Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Benefits of being a Garda

Mimon wrote: »
    Have you? Is it a requirement to have an opinion here?

To have an accurate one it is. Otherwise how do you know?

The omerta that people refer to doesn't exist. There's loyalty and having your colleagues back but it's not like the mob.

As for McCabe, I would say myself and doh know far more than you on that subject

Advise number one for a new recruit, don't be stupid enough to continuously get into a car with a drunk driver.

Number two, develope thick skin. There's a lot of experts out there. They have no training or experience but they know how you should do your job.

Three, it's a career not a life. Have a life as well.

Four, understand that you will be blamed for managements mistakes

Five, the higher up the ladder, the less likely it is they got there on merit.

Six, you will get a complaint over a minor thing but rarely get thanks for the major stuff.

Seven, despite all the above, it can be a good career if you are realistic. Expecting courses and specialist assignments quickly, is not realistic

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Eire392

Eight: speak to your sergeant about that file you're thinking about at night. It is not as big of a deal as it seems.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭whomadewho

hi all, have been sifting through the pages of forums here as i am hoping to go for a career with the Guards, hopefully a new recruitment drive isnt to far away in the horizon.
    im just wondering, what are some benefits of being a Garda? aside from the known, competitive wage and state pension, is their any other really good benefits? apart from skipping the que in coppers at the weekend

Job security
    Pensionable
    Very good wage after a few years, I know Garda that earn over 80 grand with overtime.
    You only have to do 30 years service, if you start at 20 you are out by 50, very few professions like that.
    Good Holidays.
    Good sick leave.
    You can get loans of the Garda credit union.
    Access to Westmanstown gym, golf etc.
    Very good benifits if you can handle the job.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,282 ✭✭✭Dohvolle

whomadewho wrote: »
    Job security
    Pensionable
    Very good wage after a few years, I know Garda that earn over 80 grand with overtime.
    You only have to do 30 years service, if you start at 20 you are out by 50, very few professions like that.
    Good Holidays.
    Good sick leave.

Not actually correct there.
    Pension is since 1995, something you find through your own wages. You also have to pay an extra levy because you are a PS worker.
    Overtime is rare, it is also very heavily taxed.
    You have to do 30 years service or retire at 57, comes last. I.E if you join at 30, you must retire at 57, unless you have been promoted to higher rank in between. That means you have a smaller pension than those who did the full 30 years. If you join at 20 you will still have to wait until you are 57 to retire. If you go before then you won't get pension until you reach 57. Because at 57 you are getting a pension, if you decide to get another job, you are heavily taxed because your earnings include your garda pension.
    Leave...Take holidays when you don't have to go to court, almost impossible if you are active.
    Sick leave no different to the rest of the Public sector. You have to be sick first. More commonly you are off because of the job, either injury or stress related illness.
    Anyone who is a member can get loans from the Garda Credit union. It is no different to any other credit union, apart from the fact, because of it's membership, it is one of the largest in the country. You still have to pay back the loan. Without it, most young gardai would be homeless and starving. (Note: You can be dismissed from the force for being declared in debt, i.e if you default on a finance payment).
    Westmanstown? Thats **** all use to you when you are stationed in Glenties, Clifden or Sneem.

Dohvolle wrote: »
    Pension is since 1995, something you find through your own wages. You also have to pay an extra levy because you are a PS worker.
    You have to do 30 years service or retire at 57, comes last. I.E if you join at 30, you must retire at 57, unless you have been promoted to higher rank in between. That means you have a smaller pension than those who did the full 30 years. If you join at 20 you will still have to wait until you are 57 to retire. If you go before then you won't get pension until you reach 57. Because at 57 you are getting a pension, if you decide to get another job, you are heavily taxed because your earnings include your garda pension.
    Leave...Take holidays when you don't have to go to court, almost impossible if you are active.
    Sick leave no different to the rest of the Public sector. You have to be sick first. More commonly you are off because of the job, either injury or stress related illness.
    Anyone who is a member can get loans from the Garda Credit union. It is no different to any other credit union, apart from the fact, because of it's membership, it is one of the largest in the country. You still have to pay back the loan. Without it, most young gardai would be homeless and starving. (Note: You can be dismissed from the force for being declared in debt, i.e if you default on a finance payment).
    Westmanstown? Thats **** all use to you when you are stationed in Glenties, Clifden or Sneem.

To be honest, and don't take this to be an insult, you make the whole thing sound fairly grim.

Is the job not something you would recommend? Having to take out a loan from the credit union to avoid being a homeless Garda sounds fairly extreme?

Zux wrote: »
    To be honest, and don't take this to be an insult, you make the whole thing sound fairly grim.

Is the job not something you would recommend? Having to take out a loan from the credit union to avoid being a homeless Garda sounds fairly extreme?

The poster is hust being realistic. Its a job with a salary and like most ordinary workers, you will face financial hardships along the way and be in debt at various stages. The above, "Garda on over 80k" is not the norm. That person is at the top of the payscale for Garda rank and working more than the odd extra hour. They are probable working more than they are even supposed to. I have topped 80K once, it aged me and had a visible effect.

No one is trying to scare you from applying, just balancing the incorrect assumptions made by those that arent actually Gardai. As said, the credit union is no different than any other. The pension is not the golden one that people believe it is. The 30 years and gone at 50 is long long over. Anyone joining after 1995 is not on the number that you see mentioned. Thats 26 years ago so sweet FA are.

Eire392 wrote: »
    Eight: speak to your sergeant about that file you're thinking about at night. It is not as big of a deal as it seems.

Good shout.

Zux wrote: »

Honestly, No.
    The chances of a young newly trained garda being stationed in Dublin are very high. If you are not from Dublin originally, and have no relatives there, and you need to rent, you'll need to foot a deposit up front. There used to be rent allowance, they got rid of it under FEMPI. You can't houseshare, because of the nature of your job (unless you are able to share with other gardai). Never mind Dublin, the chance of you being sent somewhere where you know nobody are very high. My first station, I shared a room with a classmate on an opposite shift to me, at the parents home of a classmate who was stationed elsewhere. After the first week, we were getting not too subtle hints to find something more permanent.
    €1200/month in a 1 bed apt in Newcastle/Rathcoole for example. Where are you going to get that when you have been on just €184 per week? That's where CU come in. (and don't expect to get your deposit back at the end either, fur a multitude of reasons).
    You will need a car of course to get to work. (Public transport becomes impractical for the hours you work), CU are there too to help you buy, insure and tax the car (insurance will be heavily loaded because of your age and where your job forces you to live, and the tax will be high because it'll probably be something older and less CO2 efficient)
    Don't get me wrong, by the time you pass out and finish probation you'll be earning 30 grand a year and more, plus expenses, into the lámh. The startoff loans will be well paid off. (unless you decide to go on holidays, or change the car etc)
    But the CU is a vital support starting out. AGS is lucky to have 2. I'm still with one of them, long after I left the job, bought my last car thanks to them.

• Registered Users Posts: 174 ✭✭Marty1476

is rent allowance defo gone?? i thought it was brought back a few years ago

also just wondering, does your car insurance go up or down if you state your occupation as a Guard

Job security

Provided you dont screw up, this is true. People can and do get sacked every single month.

I never see overtime used to justify a statement for any other occupation. Divide the pay by the hours needed to earn it and the events missed, then comment on pay.
    Pensionable

As are all public sector jobs and most private companies will also offer a scheme. Its not free, we pay into it. 10% between the actual payments and tax. then consider it actually incorportates the state pension that the private sector get on top of their private pension. thats 10400 a year difference in the numbers.

Hasnt been true in 20 years. theres very few serving Gardai that can retire at 50, less that can actually afford to.
    Good Holidays.

How so? 34 days but we work 12 days a year that are national / bank holidays. We get 2 extra days than Joe Soap.
    Good sick leave.

Overall I would agree with this BUT there's private companies that are better. I believe Google has a more generous policy for starters.

and a plumber can access the construction cu or indeed their local community one. No advantage

If you pay a membership fee like all other members of private gyms. Did you think this was free?

Alas, most of what you posted was wrong

Marty1476 wrote: »
    is rent allowance defo gone?? i thought it was brought back a few years ago

also just wondering, does your car insurance go up or down if you state your occupation as a Guard

It was amalgamated into core pay. Something they should do with all the allowances so people could stop exaggerating them.

I have heard both but I believe there is a discount for having an advanced driving course but as I am still waiting for one, I cant be sure.

It was amalgamated into core pay. Something they should do with all the allowances so people could stop exaggerating them.

I have heard both but I believe there is a discount for having an advanced driving course but as I am still waiting for one, I cant be sure.

thanks for that, i have savings set aside so i can afford to live on €184 a week for the duration but just trying to figure out if there are any pitfalls i haven't accounted for such as a higher rate of insurance. ive also been told that you need to fork out €480 off the bat for tracksuit, gee, dress shoes etc.

any other expenses you might know of that joe public about to join wouldnt know about?

thanks for that, i have savings set aside so i can afford to live on €184 a week for the duration but just trying to figure out if there are any pitfalls i haven't accounted for such as a higher rate of insurance. ive also been told that you need to fork out €480 off the bat for tracksuit, gee, dress shoes etc.

any other expenses you might know of that joe public about to join wouldnt know about?

Unfortunately, while not as ancient as Dohville, Im a long time gone from Templemore. At the time, those costs were very real.

You will need savings unless you plan to live light and with your parents at weekends.

After training, I personally dont know how the new lads do it, **** all pay, rent and bills but dont appear bothered with overtime while having a night out when off. Meanwhile dopey here is taking any hours he can get to bring the kids to Eurodisney and not a consolation Shandy in sight!

• Registered Users Posts: 22,231 ✭✭✭✭endacl

ive also been told that you need to fork out €480 off the bat for tracksuit, gee, dress shoes etc.

• Registered Users Posts: 83 ✭✭whomadewho

The op asked for benifits of working in the Guards. What I listed were benifits.

He could get a job in the private sector where.
    You have no job security,
    (I was out of work for 3 years during last recession trying to pay a boom time mortgage. Doing what ever I could to keep the head about water)

Low wages starting off, graduate usually starts on 24 to 28 grand depending on the industry. Which will rise substantially over the next couple of years not unlike the Guards.

May or may not have the option of overtime.
    (No option for overtime in my profession)

A pension may or may not be provided by the company.
    (Mine does now but my previous employer didn't. Only 50% of private companies provide pension provision)

He will have to work until he is at least 68 before he can drawn down the old age pension if a company pension is not provided

You will have to work at least 40 years compared to 30 in the Guards.
    (Obviously people are joing the Guards into their 30 now so they are not retiring at 50 anymore but they can still retire after 30 year services)

20 days is the average holiday in private compared to 30 in the Guards

Long term sick leave on full or half pay is available in the
    Guards where it may not in a private company,
    (If I get a serious illness I will get 1 months full pay from employer. If I canot return to work I will then I have to go down to social and claim illness benifit)

He will have access to the largest credit union in Ireland.

There is a good chance he will do a few years in Dublin when he leaves templemore so he will get the use of westmanstown if he wants.

Every job has pro's and con's.

The op asked for benifits of working in the Guards. What I listed were benifits.

He could get a job in the private sector where.
    You have no job security,
    (I was out of work for 3 years during last recession trying to pay a boom time mortgage. Doing what ever I could to keep the head about water)

Low wages starting off, graduate usually starts on 24 to 28 grand depending on the industry. Which will rise substantially over the next couple of years not unlike the Guards.

May or may not have the option of overtime.
    (No option for overtime in my profession)

A pension may or may not be provided by the company.
    (Mine does now but my previous employer didn't. Only 50% of private companies provide pension provision)

He will have to work until he is at least 68 before he can drawn down the old age pension if a company pension is not provided

You will have to work at least 40 years compared to 30 in the Guards.
    (Obviously people are joing the Guards into their 30 now so they are not retiring at 50 anymore but they can still retire after 30 year services)

20 days is the average holiday in private compared to 30 in the Guards

Long term sick leave on full or half pay is available in the
    Guards where it may not in a private company,
    (If I get a serious illness I will get 1 months full pay from employer. If I canot return to work I will then I have to go down to social and claim illness benifit)

He will have access to the largest credit union in Ireland.

There is a good chance he will do a few years in Dublin when he leaves templemore so he will get the use of westmanstown if he wants.

Every job has pro's and con's.

Keeps swinging, keeps missing

Unfortunately, while not as ancient as Dohville, Im a long time gone from Templemore. At the time, those costs were very real.

You will need savings unless you plan to live light and with your parents at weekends.

After training, I personally dont know how the new lads do it, **** all pay, rent and bills but dont appear bothered with overtime while having a night out when off. Meanwhile dopey here is taking any hours he can get to bring the kids to Eurodisney and not a consolation Shandy in sight!

Why I oughtta...
    Actually, it's true, there are many currently serving who were not yet born when I was in Templemore.
    As a 20something during phase 1 and 3, on what was then £50 per week, my only expense was teas and sandwiches in the canner for the many evenings the dinner on offer didn't appeal to you, a few 7 ups on a thursday night and maybe a take away snuck back to the room after a wednesday after sports. I brought my laundry home (parents house) every weekend, though there were laundry services available (in the female block). I used to drive up (from Cork) on phase 3 and 5.
    I had no bills to pay otherwise, had pretty good savings from my previous jobs in the Aviation sector, managed to take an overseas holiday between phase 1 and 2.
    But again, I was still living in my parents house at this stage.
    Once Ph4 hit, and I was on my own the costs were more of a burden. I was lucky in that I got TT to the border for 2 months which was an all expenses covered overtime sandwich. While there I still had to pay rent in my home station, and expenses didn't cover the commute back home on rest days.

A note on having to buy track suit etc up front on arrival.
    Yes you have to pay out of your own pocket, but when I was there you could pay "on tick". Once you had your debt clear by the end of your first phase there was no issues. Those who had not cleared their tab suffered the consequences. Basically you would not advance to the next stage of training until your bills were paid.
    Back then we paid for parade shoes (By Blackthhorn-fantastic shoes) but had to buy duty shoes (black, leather, stitched toecap-they sold Doc Martins shoes for this purpose.) unless you wanted to work with just one pair of shoes, and spend your spare time polishing them for parade.

In addition we bought runners by Asics, college tracksuit, and college sports gear, swimsuit , swim hat and goggles. Later on a Karate/judo suit was also required. All the above were provided at a very reasonable rate. The Doc Shoes only cost £20 a pair at a time when you would pay double that in the shop. You could buy Blackthorn shoes for £30, the same shoe retailed for 65 -80 at the time.
    I'd suggest since then H&S would have demanded that footwear for the job are provided as part of the uniform/ppe.

Breakfast, dinner and evening meal were provided (not free as such, you paid for it from your living expense of £90 per week, which you only got on phase 2, as it was automatically deducted on phase 1 and 3.

As far as job security, 101 of us started, of which less than half are still serving. We were down to 85 by the time phase 4 started, just over a year later. If you got seriously injured (broken ankle or other injury that meant you needed crutches) you couldn't attend training and everything paused until you were passed fit by the Chief Surgeon in Garda HQ. If you failed exams you went back 3 months. Fail them or any module again (including physical fitness test), and you are out.
    The first 3 years saw most departures, either by choice or by decision of the Chief Super in the college.

Why I oughtta...
    Actually, it's true, there are many currently serving who were not yet born when I was in Templemore.
    As a 20something during phase 1 and 3, on what was then £50 per week, my only expense was teas and sandwiches in the canner for the many evenings the dinner on offer didn't appeal to you, a few 7 ups on a thursday night and maybe a take away snuck back to the room after a wednesday after sports. I brought my laundry home (parents house) every weekend, though there were laundry services available (in the female block). I used to drive up (from Cork) on phase 3 and 5.
    I had no bills to pay otherwise, had pretty good savings from my previous jobs in the Aviation sector, managed to take an overseas holiday between phase 1 and 2.
    But again, I was still living in my parents house at this stage.
    Once Ph4 hit, and I was on my own the costs were more of a burden. I was lucky in that I got TT to the border for 2 months which was an all expenses covered overtime sandwich. While there I still had to pay rent in my home station, and expenses didn't cover the commute back home on rest days.

A note on having to buy track suit etc up front on arrival.
    Yes you have to pay out of your own pocket, but when I was there you could pay "on tick". Once you had your debt clear by the end of your first phase there was no issues. Those who had not cleared their tab suffered the consequences. Basically you would not advance to the next stage of training until your bills were paid.
    Back then we paid for parade shoes (By Blackthhorn-fantastic shoes) but had to buy duty shoes (black, leather, stitched toecap-they sold Doc Martins shoes for this purpose.) unless you wanted to work with just one pair of shoes, and spend your spare time polishing them for parade.

In addition we bought runners by Asics, college tracksuit, and college sports gear, swimsuit , swim hat and goggles. Later on a Karate/judo suit was also required. All the above were provided at a very reasonable rate. The Doc Shoes only cost £20 a pair at a time when you would pay double that in the shop. You could buy Blackthorn shoes for £30, the same shoe retailed for 65 -80 at the time.
    I'd suggest since then H&S would have demanded that footwear for the job are provided as part of the uniform/ppe.

Breakfast, dinner and evening meal were provided (not free as such, you paid for it from your living expense of £90 per week, which you only got on phase 2, as it was automatically deducted on phase 1 and 3.

As far as job security, 101 of us started, of which less than half are still serving. We were down to 85 by the time phase 4 started, just over a year later. If you got seriously injured (broken ankle or other injury that meant you needed crutches) you couldn't attend training and everything paused until you were passed fit by the Chief Surgeon in Garda HQ. If you failed exams you went back 3 months. Fail them or any module again (including physical fitness test), and you are out.
    The first 3 years saw most departures, either by choice or by decision of the Chief Super in the college.

Good auld phase 2. Theres talk of bringing it back. Considering not a single person I know is against the idea, they wont

Quick note on sick pay.
    If you are injured on duty, you will be paid for a certain period, then it will be reduced as time goes by. Which is good, but is as it should be, if injured on duty.

Normal sick leave, should you get a serious illness, or injured outside of work, then you go on the social welfare sick system. Which kicks in after 3 days sick.

• Registered Users Posts: 683 ✭✭✭TallGlass2

I went from seeing Garda cars with blue lights/sirens blazing by going I would love to be doing that, too seeing Garda cars with blue lights/sirens blazing by going thank god that is not me doing that anymore.

That said if you think its for you go for it, trust me I went to the ends of the earth to get in, there was no talking to me otherwise.

My only advise is that, if you do not like it call it a day or you'll suffer on and end up miserable and part of the furniture and worst of all not giving victims of crime the correct attention they need, if you like it great happy days.

You will be putting other avenues of your career on hold, so I would have a backup plan/career to fall back on if you decide to leave.

Good auld phase 2. Theres talk of bringing it back. Considering not a single person I know is against the idea, they wont

Phase two is back since covid. Spot the newbies in their little blue epaulettes

No, that's just a disgrace. Pushed out with **** all training and guidance

Yup. Not sure what training they got but very little.

At the moment it’s three weeks online, one week in Templemore and 12 weeks in a station, after that it’s 16 weeks back to Tipp and fully attested with a BA in applied policing studies from UL

Certainly not how I want it done but beggars can’t be choosers

• Registered Users Posts: 14,426 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

You don't get the BA until the end of your probation.

Witcher wrote: »
    You don't get the BA until the end of your probation.

How long is probation under the new structure? I honestly don’t know

At the moment it’s three weeks online, one week in Templemore and 12 weeks in a station, after that it’s 16 weeks back to Tipp and fully attested with a BA in applied policing studies from UL

Certainly not how I want it done but beggars can’t be choosers

That's woeful.
    We did 22 weeks in college phase 1, 14 weeks in college phase 3, and 6 weeks in college on phase 5.
    Probation didn't start until the end of phase 3, and ran for 2 years after that. You only got the diploma if you wanted it. It carried credits in some IPA exam for those who wanted to go on and be management...

• Registered Users Posts: 96 ✭✭cluedo123

How long is probation under the new structure? I honestly don’t know

The standard is 2 years from the date of your attestation.

That's woeful.
    We did 22 weeks in college phase 1, 14 weeks in college phase 3, and 6 weeks in college on phase 5.
    Probation didn't start until the end of phase 3, and ran for 2 years after that. You only got the diploma if you wanted it. It carried credits in some IPA exam for those who wanted to go on and be management...

Absolutely agree with you! It’s not how I’d like to join the force but my hands are tied with the current structure. I’m more fortunate than other so I hope to be able to hold my water

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,458 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

Post 2012 entrants have to work until 55 now to avail of the full pension, even if they've done 30 years service. You can also work until 60, Commissioner ranks can stay until 65 on authorisation. If you join at 30 you can still get your full pension. It's looking like 65 will be rolled out across the ranks in the years ahead - naturally voluntarily for those already in the job. I can see the minimum retirement age being increased in the years ahead for new entrants ...

Which flies in the face of the recommendations of the various enquiries over the last decade. It's actually mind-boggling what they've done to training.