Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Supreme Court Describes Traveller Community as “Vulnerable Minority”

• 31-01-2022 9:32pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭

minority? yes

vulnerable? Surely that’s a fcuking laugh?

ah here

Mr Justice Gerard Hogan said members of the Traveller community have struggled for recognition of their own cultural identity and way of life.

How is this not a wind up? Well isn’t it awful lads that the poor travellers can’t effectively do as they please. The poor craters.

edit: and for what it’s worth I haven’t a problem with (most) travellers I’ve dealt with.

when we got our current gaff we bought the timber floors and some beds and mattresses from a furniture shop owned by travellers. Nothing bad could be said about them whatsoever.

Of course there’s the ones who act like wild animals and if their way of life is being infringed upon then the law of the land is in place and proper order.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,651 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Yes, it's a laugh. Vulnerable I'd apply to their settled neighbours, in some instances.

They are vulnerable in the same way someone choosing to drive on the wrong side of the road is.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭Raichu

Well, as you see, travellers are entitled to live on land that’s not theirs, because the constitution says you’re entitled to a home.

this this end I’m going to stop paying my rent & when I’m brought to an RTB tribunal & potentially court I will recite this part of the article and assert that if the travellers can stay on land that’s not theirs, cos constitution, surely therefore I’m entitled to stay in a house that’s mine, cos constitution?

In fact all homeless people should just let themselves into any vacant property and quote the same. It’s just that easy.

All too often Travellers are evicted from sites by local authorities whose responsibility it is to house them, without any alternative accommodation being offered, and without any assessment by a court of the impact of the eviction on the Travellers’ rights.

if this was a joke it would be fcuking hilarious. But the fact it’s not makes it sickening. How dare the council take their land back!!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Between this and today’s amnesty to criminals.

Down the gutter this country is going.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,823 ✭✭✭littlevillage

Dangerous precedent being set. Local authorities are going to have to hire armed gaurds to defend their properties from those seeking to 'carpetbag' a piece of free land or a free house

• Registered Users Posts: 43,024 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

how much time has Mr “Justice” Gerard Hogan had interaction with the community before he made the judgement?

I would make a guess

• Registered Users Posts: 3,003 ✭✭✭ParkRunner

One to appeal to Europe?

Limerick Co. Co. will struggle to house that couple and their adult offspring in a manner which is in keeping with their cultural needs. The housing must be provided in advance, the Couple will need to accept it. The Judge has really left the Co. Co. where nothing but a free mansion with space for caravans and a stable will be acceptable to the Couple and the Couple now know that.

I think rather than giving the Couple the Mansion the Council will have to provide a compound with services in an area designated residential even if they have to find that location and redesignate it residential. Present it to the Couple, let the couple reject it and then go back to Court to get their eviction order enforced.

Caving in and gifting a dream home will be counter-productive. Allowing them to remain will mean that others Travellers will follow suit and squat.

Some good might come of it but it is galling either way.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

Why would Limerick Co. Co. be having anything to do with the family in question when the case was concerned with an order requiring the family to vacate council-owned land in Co. Clare?

It comes as the Supreme Court overturned an injunction from the High Court requiring husband and wife Bernard and Helen McDonagh, their sons and extended family to vacate council-owned land in Co Clare.

• Registered Users Posts: 995 ✭✭✭iColdFusion

Honest question, what % of traveller do you need to be to get all the free housing, legal immunity and such?

I mean if a traveller girl has some kids with like a Jamican guy, are the kids still travellers and entitled to EU protection or what?

My mistake. I'm sure Clare Co. Co. would have loved that it was Limerick Co. Co.s problem.

Do you disagree with any of the points I made otherwise?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,650 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

I do, but I figured you’re not going to let that stop you 😂

For the benefit of the viewers at home which points do you disagree with?

Do you not agree that the Council are between a rock and a hard place in that they can not be seen to reward them for squatting and can not be seen to allow them to remain squatting.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,265 ✭✭✭AllForIt

It is quite laughable to think that Travellers are looking for housing off the council, when their way of life, or their 'culture' as they put it, plays no part in the state being able to provide housing to anyone at all.

If everyone had their way of life, there would be no council, no state, no anything.

edit: of course they are 'vulnerable'. Lots of people are vulnerable, that's why we organize our state in the way we do, a semi socialist state. It is not my fault travellers are vulnerable though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,505 ✭✭✭Working class heroes

Who would you suggest the cap fits? Jinglejangle69 or Haphaphap or somebody else. Who are you suggesting is a Racist.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,505 ✭✭✭✭Mad_maxx

None but he likely does move in the same social circles as the kind of media and NGO wanker5 who will cheer on this judgement

• Registered Users Posts: 1,105 ✭✭✭katiek102010

Oooh a very dangerous precedent judgment indeed.

This is going to open a huge can of worms and leave every single landowner in a very dangerous position and not just local authorities

• Registered Users Posts: 28,980 ✭✭✭✭end of the road

your point doesn't work as everything you mention from trespass to breaking and entering are criminal offenses.

shut down alcohol action ireland now! end MUP today!

no as such appeal would not be successful because there is nothing to appeal really as facts are facts.

there is no legal immunity for travelers, travelers are subject to the same laws as the rest of us.

the issue is lack of gards to enforce the law across the board.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,218 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

Takes some balls to write that with a straight face.

not at all, its just the reality.

when people break the law and those charged with enforcing the law are so under resourced they can barely carry out the job then you get a junk show.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,502 ✭✭✭Raichu

I'm absolutely confident that Mr Justice Gerard Hogan doesn't have a home in a highly affluent neighbourhood where the impact of the Travelling community is non-existent.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,177 ✭✭✭Billy Mays

Boards traveller hater: "Why is there such a disproportionate number of travellers in the prison population???"

Also Boards traveller hater: "Why is there legal immunity for travellers???"

Not enforcing the laws against the Travelling community is discrimination against the rest of us who do.

And not enforcing the laws against the Travelling community is effectively the same as having legal immunity. The net effect is the same.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,916 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

The Judgement is quite complex and seems astonishing. Whilst Traveller and State lands specific (open to correction) this is going to open the Doors for Trespass wether intended or not. I can gaurentee Farmers and Local Authorities across the country are facing a world of difficulties and substantial expense evicting the Cultural Cohort as they start moving on to private property and local authority lands, watch this space.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

• Registered Users Posts: 26,916 ✭✭✭✭Dempo1

Couldn't agree more, Ethnic Recognition should not mean carte blanch different strokes for different folks and anyone looking objectively at was has happened since Enda Kennys speech can see there are different rules being applied and a small minority in the Travelling community using every trick in the book to get preferential treatment, particularly in regard to criminal and discrimination law.

Is maith an scáthán súil charad.

If having ethnic recognition meant that I was born with an inalienable right to commit certain crimes; that has to be the worst ethnicity on the planet and, if I were a member of said "ethnicity", I would revoke my membership in an instant.