Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Solar PV for heating

• 28-03-2022 11:08am
    Registered Users Posts: 12,725 ✭✭✭✭

Hi all, I’ve recently moved house and going to upgrade the heating. My house is south facing with lots of roof space. I was hoping to use PV panels to heat my very large 2,000L cylinder. I’m a plumber by trade so would be installing it all myself.

I can retro fit four 240v 3kw AC immersions. I want to do this very very simply.

I will have a log boiler heating the buffer on colder duller days and oil as a final backup direct to the house.

is it possible to run 20 or so panels directly into the immersions? I’ve no intrest in using this power for any other appliances only the heating system. I’ve been told I can join the DC panels together and wire directly into AC immersions without batteries or inverters etc. can this be done?

Comments

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 5,772 Mod ✭✭✭✭graememk

Immersions are just resistive elements, and can work on DC or AC, But you may need to take actual voltages into account,

Each panel can output 30-40v so you might need to parallel them to run the immersions.

But you might not get the most out of the panels.