If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,531 ✭✭✭tanko

It could have been worse, at least it wasn’t the vice grips.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Cow got into the dairy here and went in between the milk tank and got herself stuck between it and wall

good thing there was half a full tank of milk or she’d have pushed it around

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Heifers broke out of their house last night and sh1t on and dragged their own and cow's silage around the yard. Milk lorry arrived seemingly when they were out and luckily closed the gate behind himself. Could have been much worse.

Cow calved a short while ago and the calf is as wild as a deer. Have to feed the calf now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

FFS lads, have ye not implemented any labour saving advice. It's all about LEAN farming now.

I just mixed in some cows there now and it's the same old bullies fighting all the time. Maddening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,667 ✭✭✭Gillespy

Always hold your breath time when cows are moved between groups. Try to do when feeding to distract them or do it at milking time is good too.

Cows can be very cruel to each other. They will pick on the weakest ones and can be very rough with them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Was watching cow calving on camera last night …checked at 5 am and just starting …all looked good so said I’d leave her be alarm set to get up at 6.15 …hit snooze so didn’t get out till 6.45 …cald about 3/4 way out with bag over head ….calf dead …and Yeadh a heifer …that’ll teach me

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Can't seem to get ahead of myself here, dry cows mixed and between fighting and everything else didn't a daft bitch calve in the cubicles. Calf fine and cow fine but would she follow the calf or come out of the shed, not a fcuking hope. Being on your own then for when majority of these things happen. Few cases of mastitis as well on top of things a load of night time calvings has me well burned out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,183 ✭✭✭greenfield21

Irish dairy farmers must be laughing their heads of watching panorama so far.

Group calving can help that situation sometimes as they lick the calf on the way out.

I had that problem trying to get a loopy one out of the cubicles the other night. We got a bit tangled up in each other and I got a hit on the foot. The couple of whiskeys might not have helped. It's a young man's game for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

Yep it happens to many of us. I used to see my father who was a very fit hard worker. That was when work was hard, cycling and piking and cows in stalls. But he was a big believer in the nap after dinner. Take a power nap when you can, either day or night.

She was in group pen …..2 single pens just off it …4 others in group pen …one earring others lying down

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I could be off my head but sure what's new.

I see online people are claiming benefits of hydrogen water or adding hydrogen tablets to glasses of water and claiming it's a big help against tiredness and improved energy.

Pros: it's not drugs. There'll be no harm done. Our bodies are basically I think 80% h2 by mass.

Haven't tried it myself bar making an inline water pipe thing a ma jig with round stones that may release more hydrogen in the water line here. But just myself I think I've more energy this year than a normal calving season. Could be placebo. I have a h2 meter bought to test a few things. May have a look see to compare.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,236 ✭✭✭minerleague

Youtube channel VolmerFilm has video on Compost tea for spraying on land, might be of interest to you

berroca boost with the breakfast ….coffee during the day could have 4/5 …good and strong too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 865 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

I was landed flat on my back in a cubicle passage the other night, by a 9th calver, she showed a serious turn of pace for an old girl when I was trying to turn her over to the calving pen.. no injuries but glad it was me not the old fella

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,809 ✭✭✭older by the day

The berroca boost has caffeine plus the 4 or 5 coffees. Is that every day. I don't know. But I remember a lad , who was taken a lot of red bull one time and he wore himself out. The body will tell you when to rest.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

I just wish they d stop calving for just a day

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

Feed pre-calvers in the evening. Have them in that routine for at least 3 weeks before calving. Make sure they’re hungry before feeding every evening.

We never calve cows by night. They’re seen at 9pm and not seen again until 6am. It works!

The only time we would change this is during a heatwave, when we want them to calve during the night. That’s the only time of the year when we calve at night.

I’m a bit overwhelmed myself. Before the new year my two dairy lads were in a serious accident. One broke his femur in two and the other broke his neck in 3 places. Both out of action for months…you can imagine how pleased I am.

Got sorted through Fr’s ….and struck lucky and got a v good lad …he’s there in mornings and local transition year student comes in evening time and weekends

There’s 41 lads in the local FRS…and they point blank refuse to milk cows! Hard to blame them I suppose.

There will come a time when there won’t be anyone to milk cows. We’re already at that point now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

I am out of the yard for 6-8 hours a day this week with off farm work. It's absolutely unavoidable. A local dairy farming family with 3 sons are covering all morning milkings. The lads milk before going to work and I do evenings. They put anything near calving under the camera and I can keep an eye. One of then comes back then in the evening for 2 hours to feed up for me and clean cubicles. They are super lads. Only day they couldn't do was today so I milked at 5 and am away since 6.45. Beg glad to see them tomorrow morning.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I'm in a similar boat, a contract came up close to me for a year that I couldn't turn down. Up these days at 5.30 to check them, I'll milk if theres nothing stirring, gone by 7.30, back for 5.30 in the evening. I'm lucky that the fella who was doing relief milking for me came available full time, he lands at 7 and waits for the day if hes needed. We've a four week old in the house too. Its the nites where shes up or theres a cow calving that are the killer, you're a zombie the following day

There will always be lads to milk cows and do farm work ….provided there treated well ..good working conditions …and paid …..hear lots of stories of some farmers always mouthing they can’t get workers …maby they should ask why

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,439 ✭✭✭jaymla627

You still not tempted to throw in a few robots and future proof your business haha...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Generally feed in the evening but do push in in the day as tight of feed space so if left hungry for the the day there would be too much tearing at the barrier. Just have to get over the hump

Dream on Mahoney!

Yes there will be lads to do farm work…but milk cows, I’m not so sure.

Ordinary dairy workers are on €41k p.a. with me and if I’d to replace them, I wouldn’t have a hope. There’s no shortage of work and they can pick and choose…and milking cows isn’t the most desirable job in the world. I’ve seen it here with Irish lads, they’d tell you how they love cows etc, but when the drivers are heading off on the tractors you’d see their faces fall. It’s understandable.

Robots aren’t the answer either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1