Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Timeless watch channel

• Registered Users Posts: 8,727 ✭✭✭893bet

More than 2 months since he put out a watchable video.

And now is on the superchats trail with his irritating friend.

Might aswell unsubscribe at this point.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The problem with watch tubers is as Fitz pointed out there's only so much you can say and show and almost entirely about Rolex, with the odd Patek thrown in. It's not Rolex's fault, it would be the same if it was 90% Patek/Omega/Heuer/Zenith/Whichever, particularly if it's only one or two models you're talking about. Imagine if the vast majority of watch Youtubers were only talking about Cartier Tanks. Oh here's one with a slightly different dial colour, here's one in green gold, reference number ABCDE12345x etc. Here's a moody closeup of the dial and hands. And so on. Boring as fcuk. Indeed it stands as a nod to Rolex that it hasn't run out of steam before now. That's what the youtube market wants now, but it'll get tired of it. Never mind watches, if 90% of car youtubers were only featuring Audis on the regular that would be deathly boring too, even for Audi fans.

I can see youtubers at the cheap end lasting longer, albeit with small viewer numbers. The Justonemorewatch type channels. Smaller audience far more varied subject matter. Watchfinder & Co will probably trundle on because of more varied content. Another area I've noticed climbing in ratings are watchmaking/watch repair channels. They're flying up in subs. A guy like the Nekkid Watchmaker in one year is over 200,000 subs and he's got a fair few milllion plus views among his vids and you can be sure it's not Chinese click farms that are driving it. Funny chap too and does interesting stuff. Wristwatch revival is another, though he's more a skilled hobbyist. A friend of mine who isn't into watches is subbed to both of them. I asked why and he said they're relaxing and interesting to watch. Found out on Saturday another friend of mine watches the same stuff and the only thing he wears on his wrist is a fitbit. These are long videos too for the most part. Half and hour to an hour.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Apparently his next video is going to be on a Zero West watch. Another Battle of Britain themed watch probably. He seems to value these 'historical' watches. Not my thing although I'm very interested in history, I just don't see any connection other than marketing.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,593 ✭✭✭scwazrh

Nothing to do with valuing the watches , he’s getting paid and that’s it.Same as the superchats , he’s just trying to make money at this stage

• Registered Users Posts: 1,599 ✭✭✭Cyclingtourist

Maybe. You reckon he needs money, debt in Venice?

I doubt he needs money but I also doubt he’s as passionate about zero west as he’s making out he is so there has to be some reward for it

• Registered Users Posts: 64,703 ✭✭✭✭unkel

I wish they'd all stop with that zero west bollocks, that company must be throwing loads of money around trying to promote their overpriced shitters.

@Wibbs - watching the nekkid watchmaker has some sort of strange soothing effect, I can well see how that appeals even to non watch people

• Registered Users Posts: 1,122 ✭✭✭redlead

The funny thing is most people are bored of the same handful of watches being discussed over and over but if he put up a video on say a Girad Perrregaux, it would get about 2k views. A sh1tty unboxing of a the same sub everyone has seen a million times would get 50k.

He seems to have pretty much given up on the quality content that made the channel unfortunately. Too easy to get your ego massaged on a live stream by a bunch of dorks.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭Fitz II

"He seems to have pretty much given up on the quality content that made the channel unfortunately. Too easy to get your ego massaged on a live stream by a bunch of dorks."

Nail on the head. He has a really nice new AP roayal Oak chrono for months that he has not bothered reviewing yet, too busy shilling Zero west, unboxing cringy presents from his sycophants, walking to the shops to buy more booze and vlogging about when he used to be cool. I remember the review vids that actually talked about watches, especially the less loved watches of Rolex and Omega they were good. Maybe he is just bored with watches or maybe he is gone lazy who knows. I hope he returns to form and does those reviews that have a point, and give his opinion and critique of watch culture not just the current cult of personality they have become.

His omega seamaster video and the Seiko one in the ski village were among his best.They were also done before he seemed to catch onto the fact of freebies being sent to him and also being paid promote sh*te

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,066 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

Or maybe he's just being clever. He sees that there's only so much mileage in yet another Sub unboxing, that there's a time and attention limit on that and it's a far better bet to go the whole 'lifestyle' direction which has more longevity and more options for sponsorship and ad revenue. Let's face it that's what got him noticed in the first place. I seriously doubt he'd have a tenth of his viewers if he were wandering around Bray with equally moody shots of watches, no matter what they were. The 'American in Europe' adolescent and midlife fantasy is what sold and sells him. The watches are a small part of the lifestyle angle(which is how a lot of these watches are sold anyway). Look at the hits and attention he got with the French dollybird, even after he came across like a sullen 15 going on 50 year old. That he happens to be Irish and a one time muso with tales of life on the road in America is the icing on that cake.

Rejoice in the awareness of feeling stupid, for that’s how you end up learning new things. If you’re not aware you’re stupid, you probably are.

So he has a new Zero west advert uploaded now for anyone interested.

I started to watch S then switched off when he showed actual and graphic footage of drivers and bystanders being killed in races, while breathlessly telling the viewers this was what they were seeing, while pulling the wire out of himself. For no good bloody reason beyond shock value and all to flog a piece of crap watch that if I found it in a christmas cracker I'd be asking for a paper hat as a swap. He seem to mistake overwrought breathless melodrama and the aperture setting on his camera for 'cool'. Utter fúckwit. But jaysus it seems there are enough similar out there going by the comments praising it. How many actually go out and buy the crap he's selling is another thing. I strongly suspect very few.

For my sins I looked at their website. That crap is three grand sterling. 😯 🤣

100%.....the only word I can add is classless.

Yep, classless would sum him up in one word alright Fitz.

Early on he was interesting enough, but that was more to do with the Venetian backdrop, for me anyway. I like the place and during the pox it was weird to see it so empty. He was a little different to the other watch tubers too. At first. The cut price bonoisms started to grate mind you. The saddofest over the French bird was the nail in the coffin for me tbh.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,215 ✭✭✭✭Cienciano

Oh god, I looked at the website, impossible to read the description of the watches without cringing.

He actually had some good observations and opinions on Rolex watch collecting and omegas but he always was walking a tightrope of pretentiousness...he has well and truly fallen off that to his death in a sea of self congratulatory smug.

In the early days, very much so F, but god it went downhill. It seems that sells though as his views seem to keep going north.

I’ve enjoyed his last two videos but my god he really does like to go on about his big wrists.Particularly in his Tudor video it’s as if he’s proud to have fat wrists

Watch this from 1hr15.

He is the greatest knob of all time at this point. **** I think I once said he had charisma. Maybe he had at the start when he was hiding his personality a bit. Now it shines through and he is walking wanker.

Oisin is a mathematically genius and can beat any casino with his “systems”.

Ironically, he dismissed blackjack, which is one of the few casino games where the house edge can be eroded though counting, but even at that very few casinos (probably zero) will put themselves in that position.

A fool full of his own self importance.

• Registered Users Posts: 66 ✭✭kostal2093

That was cringe, embarrassing and woegeous all in one. Look at the faces of the others while he was explaining how he was going to turn over the casinos with his system - he is like the drunken bore in the pub that when you see, you run in the opposite direction.

Oh Jesus.....its getting like Walter Mitty at this stage. One step forward two steps back. Thought is last to videos were good, agree about the obsession with him having a fat wrist, its actually just on the upper end of normal (I have done this before is a bug bear of mine...upper end of normal is not abnormally large, its just normal). The drinking really is problematic. I think the yanks mistake the drunken shite talk for charisma and wisdom....get the impressions the English see right through it at this stage.

I was ready to go in and see him embarrass himself. But he actually didn't. He is totally pompous referring to his "system" and his claim of a guaranteed 5-8k win when you bring 40k is nonsensical, but what he is likely referring to is indeed a very simple system that works (in roulette) and which will pretty much always give you a profit. You stick €100 on red. You win? You walk. You lose, you stick €200 on red. Rinse and repeat. You could of course start with €1000 but you'd be in trouble if black lands 5 times in a row (or the ball hits green), about 4-5% chance

Lol.

No. It doesn’t work. It’s pretty simple maths. Martingale systems don’t work.

if it worked casinos would be broke.

The small profit you make the days you win will be wiped by a large loss.

Of course it works. In practice very few people have the discipline to walk away though. It's not in people's nature. It is pretty much guaranteed to win, as long as you place a small sum relative to your maximum available sum.

It's really simple to run for yourself:

Bring 51.1k. Place 100 on black. You lose, place 200 on black. Etc. Your fund of 51.1k will not be gone unless black or green falls 9 times in a row. It's 99.9% certain you make a profit. Literally: 19/37 to the 9th power is about 0.1% - extremely unlikely but if that happens you're fukced alright 😂

If you have unlimited funds, you ALWAYS win this way

Ok.

You have clearly never been in a casino and heard about table minimums and maximums which make this system impossible.

Woth your example above on your last bet you are betting 20k ish…..on a 48 percent chance to win back all your losses…..plus your original state of 100.

fucking lol

Casino love these systems.

Clearly you are smarter than the mathematics behind it.