If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

I drove it yesterday and the ratios were just wrong and necessitated two gear changes iykwim. It was a grand tractor for the job all the same…small and compact with a good turning circle.

I hope that Massey does the job because it’s 3hrs away…so if I waste 6hrs on the road I’ll blame Mr. Clover!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

Was the Ford a rare crash box by any chance? Was reverse on the same lever as 1 -4?

Shur if you don't like the Massey after a few days put it on a boat to Cork and I'll collect it!!

You can go back for the Ford then and try it!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Anyone move on empty or March /April calvers lately …also have a few incalf after going thru mine and doing a mini cull .5/6 lactation cow’s times up from 20/3 to 18/4 …we’ll capable of milking till end January into February .also 3 3 spin cows calving down in February /early March to Ai Friesan and Angus bull no faults bar minus a quarter 🤔🤔

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

No it had the two gearlevers to the side…High-Low-Reverse on a small lever…and 1-4 on the tall lever. The speeds dictated that two levers had to be moved every time of a direction change.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,065 ✭✭✭White Clover

I'd have thought that if you stuck the tall lever in 3rd and use the small lever as a shuttle, you wouldn't have a big difference in your forward and reverse speeds then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,668 ✭✭✭cjpm

There’s a big difference between the two. Third reverse is pretty quick but third low is a snails pace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭emaherx

Well then the only advice is check you are happy with view/ turning circle if your yard is any way tight. I've a 390T (with shuttle) and a 698T here, both are the same size/HP and 4WD but the 698T is a pig in tight spaces in comparison. and its not just the shuttle as I had another 300 series with same gear box as the 698T.

🌈 🌈 🌈 🌈

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Just something to think about for scraping -a lawnmower but your normal one but a larger mower with gang mowers.strip off the mower s and alot have rams to move a linkage on the front,foward and reverse on a foot petal with no clutching and tight turning circle.the mowers get worn but the rest of them would be OK.some have nice cabs and your work is in front of you .engines are 20 to 25 hp and are often kubotas

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,764 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

I'm able to use the 240 with the first and reverse alright as it's forward with the gear stick for reverse and back for 1st gear. It's simple that way and both speeds are similar. But you'd want one with power steering. It pulls the arms off you. It's available seemingly to add on. Starts on the first turn of key.

A 40 series ford nh with the forward reverse gear stick or a tl series with shuttle sounds like it'd suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

I have similar stuff to go here. They always just go through the mart as culls. I find it hard to get their value for them. I cull poor performers and get around 600. You could see a similar cow making at least double at a clearance sale.

@Gawddawggonnit can send on the Ford so instead!!

I admit to only seldom driving one of them Fords. The Crystal's that I used to drive Baling had the same gear selection set up at the Ford and 3rd low and reverse were almost identical.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

Howya ya clover has it well covered there. the 7810 is not for that job. Other than rust the Massey will stay going forever. just they were used in Ireland for bigger work than they were fit for and were uncomfortable for long days. I'm not a Massey lover by any means but the older ones like that one are pretty bomb proof maybe at a push a geared starter and a high amp high output battery (if you're getting any cold weather) ps still blame clover 😉

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,632 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

We all seem to be thinking the same way.milk recorded this year for the first time in a long time and it has highlighted a few girls that are just there for show and not making money.they are in calf and I m wondering how to clear them now rather than with 6 ton of silage in them in the spring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

The last dairy sale around here ,I taught prices were well back like 500kg march/april incalf heifers E950-1100 ,high ebi were 150 extra .April calving 2nd /3rd/4 th lact. from 900 -1050 all genuine stock.From looking at that sale the steam seem to be gone out of dairy stock but could just be a bad day for selling

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

Anything thats correct selling privately probably the way to get better money. Anything 3 teats etc nearly always won't make much more than cull value, may be best to calve down milk away for the year and then sell as culls. They generally give as much milk wise anyway. Sold a mix bunch of empties for their weight a few weeks back. 4 to go but will be drying everything off this week so once soaked up I'll give them the road. Sold the bulk of the empties in milk thru the mart back in early Nov made 710 on average, milkier bigger ones went to 840 straight from parlour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 351 ✭✭Mf310

Should be no problem selling mj put them up on donedeal I see july calvers making 900-1000€ emptys making 650-750 march/april calvers now should make 1100-1200, I know id pay it no problem only for we are locked up with Tb. I prefer buying late calvers like that straight after a date some of the best cows we have in the herd were bought in 2018 as cows that were to calve after the last week of march and these cows have calved in feb/march since.. Bought 16 late calvers on the pop of calving near the end of april this year 1300€ for 600kg ms crossbred cows the best of cows only calving after a certain date so didnt suit the farmer some of these cows back in calf now for the end of march.. good milkers seem to be still in demand atm few more lads milking for the winter this year with a good milk price and possibly putting any emptys back in calf for next autumn

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Hard to see high replacement prices, with stocking rates under pressure, restrictions on certain co ops and fertiliser prices

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,322 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

See a local farmer selling some stock on dd. Spring born calves looking 550, pictures not great. A couple of cows calved last December still milking not in calf 750. Too good to cull...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,766 ✭✭✭lefthooker

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,215 ✭✭✭straight

That's the cows dried off. Won't know what to do with myself until Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Back at it in the morning here, no rest for the wicked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

No milk every day. Liquid milk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Down to 4 rows now …only milking oad ..easy peasy…will see out the month with last batch dry before months end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

Half dried here, first calves the 20th jan

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

We find if they are dried off too long they go overfat and endless problems the following year, also much harder to get in calf. We would have their expected calving dates and dry off 8 weeks before.

Was talking to a local farmer yesterday. He has his cows dried and they are on second cut silage. It's way too dry. Cows dung is very hard. He was talking about feeding them meal? I suggested mixing it with other silage or molasses any ideas?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk