Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Tour de France Stage 8 Oyonnax - Le Grand Bornand

• 03-07-2021 12:51pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭

And so we start into the climbing proper
    kGUxNfZQwvU7Wx74MwhDcJ.jpeg

VWrZFfChjfob8viZmvghqU.jpeg

All going off like a box of cheap fireworks from the start. ISN simultaneously appearing at both ends of the peloton as Woods tries to go off the front and Froome is shat out the back. Woods apparently subsequently crashed, probably at the shock of being up front.

Thomas in big trouble out the back.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Froome going for the record of winning the yellow Jersey and lantern rouge competition

• Registered Users Posts: 1,743 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Roglic off the back too

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

Roglic off the back too

Thomas nearly 3 minutes back on the yellow Jersey group.

Still no break formed

• Registered Users Posts: 821 ✭✭✭Coneygree

Froome going for the record of winning the yellow Jersey and lantern rouge competition

Great to see Cavendish and Froome turning back the clock a decade and rediscovering the form of their youth...

Only seeing 3 UAE lads up front, Hirschi is in the Thomas group.

• Registered Users Posts: 37,482 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I wonder has Kuss got anything, given Roglic situation I could see him have a go at this if he's healthy.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

eagle eye wrote: »
    I wonder has Kuss got anything, given Roglic situation I could see him have a go at this if he's healthy.

Kuss will be minding Vingegaard and Van Aert

retalivity wrote:
    Kuss will be minding Vingegaard and Van Aert

Minding them for what?

Kuss was due to be a key mountain domestique for Roglic, presumably he'll now be the same for Van Aert and/or Vingegaard as they are now the highest JV riders on GC, and Kuss himself is well down.

retalivity wrote:
    Kuss was due to be a key mountain domestique for Roglic, presumably he'll now be the same for Van Aert and/or Vingegaard as they are now the highest JV riders on GC, and Kuss himself is well down.

They have no hope of GC honours. Winning stages is their best hope now I think.

Vindegaard has a fine chance of a podium or at least top 5.

The way this tour has played out so far this could be anyones race.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,107 ✭✭✭mr spuckler

Just switched on, was expecting limited action until the last 50km!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,729 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Lots of GC Favourites relegated to also runs at this point, with such a weak UAE team Pog is not going to have it all his own way, the other teams will just try and create chaos each day, should make for an exciting race, I hope!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,144 ✭✭✭✭Dodge

I think for GC we’re down to Pogacar, Uran and Carapaz already.

Unless someone like WVA or Alaphilipe can escape

Pogacar is still the favourite but that team is definitely an issue now that he isn’t being dragged up the mountains by Jumbo. Ineos have to attack. I really do think it’s all set up for a cracker

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Brian Smith struggling to hide his dislike of Pogacar.

Roglic being able to smile his way through all this is nothing short of incredible. What a guy, I'd love to see him win the Olympics.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,247 ✭✭✭Melodeon

Anyone know anything about this?:
    557451.jpeg

^The lorry has been cleared now

Valverde drops back from the lead group, Movistar planning some suicidal tactics maybe.
    A wicklow man puling the lead group in fine wicklow weather

EDIT: No, Valverde is just cold. Its 20 degrees ffs!

retalivity wrote: »

EDIT: No, Valverde is just cold. Its 20 degrees ffs!

There’s no way it’s actually 20 degrees there. There’s loads of them with the warmers on

• Registered Users Posts: 3,116 ✭✭✭bazermc

That girl in the swift advert is absolutely gorgeous

• Registered Users Posts: 14,276 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

MVDP, WVA, Nibali, Uran all dropped

And now it’s the Pog show. Only Carapaz can get close in the mountains

• Registered Users Posts: 1,952 ✭✭✭funnights74

And he goes, different class. Long way to the finish though.

What a legend, such a breath of fresh air to the Tour

Ridiculous, he's put about a minute into the 'peloton' already

• Registered Users Posts: 675 ✭✭✭ILIKEFOOD

The faces formelo was pulling is worth a mention..

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭REBELSAFC

retalivity wrote: »
    ^The lorry has been cleared now

Joe the osteopath is a seriously talented osteopath if he managed to clear that blockage