If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Dairy Chitchat 4, an udder new thread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Could there be a reference year on cow numbers? I have beet ordered. Problem here is some of the land is too hilly to spread.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

I don't see a reference year for cow numbers. That could see lads still on huge stocking rates per hectare. I would see something more like limiting stocking rates on a grazing platform. Whether that is through the NAP or a straight stocking rate diktat I wouldn't care to guess.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

I’ll get rid of 3 titters or anything that’s not performing but definitely not heifers if it comes to that

It’s not slurry I’m on about using it’s well diluted slurry with dairy washings and rain water, a local man I know did just that this year after seeing Kevin o Hanlon at it and has reduced his fert usage in half

we're fine for peak milk

peak milk won’t be an issue next year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,570 ✭✭✭Mooooo

What's replacement rate/ herd breakdown looking like next year, most of the older cohort still there? Spring calving rate good enough? Would be a good target i reckon. Keep intakes as good as you can in spring and grass right thru the summer and I don't see why not, bad weather etc dependant

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,553 ✭✭✭Grueller

Next year will be 20% 1st calvers, 30% 2nd and 50% 3rd. Only 1 cow replaced due to death with a twisted gut. Everything else went in calf.

Calving will be 89% from Jan 15th to March 10th. The rest are all done by April 4th on due dates.

500kgs a realistic target then imo. Well setup for the year ahead with those figures and performance, well done

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,324 ✭✭✭alps

Critical to put in place a realistic plan to bank enough winter feed for 2022. That plan will include, culling, conserving this year's stocks, and securing the fertiliser for not only the silage ground, but also enough of your grazing ground, so that you don't have to resort to grazing your silage next May....We've had high prices before, but we've never had the a set of circumstances like we have at present.

There's enough fertiliser in the country for the Jan /Feb period importers holding off placing March orders.

Some form of commitment will have to be given to importers to go and secure March product...and they won't secure it for less than the quoted current prices. Coops may be able to give that commitment, as they can recover any loss, but a farmer buying through non coop merchants is either going to have to pay up front, have some kind of cast iron contractual agreement, or run credit for one third of your normal tonnage allowance.

Merchants are going to double their margin (for security) and this is on a trebled product price.

Secure it...piece by piece where you can beg borrow and steal..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,214 ✭✭✭straight

What about the guys that are only just getting by? The co ops don't seem to be committing to buying at the moment which means they think/hope the price will fall before spring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

They know that it won't fall before spring.

Fertilizer always rises as the season goes on.

The one time in our life that global supply has been massively curtailed in an unprecedented way is not the year it'll drop in spring..

The main thing to keep in mind is that tough as it will be here, the major global milk providers globally where production costs are brutal will be savage.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,319 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Great back end in fairness for conserving silage. I'm away young lad let cows back out this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,975 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

All I’ll say is I’m ruleing nothing out to do as alps said secure winter 2022 fodder and avoid having to graze silage ground in April /may …..off loading some heifer weanlings or in calf heifers and pulling the hand break for a year ….nothing wrong with it

on the Glanbia peak supply ….the factory isn’t built ,stock are on ground ,herds maturing that issue will be very real

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,392 ✭✭✭ginger22

so ye think we have problems, spare a thought for farmers in British Columbia and Washington state flooding

https://www.thebullvine.com/news/thousands-of-farm-animals-dead-in-b-c-floods-agriculture-minister-says/#

I logged into the national dairy conference during brunch earlier. Some waste of my time it was. Clover seems to be the new win win. They had all their choir boys lined up to tell us how it's done. That Galway lad with 270 cows and no full-time labour unit was talking when I logged out. Farmer management was to blame for farmers not getting enough grazings out of every field. They must think everyone is farming Moore park land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭cosatron

I don't know his name. I'd say he's that young lad they're always wheeling out. Near tuam.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Kevin Moran, I'd say, he must of put in a merry go round if that's the case, had a team of lads working for him when he was wheeled out on tour a few years ago

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,700 ✭✭✭GrasstoMilk

The guys that have clover established are actually spreading less N

I don’t see what the issue is, everyone went away from clover because it took over swards previously when the only available variety was cheiftan

clover has moved on like the grass varieties

Found over years your often told a lot of stuff at farm walks …..your also not told lots …don’t get too hung up on any of them any more …Tegasc advice ditto ..clover has moved on ,I’m a fan but it’s limited in what it’ll do in a lowish sr scenario it thrives ,higher sr it’s a help and I find that’s it you’ll save a bit on fertiliser for 2/3 months if weather is good .didn’t bother with the conference earlier ,don’t know if I missed much .presume it was dara Killeen or Kevin Moran they were on about in Galway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,438 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Theirs a good chunk of land in the Midlands that their shouldn't even be a attempt at setting clover on, have you seen any teagasc advisors our seed reps outline why?

Whether we like it or not N use is gonna be reduced so figuring out if it can be used in your situation is what needs to be done. Clover taking over wasn't an issue, it's bare patches in spring and autumn and lower ground cover along with persistency in heavy ground due to less chance to graze without damage in the shoulders along with weed management then as well

To manage the shoulders at least a bale extra per cow is reccomended.

Find out what info is there and take what ye want from it, no one makes anyone do anything, well bar the buckos in Europe and then the dep interpretation of it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

Kevin Moran rotary parlour couple of staff at least ( or maybe 5 part-time ) everything is contracted out even fertilizer iirc he's not at home long enough to have no labour it's the usual drivel same spin as always 🙄

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Let's say on a 100 cow herd, a bale a cow is 2000 euros for talk sake with added fert usage for those paddocks. Are the savings that huge when you have to use clover safe sprays also

Clover safe sprays are now gone ….clover needs good indexes and correct ph and minding …undoubted benefits but think there been overplayed.Tegasc etc have to be seen to do something ,clover fits the narrative but on any sort of heavily stocked farm it’s benefits Will be minimal

Ya, I tuned in as I was interested in learning something but it was just a bit stomach churning for me. Think it was Joe Patton that threw up a slide of where they want to get dairy farmers to and it was way too optimistic. They want to halve ration fed while increasing solids output. Half labour from 40 hours per cow to 20 for example. Obviously cut nitrogen. Nothing about cutting stocking rate or numbers, only maintenance figures. Only reason things are not getting achieved is because farmers won't adopt the technologies. Farmers need to get 9+ grazings off every paddock. Bad management means some farmers are not grazing all paddocks early in spring. Basically the dept tasks teagasc with working out a system to keep farming worthwhile and all teagasc can come up with is getting the farmer to run faster. Oh, and Elodie is the best technology ever but if it's inaccurate it's because farmers are not measuring right. So as far as I can see it's Clover or over. No mention of MSS before I walked away. Clover doesn't seem to persist on heavy ground in my experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 3,079 ✭✭✭green daries

How many hours per cow roughly are lads putting in do ye reckon yourselves I reckon it's well north of 40 on most farms

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,563 ✭✭✭JustJoe7240

That'd be 11 hours labour/ day year round for a 100 cow herd, Would it be that heavy?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,453 ✭✭✭Gawddawggonnit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,131 ✭✭✭yosemitesam1

A grand total of 3 results when searching for alsike clover on their website. All just listing a seed mixture used on an organic farm.

Other grass species get similar treatment...