If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Mart Price Tracker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

I have 25 pure British friesians here. They have super calves but still will be bred out because they are way behind any british/holstein crosses I have in milk. Milk is the game lads, not the by product calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,719 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

How much more do you get in milk € ?

.... and how much less € do you get in the calf price?

Milk would be near as makes no difference to 100kg of milk solids in the differ. So depends on price of milk but at the minute about €550-600.

Calf price difference would be no more than €100.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

That’s FR versus HOxFR, where would the JExFR or Kiwi FRX be in comparison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

Often a lot of beef farmers cannot understand the economics of it. The only real advantage the British Friesian had was his ease of finish. Even 10 years ago I saw few enough around. Any I came across had poor enough weight gain.

First cross JE ( 50/50) is a disaster, second cross is not as bad and while it will not make the weight of a HO/ FR it is easier finished. KwiFRx(50/25/25) not really sure if I every had one. Had thede greyish/ blue FR once I think he had kiwi blood but not sure, one was grand but other had was very HO.

Problem with HO is you need to get a lot of the up to 350dw to finish. The P lads often need to get to 370 kgs+ DW to get into 3= where there weight and flesh cover showd.

Killing HO Friesians at the wrong weight and flesh cover is very unforgiving.

Killing them at the right stage can be 100-150 euro all the time

Slava Ukrainii

God, is it that big of a gain. It's a no brainer so.

Would you mind going tru the figures exactly. Is it coming from extra milk or extra butterfat & protein. I don't understand the pay structure. (Suckler farmer here. Years since we milked cows.)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 21,171 ✭✭✭✭Bass Reeves

The pay structure is now A+B-C, fat and protein minus volume of water. The UK paid on volume up to a few years ago, I am not sure if they have changed, but they have a massive liquid market.

Neighbour that milks cows his milk price is 3-4 cent above the quoted levels. On 6000 litres (1330 gallons) it' that is 200 euro. If the cow HO cow milks 200 gallons more at a quoted price of 40c( 43/44c to him) that is another 380 euro.

After than it much the same labour to milk and manage a 1150 gallon cow and a 1330 gallon cow. Unless they have to travel massive distances.

In larger herds where you have not got the hands on management of the lad with 80-120 cows the temptations are to move to a hardier cow FR/JE cross and use hybrid vigour and milk solids to get extra profit

Slava Ukrainii

Cheers Bass. What is the payscale for protein and butterfat?

You have to get s dairy farmer to explain. Most is SD now on kgs of milk solids. I am not sure if they differentiate between fat and protein on price.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 843 ✭✭✭degetme

What way are cull cows going. They could do with 2 months grass to be fit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,897 ✭✭✭Robson99

There could be a big bang with these high cattle prices next back end. If we get a bad month of April and a scarcity / another jump in prices of fertiliser then fodder could be very scarce.....

Think in the backend store cattle will be cheap and fleshed will be dear, all dear next spring

The costs have to go tru the system. Farmers can't produce at a loss.

A lot of lads have being doing it for the last 10 years old habits die hard.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Gudstock

What way are mart prices going this week (yearling suckler heifers and bullocks)? And how do ye see it going over the next few weeks?

Grass buyers be out for those cattle. They won't fall in price anyhow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭tanko

Year old cattle are making no more than this time last year from what i’ve seen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,339 ✭✭✭Dozer1

picked up 3 red LM weanlings heifers average weight 330kgs for 850 thought it wasn't too bad

There is a few reasons. There is more of them than last year. As well two year old cattle were scarce enough last year, more of them around this year.

Costs will eat any increase in margin and lads and buyers are factoring that in. To get these cattle to finish. Ration has increased by 60-80 euro over the last 12 months. Fertilizer has more than doubled in price and I many expect contractors to increase costs by 10-20%. Factor all those costs in Silage will cost 35/ bale this year without a land charge.

Slava Ukrainii

Basically the suckler / rearing farmer takes the hit yet again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭SuperTortoise

Always the way, stuck my head into local mart last week and year olds were making same per kilo as last spring, and yet we are told cattle are dear!

cattle are going well alright, for the finisher and the store man and the feedlots, duck all in it for the man with his hand stuck up a cow's hole at 3am.

Question is, where are all the good continental cattle going to come from next year?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

You don't have to have pure BF to have the calf.

Same as you don't have to have a Hol for milk.

There's a middle ground where you can have both.

Those type are their own breed. Pick a square bull that his mother milked well with kgs and %'s and for fertility obvs.

You should always have one eye on calf quality and the other on milk. Sold Angus calves yesterday tops of 330. Sold a fr bull then for 30 which was as good as the Angus. But in a sale where lesser fr calves got no bid and had to go home. I sold. They didn't. No matter how many calves they had in a lot.

Averaged out then on my 8 calves. Angus and the fr bull. 250 euro.

It's lads that are breeding nonsense calves and wanting out as early as possible are ruining the whole dairy industry and giving a bad image to anyone that watches the sales. The short term gain is bringing long term pain. And do they care...

Had a quick look in Ennis Mart today. Only there for a few minutes but, plain enough O grade store cows making €2/kg. Saw a good type beef cow 665kg make €1780. Not fit to kill.

I can't disagree with any of that. The sweet spot as far as I can see is about 60-70% holstein friesian cross. Good milk, good fertility, good calf.

As I have explained many times a finisher basically operates on a margin. Most now operate short term systems from 70 days to 4-5 months. When they decide on there net margin they will deduct there operating costs. Then they know what they can afford for any particular type of animal they buy.

That is the suckker man's choice. He can change his system and try to get into a more profitable system.

Who gives a duck if there is quality continental cattle here next year. The reality is that most market's are looking for carcasses in the 280-340 kgs weight range grading O+/R-.

A large part of the market is mince and the minc for a P+ bullocks makes the same as that from U= bullock.

Any extra margin is being eaten up by costs. As well because rations went up significantly in price most finisher's were killing cattle at a lower weight in order to cut costs.

Slava Ukrainii

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Downtown123

That man in Kilworth hasn’t been Number one with a while - he had been knocked off it before the lists ended but I’d imagine with so much genomics going on and looking at the bulls he’s producing for sale he’s probably a bit off it now. Imo he lost out cause of the narrow nature of the British Friesian bloodlines available EBI wise. Tbf though he does have the dream herd.

Imo The fact that fr4513 Albert is so popular is down to his 25% Friesian - not cause of the fact he is 25% Friesian but the fact that he Carries the traditional protein, fertility and natural condition level (not over excessive) of the British Fr

If the average farmer crossed with British Friesian today from a 80/20 herd yes they’ll gain longevity but they will lose production in the short run and the objective of the EBI is to improve this fertility without the drop in milk. Whether that has been achieved or not is another question

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,656 ✭✭✭Western Pomise

Need to buy 7 or 8 storks (bullocks) for a neighbour who is getting on with years. He will be leaving them out to grass for the Summer and selling in October or November.

He likes nice quality continental type Cattle.....up to this year he was able to buy them himself.

He only asked me yesterday and tbh I haven't been watching any online sales nor have been to a Mart in 4 or 5 months!

What kind of trade are good straight square Ch or Lm bred year olds at the moment?......hungry type cattle with a thrive in them would be the best buy.

I would be hoping to get say R grade cattle for him for around 500 euro with the weight....is that about the run of storks say born last March or April and 350 to 380kg?

There is a good butt of grass on his ground so I would like to buy them sooner rather than later as usually those type of weanlings get dearer by 50 -80 euro in mid April when more people have grass.

Appreciate any feedback from people who have sold similiar type stock in last few weeks or who regularly watch stock selling online or in Marts.