If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Munster Team Talk Thread - Beirne After Reading

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 4,998 Mod ✭✭✭✭Lost Ormond

Van Grann hasnt been decent though. He's done nothing more than most expected him to do. He hasnt been decent if there is a reverting to being extremely limited against sides in semi finals...

The age grade has actually improved. Not producing internationals but there were far more issues with age grade within the province in the 00s. The systems are in place at age grade up to 18s/19s(Sch senior level) with the clubs competitions and schools formats and best sides playing each other enough. Now more could be done at regional level to assess some of the better players and have the 4 youths regional sides play each other more and then following that improve the 20s age group.

On Knox, Salanoa etc. We dont know what they could be like as they havent been given near enough opportunities. Even if they did poorly we might know theyre not ready but we dont even know that.

It does predate Van Grann but he has shown nothing about changing this for the better. You call the age grade system lousy but what would you suggest Munster do to change that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,779 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

At some point you need to change something if nothing is changing. The sad reality is that the coach is the only real thing you can change at this level. Sure changes can be made to pathways and development set-ups etc but that’s below senior rugby. I’m not sure any coach would be doing better than JVG is now, and some could even be doing worse, but at some point there needs to be movement. If that’s a change to the game plan that doesn’t produce trophies then so be it. At least it’s a change. Munster have been stuck in this same spot for years now. How long do you wait before deciding this isn't working?

I've been through the age grade stuff with you before, iirc, you left my last post on it unanswered so I don't think either of us want to revisit it tbh. It is what it is, inadequate for what we need. Even if it has improved it'll take years for the current (say) u-20's to become established internationals, which is the standard we need from them. Do you see, for example, Kendellan playing senior for Ireland in this RWC cycle, impossible imo, and yet there's no one here saying we should be dropping POM from 7 to play Kendellan. (for the record, I'm saying it here, we shouldn't play POM at 7 ahead of either Kendellan or Hodnett)

Afaik, the reason we haven't seen more of J. Wycherley, Knox or Salanoa is they keep getting niggles that keep them out for a few weeks at a time here and there. Likewise Aherne.

I agree fully van Grann has been poor for knock out games, I won't break my heart crying if he leaves tbh. I also think he should be getting way, way more criticism for the fact that Earls had to threaten to resign on the spot before either van Grann or Farrell (seemingly) seriously agreed he needed to get proper specialist treatment for his lung issue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

But Munster are deeper now than in years past! Aside from the backs were there are limitations, the squad is very deep, imo.

True there's not a whole gaggle of international quality players, but the players are comfortably better than 80% of other squads. Harlequins aren't loaded with international studs either and yet they are a top level team.

Munster have for the 1st time in eons, a very high quality back row option. There's no doubt that Coombes is at an international level. He's the best player on Munster, imo. Add Donahue and POM and that is a top unit. Then there's Hodnett and Kendellen! Serious talent in the pipeline.

The problem is probably in the front row. The players are good and can mix it up in the domestic league. Against top Euro sides they are left wanting.

I think a different coach could probably get a lot more out of this squad! Honestly, Leinster have been found wanting too at the top level. They were manhandled by LaRochelle for 50 minutes and dumped out on their arrest.

I hope VanGran leaves. I think he's not the fella to get Munster to that top end level. I think a more demanding type personality could improve the play.

Besides Saracens, there's not too many sides with world class players. Toulouse maybe?

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

Having a squad better than 80% of other teams, gets Munster to exactly the same place they've been over the last decade. Good, but not quite good enough, no matter who the coach is. There's not enough grunt in the tight 5 to beat the big English and French teams more than occasionally. Pointing out that the same thing is now happening to the better coached Leinster (who also have a much better tight 5 than Munster) does not backup your argument that a better coach will take Munster places.

Can’t disagree with any of that. Maybe a better way to phrase things is that there needs to be a reason behind the appointment of the next head coach. If Munster stick with JVG then why have they chosen to do that?

Appointing a different head coach automatically means that Munster want something different. That could be simply in terms of how Munster play the game as much as anything else.

Keeping JVG means that Munster want more of the same. And after that loss to the Ospreys it’s understandable that supporters will struggle with that. In the Rainbow Cup last season Munster had a great opportunity to end their trophy drought and fell short. Keeping JVG and more of the same means keeping that too. Is that the right choice for Munster? Is there a good case to be made for keeping JVG? Those are genuine questions and at this stage exactly the sorts of questions that need to be asked and answered.

Did i leave something unanswered? Where? The age grade system has improved in every way from competition structures in clubs abd schools competitions to standard of coaching in both areas as well in particular many clubs. we havent seen Knox etc not simply just because of them getting niggles. Munster have had Archer and Ryan as both props in so many games when they didnt need to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 882 ✭✭✭Lsdrugbyfan

you do realise Knox and Salanoa are imports, Munsters underage system is still searching for the formula to develop a homegrown tighthead?

Maybe French will be that, if he can ever stay healthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,849 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

One case I would make for keeping JVG is that I don't think he's a bad coach, or can you name a better one that would be willing to take over from him?

I also don't think he is ultimately responsible for winning and losing matches, there are 15 men on the pitch who are more responsible than him in that regard.

Again, all fair. But that’s not the strongest case for keeping a coach. As with the Matt O’Connor era at Leinster, I would argue that a singular poor performance is on the players more often than not. Successive poor performances or a pattern of poor performances is on the coach. Now whether you class Munsters performances as poor or not is obviously subjective. And to be clear, I’m not stating that JVG should go either. I’m playing devils advocate more than anything. If you’re happy with Munsters performances by and large then that’s a reason to keep JVG.

Munster are a limited team at the moment and there’s only so much a coach can do. So maybe JVG is simply delivering on Munsters potential. And maybe there’s developmental milestones he’s meeting that make him worth retaining. Maybe there isn’t another willing and available option out there who could do better. All I’m really asking is what are the reasons for retaining him if that’s what Munster choose to do. It’s not a trap question or anything either. I’m just hoping to have a better quality conversation that the Irish out half one!

Post 8667 on this thread, unless I've missed your response to it, I've no particular interest in revisiting it anyhow. Eitherway, van Grann is hindered by the resources currently at his disposal, until the underage improvements filter through to the senior side. I'm sure he could be a better coach, and I'm sure a better coach would get more from limited players, but we need to be realistic about the talent we have atm and coming through.

Which of our young, tight five forwards do you see getting 50+ caps for Ireland, if everything works out for them, injury-wise and gametime-wise etc? What forward generally do you think will break into the Irish side between now and the RWC and down the line, what younger ones do you think we'll be seeing playing for Ireland in the RWC in 2027? Gavin Coombes is the best bet but even he is in a position where Ireland have serious depth.

I know that's a crazy standard to reach for but that's where our ambition needs to be if we are to get back to winning consistently, imo. We need guys who aren't just getting capped in one-off or occasionally (even though that is obviously massively impressive), we need guys who are international mainstays for 5 or 6 seasons.

Ben Betts has, afaik, un-retired from rugby and is still playing in the Championship in England, was always sorry it didn't work out for him but yeah, Munster born tightheads are a rare enough breed.

There is as many within the clubs who dont and wont put self interest aside to vote for greater good as well. When you say schools should have no say in how branch is organised what does that even mean as the schools as a whole are as much a constituent part of Munster Rugby as any club.

Im not invested or embedded in the system at all. Ive never coached in an A school. Played C/"O Brien Cup" but was primarily focused on club rugby at time.

There is little evidence that Van Grann will be better even if all these strong age grade prospects did come through very soon. The talent coming through is better than it has in past. Its a ridiculous standard to expect as its so difficult to do.

It's the standard that's needed all the same, whether it's ridiculous to expect it or not.

Does anyone think Munster will be back winning consistently unless we can find a way to produce homegrown International mainstays, especially in the forwards and even more especially in the tight five? I just don't see it tbh.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,790 ✭✭✭✭Burkie1203

I think Munster too often revert to a team coached by JVG and not by JVG and Larkham etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭Stanley 1

He is right in front of us and knows all about us, Stuart Lancaster.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 26,511 ✭✭✭✭phog

What makes JvG such a bad coach that he's not even decent?

From RTE

James Coughlan to take temporary charge of Toulon after Patrice Collazo dismissed

Munster have reverted to that gameplan long before van Grann though. We are caught in the weird position of not being bad enough to lose enough games that would demand radical changes but not being good enough to actually win anything, though I do think we've a great chance this year still, all the same...

Have you watched what he's been coaching?

His conservatism in selection and tactics. He's with Munster 4 years and where has there been improvement? He has to go at end of his contract. He isnt going to do any better than he has done.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 13,223 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cookiemunster

The word is Franck Azema wll be announced as Toulon coach on Friday, so he's only taking training this week and probably this weekends game.

Just as I expected, a fairly wooly answer with little of no specifics.

I'd take the time to go through his selections and number of players he's used in his 4 years but from past experience I think I'd be wasting my time with you.

I completely agree with the sentiment that Munster will not be back to winning ways consistently until the have forwards that are regular starters in the or a National squad.

Look at the team that beat Wales in the 2009 Grand Slam decider, from the starting 1 - 8, 6 were Munster including the complete tight 5 with Leamy on the bench.

On paper, Munster have the best backline options of any of the 4 provinces imo. If we had forwards with 80% of the potential of those, that could nearly guarantee good quick ball, I believe Munster could be a different animal completely.

Look at his selection of younger players. He's a conservative selector. Being beaten by same sides over and over at semi finals/finals and its same reasons over and over and little done to fix that. If Munster are to get back to winning trophies it needs a change from Van Grann.

Where did Hodnett, the Coombes, Healy, Casey, etc come from?

Any coach capable of getting a team to a S/F is a far cry from being not even a decent coach. Have you someone in mind that should coach Munster, someone who should have been here instead of McGahon, Foley, JvG, Penney, Rassie, etc? Like they all failed failed to get us a trophy and bring through young players.

I'd love to know how you come to actually rate coaches if you really think JvG isn't a decent coach. That's some standard to be setting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,819 ✭✭✭Dubinusa

Lads, VanGrann is not getting the maximum from the talent at his disposal. That's the crux of the problem. The tight 5 is not brilliant, but they are capable. Lads on here have been stating that Kleyn and Wycherly are deserving of call ups!

Munster have issues at center, after DeAllende there is a drop off. Hence, the Coombes/Earls to 13. It's worth remembering that Shane Daly was a 13 at u20 level! He was very good. Now, he's a winger? This is probably part of the problem. Chris Farrell is out and then it's a magic roundabout of outside centers! Why not play Daly there? Or Rory Scannell?

VanGrann should be removed and maybe Larkham given the reins!

I consider a coach to be decent if they are getting the best out of the resources they have at their disposal. Can you really say VanGrann is getting the best out of what Munster have right now?

No he isnt. He is inherently conservative & cautious. If Munster are to get beyond the level they have got repeatedly stuck at in recent years they have to be neither conservative nor cautious. He is a good technical coach obviously from his experience with South Africa but as a head coach he isnt.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,366 ✭✭✭yerrahbah

Seeing as there is a break in games

5 rounds of URC played

Munster have used 41 players

3 players featured in each games, F.Wycherley, JO’D and Loughman

In terms of minutes played

F.Wycherley has 326, PO'M has 320, JO'D has 284, Casey has 282 and G.Coombes has 268

We have scored 20 tries across the 5 games

13 scored by the forwards and 7 by the backs

Cloete is our top try scorer with 3

No yellow or red cards so far

Senior players not yet featured:

Farrell, O’Connor, Salanoa, Flannery, J.French, S.French, Jenkins, Moore and McHenry(on loan at Wasps)

Peter O’Mahony has already played more minutes in this seasons URC than in the entirety of last season’s Pro14.

Same goes for Crowley, Barron, Loughman, Kilcoyne and N.Cronin (Killer and Cronin had last season ruined through injury)

The big issue is the relative lack of game plan against bigger teams. I'd argue we have the same talent ulster or connacht have but we don't seem to have the same kind of performances against for example leinster. As soon as we play a top team it's one up static runners and we get beaten relatively comfortably. Due to that we won't be winning any trophy so is there any harm in trying another coach?