for their dairy farming anymore, that’s for sure. Dairy is dead there.

Its where your powder goes…stone mad for granny’s recipe milk powder they are!!😂

Before ye feckin jump on me it’s a joke!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Lots of industries taking "contract holidays" as suppliers are finding it impossible to fulfill their obligations. Don't know if it's glanbia or the customer is covering this, but it's not going to be an isolated move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

Global feed shortage leaves us in a great position as a country. We can produce milk cheaper than any anywhere else with our grass based system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Agree on the feed shortage bit but not on our grass based system been cheaper than anywhere else ….an advantage yes but not as big as it’s made out to be

Huge credit to them for it because they didn’t have to …..hopefully other coops follow suit with something meaningful ….have heard some say we should just leave anyone with fixed milk be …..absolutely no empathy with fellow farmers ….these are really difficult times and no one could of saw how severe things would get ….I know they signed up of thee own free will but to be 12/15 cent proably more off base with current input prices could put lads out of business if nothing done ….for most part it’s the lads with 20/25% plus of milk fixed that need and hopefully will get help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

It's every farmers wet dream to be the last man standing ready to make a killing when prices soar. But it's much more important to take care of the downside and be setting yourself up for tough times.

Keeping on top of the risks of getting wiped out, going so far into debt you are years recovering or killing off whatever bit of joy you find in farming due to stress.

These are far more important things to focus on rather than the mirage of big profits in the not too distant future.

IF prices do soar, then profits will take care of themselves...

I think in this particular case its massive, grain shortage is going to effect everything, we can do without it to a certain extent. We may have to cut back due to fertiliser shortage/price but we should be able to manage that better than non-grass fed systems as we don't have the massive pressure on 100% of our feed requirements

Don’t know …..most Irish dairy farms feeding 800/1 tonne plus …and at stages of year for short periods have to go heavy with feed when grass dosnt grow ….lots are cutting back on fertiliser too this year …some proably too heavy this will affect grass growth and lead to need more feed going in …if it can be got …..grass a great feed it is an advantage but imo very much overplayed ….farmers on contingent still have an advantage with better weather and ability to grow energy and protein crops

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

You are obviously brainwashed by the Teagasc / IFJ speil. Our grass production model is no more profitable than the European maize feed cow. Our yields are only half and our prices are 10% lower. The only thing causing reduction in continental milk production is environmental restrictions and young lads not entering the industry, not feed costs. The same pressures are happening here. In fact with the high fertilizer prices the cost of feeding the cow is increasing more here than the tillage fed cow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 575 ✭✭✭Morris Moss

If we don't see prices this high again we're in serious bother because ya can be sure the price of fert and meal isn't going to drop as quickly as it went up.

Nothing to do with Teagasc or IFJ, I've a friend who worked for a good few years for an English investment company, they specialised in setting up dairy farms, large scale operations, Argentina, Bulgaria, Chile, Peru, 1,000s of acres. He reckoned we could produce milk cheaper than anywhere else in the world and that gave us a massive advantage for when things took a downturn because we could survive longer than other suppliers, as supply dropped out it eventually drive prices back up. I'll have a look for the comparisons he had at the time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

How's the above relevant in all fairness when his calculations where based on cheap nitrogen to grow all this grass....

Fag box calculations a 100 cow herd on a 20 day round with a bag of can going out peak season after each grazing with 4 acres a day grazed, at current prices is/will be spending 200 euro a day on fert feed costs alone, the fertilizer cost last year would of circa 50 euro a day.....

1.1 ton of meal was fed on average by Irish dairy farmers in 2021, good quality 16% ration last year was circa 300 euro, this year will it stop at 450, 150 euro × 1.65 million tons is circa a direct bill of 250 million extra in feed costs,inflation running rampant on all other inputs to boot, high 40's base price will soften the blow somewhat but variable costs to produce a litre of milk on Irish farms at the minute are of the reservation

Well I thought it was clear that I wasn't talking about this year with those calcs. The fact remains that we can produce milk at a lower cost due to our reliance on grass. You talk about rising costs as if we are the only suppliers impacted by this when its a worldwide issue and IMO that advantage is extended as a result of feed and fertiliser shortages rather than narrowed.

I do realise I've broken the unwritten charter of this thread by being positive, I'll do my best to keep it to a minimum in future

We're f**ked, all of us, forever, or at least until we give up farming and go selling insurance

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I think it's the intensity that kills us.we have fellas trying to put out 600k litres off 100 acres with relatively little bought in feed.can you imagine how low cost the grass system if you were stocked at a cow to the hectare instead of a cow to the acre

Okay let's do some sums, one hectare of rented ground on grazing block for arguments sake, land charge 650 euro fertilizer charge say a 1000 euro for a combo of urea/can/compound at current prices, 350 euro intrest/loan repayments on roadways/fencing/water infrastructure put in the first year, contracting charges 400 euro including baling excess grass/slurry/fert spreading etc

1000+650+350+400 = 2400 direct costs per ha 14 ton dm of grass grown

2400/14= circa 170 euro ton dm our 17 cent a kilo feed cost per cow a day 18kgs x .17 = 2.90 a day per cow, no meal in the diet, its a lower cost diet than a housed tmr herd in Europe alright but its not a cheap diet

Tbf don’t think it’s about been positive /negative ……tegasc snd the journal and others feed us there version of Irish dairying which is based on a kiwi model ….grass is our saviour and promoted as low cost …..figures chucked out from profit monitors minus lots to try support it …..they tell us we produce a premium product which we do and that it’ll deliever us a premium price ……love to know where it is when you look at the contingent etc and the consistently higher prices they achieve than us in mostly indoors systems we grow cheap grass for 8/10 months of year …..they grow energy and protein rich crops along with very high quality grass silage

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

It's the free land and labour that make us highly profitable I'm told. 😂😂😂 If only I had drawn up a 5 year farm plan when I was told.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Back by choice?

definitely not the year to go back IMO, but I could be wrong on that

i wouldn’t be saying that if milk price was lower though

The first week of breeding didn't go great last year, mainly due to the wet cold weather I think. Also I sold a good share of 12, 13 year old cows which were all high volume and good milkers. I replaced them with heifers so that takes a toll too. Very impressed with my heifers this year though. The breeding is really coming through for me now I think. Volume is back but I'd say protein percentage will be up. It's a bit soon in the year to judge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Anyone else's glanbia connect account not displaying test results?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

We're well up there on milk price though....not the lagards we like to think

Thinking on it, it’s a very bad precedent to set. It makes forward contracts worthless…when the situation is reversed farmers won’t have a leg to stand on

Just wondering if a tillage farmer forward sold at €150/t and the price went to €300, would they say, ah shuck’s you’ve lost money there we’ll…??

Nailed it KG.

Coop rep was talking about Ireland like the Dutch clusterfcuk had already happened…it is getting closer though. The day for firing out fert like snuff at a wake is coming to an end.

For those that think that water quality will improve because of reduced rates this year are misguided. It takes at least 5 or 6 years before any improvements are seen.

Lol.

I’ve been saying that on here for a decade and have been getting ridiculed and derided…Teagasc know best!

It's obviously the plc who the milk was contracted too, the co-op sold 2022's supply of whey to the plc in 2021 for a forward price of circa 6000 euro a ton, today's price on spot market is 18000 euro a ton, their is alot of messing going on where the plc isn't paying market rate for products like the above too...