If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

why have you cows at all if they’re that much of an inconvenience?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

That post sounds like you’re having a cut?

I wanted to sell the herd last September because it would have paid me more to put the combine through the forage maize…but OH talked me out of it saying that we’d not get the likes of the lads we have again. Not much solace to me now. It’s the last time I’ll ever put staff before business. Lesson learned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

I could think of worse jobs than milking …especially if facilities are good ..not everyone loves sitting in big shiny machinery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Twas a fair question dwag ….the cows are making you money I’ll bet that’s why they are there and will continue to be there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

You'll be pulling the pin by the sounds of it in the next couple of months once you use up forage stocks I'm guessing so, with futures for maize grain in the clouds you'll hardly chop this year's crop for cows

Unfortunately with the vast variety of jobs available now, milking cows is waaaay down the list.

The only staff available here for donkey work are those that are pretty much unemployable.

Even grain farmers are finding it impossible especially if the kit isn’t new. It’ll turn around with the next big recession but that’s not much good to me now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I'd milk 20 times before I'd spend an hour on the tractor

Thats the plan…if maize prices rise a little. Due to ‘backwardation’ this years crop is struggling to get to €200…whereas old crop is making €252.

My two hero’s should be togged out again in 6mts. I’m contemplating leaving cows empty but it would be bad business to try and second guess grain markets. I’ll be planting dual (grain and forage) seed anyhow, to at least have the option.

If I come across as being p1ssed off at the poor lads that are injured…I am!! Fcukin eegits we’re polluted drunk.

Want a job?

Let the land and get the €300 an acre tax free…then pop over here and tog out. Could even stretch the salary a bit.

😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

What's the general dairy farmer sentiment in France at the minute, are lads tipping away maintaining production and investing for the future our more of a downbeat trend with herds selling up and farms been rundown as the next generation has no interest

Downbeat.

But it’s been that way since I’ve been here. Farmers sons/daughters are running a mile from farming. Could you blame them…35hr week, loads of holidays, no weekend work etc, is a lot more attractive than farming, especially dairy.

Poultry and pigs are getting a fair kicking Atm. A neighbor that I do a good bit of business with told me he’s losing €27k a week in pigs. He’s got over 20 staff.

I’m back a serious amount of money on the poultry side…a thousand cows wouldn’t make up the deficit. Swings and roundabouts.

Banks don’t fancy supporting dairy anymore. They don’t see any future in 100 cow herds.

The total French production is staying much the same but the smaller herds are disappearing fast. Dairy will still hold strong in the AOC areas because of the premium that brings.

The latest growth area is ‘French Angus’ with contracts being handed out for 3yrs at €6/kg. There’s a good few dairy farmers opting for that.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

To be fair I m not looking foward to milking myself at moment,between heifers,biestings,washing teats,keeping cows out and now sick with covid.btw in fairness to cows no calf since 11 last nite

Look after yourself for fecks sake!

As my brother keeps telling me…nobody ever said on their deathbed that they wished they’d worked harder.

Farm relief straight away!!

Ah to be fair the 2 lads are at home now as well on account of it so it's mainly milking and keeping stuff going for me-gave sunday getting scraper track lined up again after it jumped off and Monday evening bleeding airlock s after dirt in the diesel tank of the loader and another yoke ran dry.it would happen just when you are on form for that kind a thing.grazing gone s##ty now too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Sorry not intended as one

just you’ve never seemed fond of them and say labour for them is hard to get

if I was in your boots with large acres I doubt I’d be milking cows tbh

id need 5 or 6 times what acres we have currently to have the same output but still wouldn’t create the same income

dairy suits

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭straight

I remember you saying before that you wanted to sell but you're boss wouldn't allow you. 🙂 I'm in the opposite situation here where my boss would prefer if I wasn't tied to the cows so much.

Only 13 cows calved here. So far, so good. 10 heifers, 4 bulls. Rain is welcome to wash in the slurry and warmer temps. No rush with grazing here.

Sold my AI bull into AI today. It wouldn't make you rich but it's a nice little achievement for me after 5 years farming in my own name. He has to pass blood tests for disease and pass semen tests once the quarantine is completed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Is that lad a yearling now?

Would he buy a Dacia Sandero or a Ford Focus?

A yearling ya. He'd buy a nice mercedes S class with some change.

https://www.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/mercedes-benz-s-class-mercedes-benz-s-class-merce/29890595

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Nice to get a touch like that all the same.

Fair dues.👍

I remember when I was a teenager all I wanted to do was breed a grand prix showjumper. Years on I/ we bred a grandprix showjumper and another competing in the young horse world showjumping in Belgium. Then after a kind of an attitude of been there, done that, came over. And with the downturn looming the decision was taken get out now.

Not sure what I'm saying.

May you have more goals to aim for I suppose.. 😃

At the end of the day if/when I offload the cows the farm will lose a huge driver of soil fertility. The one thing that I’ve learned is that mixed farming is the only way…a cow, a sow, and an acre under plough.

I’d only get out while grain prices are good. As soon as they fall again, I’d be back into dairy.

Easily done.

You may have heard of ‘ducking and diving’. 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

45% calved here. Going ok on the calf front, 50/ 50 bulls and heifers, with 3 of the 4 beef calves being bulls as well. One cow retired after hurting her back, but on her feet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Big divergence locally on when calving starts. I know one had 55 out of 80 calved in January. Cleaning up with great BB calves in the mart every week now. One or two others like that. Others like ourselves are gone the other way only starting now. Happy with the decision to put the start out to the second week Feb. In Kerry you're at the mercy of the Atlantic more than most and grass looks a long way off at the moment again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,320 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Wouldn't like to have cows out today. Forecast not great for the rest of the week

Weather gone to pot alright. Last 3 years end of Feb and 2 weeks in March have been shite so I dunno about delaying it too much anymore. Will always aim for the start of Feb anyway. Have 2 paddocks grazed but my cover is lower than most so not worried about 2 much grass anyway.

Must prepare better next year.

Whatever about all that, everyone in derogation must get 1 grass walk up on pasture base this February.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,819 ✭✭✭✭Base price

Asking ye dairy folks - I want to put out a few beef heifers with the bull and I was thinking of tail painting them as I may not see them bulling. I've never done it before and I was wondering if it would work or does the tail paint have to be replenished every week or so. I don't want to be bringing them back into the yard if its the case.

Scratch cards may be the better job in that case. Once well stuck on they should tell fine. Could put a chin ball on the bull as well

Sunday night we had a couple of calves born during the night and I just kept an eye on them with cameras but never got up and went out. Now we have group calving pen and thenext day I have to say I'm not sure which calf was which so it put me thinking and I discovered that there is a screen saver button on the camera that I hadn't spotted.so in future I might just take a snap of them just to help with this sort of thing and maybe more of ye have it to