If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

There is very little to no chance of a co-op being bought outright I know a few have but in reality they were amalgamations more so than hostile takeovers I think there may be one or two bigger amalgamations of co-ops in Ireland but that will be it imo unless of course one of them runs into financial troubles

On an aside I really wonder what is going to happen with glanbia coop now would anyone else forsee a lot of cost trimming and weeding out of management layer's which suppliers tell me were excessive. Or would that like the turkey's voting for Christmas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,862 ✭✭✭✭Green&Red

I’d a cow abort 8 weeks early, she’d bagged up so I’m milking away. What are lads experience in how she’ll milk for the year? Is volume likely to be down? Will she ever come right or is she likely to be sound?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I’ve experience of being a member of 3 different CUMAs. Not one good word to say about them…it usually comes down to 2 or 3 big farms controlling the kit at the expense of the smaller farms. Repairs are costed into all users, so the dick that shouldn’t be left near kit, gets to make shyte of machinery ad nauseum without any recourse whatsoever. When you cost it down it’ll pay you better to buy your own (good) secondhand kit and end up owning something at the end of repayment…and having it on the day that you need it. The climate here really lends itself for machinery rings and with Irish weather often doesn’t play ball.

CUMA is eligible for a government grant of 30% off new machines. This leads to cute feckers trying to buy their own kit through CUMA….and it helps to keep the kit off their balance sheet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Supposed to be decided now but I think the EU won't look at it till March now. Talks of it being 2 or 3 years as opposed to 5 as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

It wont be submitted till March. This leaves no time for suggested changes from EU, so it will come down to an accept or reject. Think research figures on slurry volume excretions still outstanding. When figures complete, it will be banged in..

My Coop are saying that there’s a possibility that milk price could go as high as 46cpl + vat for the coming year…but they won’t pay that, instead they’ll pay 42cpl and support the price when it falls in the future.

What bull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭straight

You're long enough farming now to know how it works.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

I thought the price on mainland Europe had broke the 50 cents barrier

As an aside that's poor even our shower could get close to that 😂🤷

Its a serious problem in this country when you see fresh milk hasn't moved price wise In the shops our co-ops are poor seller's it would appear. Anyone notice if butter cheese etc is moving up in price

Don't they always protect farmers against themselves..?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 393 ✭✭Gman1987

Mother in law was saying that Supervalu butter is after going up but when I converted it to a €/mt price its still well below where bulk butter is trading at currently. Retailers are just playing one coop off the other and unfortunately our coops appear to just let them do this and the farmer picks up the bill then in the form of a reduced milk price.

Ya the problem is or part of the problem is there's no accountability. And it ain't there money there playing with. By right they should just have to make a single call to inform the supermarkets of the percentage and start date of the price rise

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Situation is cows dried all dosed and vaxed and just tipping away every day no major panic on at the moment. Alot of covid around us and highly likely we ll get it this spring.should we go looking for it now,nuclear thinking but if we got it in Feb it would be a disaster

Lad working here picked it up over Xmas, hasn't been here since before it so won't be back for another 10 days. Fortunate, or unfortunate depending on outlook, that i can go without meeting anyone really. Mother would be vulnerable so still try to keep it out but hard to see it happening that way. Tyre man has it as well, and know a lot of people with it whereas before I didn't know of many

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

According to Luke o Neil if you’ve had your booster you'd be better off to catch the omnicron variant as it’s quiet mild and you’ll have good immunity for quite a while

It’s encouraging to see how high the case numbers are but hospitals numbers not increasing

I’ve heard a lot of ppl saying lately that these variants are going to come more milder each time and Covid will be like a head cold in time

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,320 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Over 600 in hospital now

I wonder will significantly increased positive cases continue to have proportional hospital numbers though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

3 confirmed cases in this house in last week, 1 negative and 2 waiting for results.

None would have been considered sick pre covid. No vaccines either...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Last 2 rows dried off and last milk collection of year just gone put the gap …bit of r&r now for rest of week and then prep starts for spring ….no worm or fluke dose for cows so that’s one bastard of a job cut out …smaxtec system going in late next week just do everything for lice when up crush

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭timple23

Anyone have an idea of the cost/animal of syncing and AIing heifers? Never AI'd before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,211 ✭✭✭mr.stonewall

Sync with cidrs and the drugs cost me €22/head last summer. One vet callout to put cidrs in, Ai on top that.

Post edited by mr.stonewall on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Circa 30 euro for drugs and vet to put cidrs in ….cost of Ai straw and arm service after that

Those of ye spring calving that dry off for Christmas, what was ye're average lactation length? I dried maybe 10 days earlier than normal but had 4 carryovers and the herdapp has mine at 280 days. My calving spread is a bit long but is better for this coming season.

I delivered about 7000 litres last year with an average of 275 days. This year's report didn't come in yet. I'll have to lengthen my dry period to get under 6300 for 2022.

Whats your replacement rate? Could you reduce your number of replacements to keep the same number of cows at 106?

You'll really have to explain this one..

Dropping 700l from each cow in '22 could be up to €336..😱

Are you in derogation? Can you export slurry to get under the limit? If you're in derogation, are you buying silage from ground you can export to? Can you reduce other stock? Even reducing cow numbers and holding yield seems more profitable than redu ing yield by reducing days..