If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

Correct.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,639 ✭✭✭votecounts

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    Ask yourself that question if it ever happens to you and your kids..

Are you actually proposing bringing a sick child on a flight to infect others who may have not vaccinated. This is a few times this week, I've seen people admit thy would do this. Seriously if you can't afford that this may happen when abroad, don't take the risk ffs

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Threads merged

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

Correct.

Something else confused me, this probably sounds silly but Does somebody flying here need to book their flights with the 14 day or 5 day isolation period in mind or is it a given they’ll be doing it .
    Say they wanted to visit here for a week but with the isolation it extends the trip automatically so you book the flight from day one of the trip and return flight is booked for 12 days later if they are doing a 5 day self isolation!?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Ok. So neg pcr test and self isolation not hotel quarantine?

Provided they haven’t been elsewhere in the preceding 14 days in which case they have to satisfy the more onerous obligation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

Something else confused me, this probably sounds silly but Does somebody flying here need to book their flights with the 14 day or 5 day isolation period in mind or is it a given they’ll be doing it .
    Say they wanted to visit here for a week but with the isolation it extends the trip automatically so you book the flight from day one of the trip and return flight is booked for 12 days later if they are doing a 5 day self isolation!?

I dont understand the question. There is no "automatic extension" functionality on any website. Just book them like you normally do for as long as you want.

Dublin airport dont care once you have a test on arrival or a green cert or are not from an MHQ destination.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

If you get a positive PCR result at the airport in Greece you wont be let on the plane. I dont understand why people are talking about this hypothetical child testing positive. Theres no way to bring them into ireland with a positive test.

All my family have been positive. None needed to go anywhere except sit tight.

What's your point?

votecounts wrote: »
    Are you actually proposing bringing a sick child on a flight to infect others who may have not vaccinated. This is a few times this week, I've seen people admit thy would do this. Seriously if you can't afford that this may happen when abroad, don't take the risk ffs

You are talking about a user who also suggests people don't wear masks unless you see the police

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    I dont understand the question. There is no "automatic extension" functionality on any website. Just book them like you normally do for as long as you want.

Dublin airport dont care once you have a test on arrival or a green cert or are not from an MHQ destination.

Sorry my question is this
    I have family booked to come here in two weeks from UK - they don’t have enough days booked to do self isolation because they the flights booked are from last year . So they arrive Friday and due to fly home on Sunday .
    Will immigration look at the return flight and refuse them entry because technically they aren’t here long enough to isolate ?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

I have family booked to come here in two weeks from UK - they don’t have enough days booked to do self isolation because they the flights booked are from last year . So they arrive Friday and due to fly home on Sunday .
    Will immigration look at the return flight and refuse them entry because technically they aren’t here long enough to isolate ?

No, they won't be refused entry but given the prevalence of the Indian strain in the UK, ignoring the requirement to isolate is not welcome. Its also illegal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭JojoLoca

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭I see sheep

faceman wrote: »
    No, they won't be refused entry but given the prevalence of the Indian strain in the UK, ignoring the requirement to isolate is not welcome. Its also illegal.

The 'Indian Strain' story is a load of scaremongering bolocks imo.
    England had 0 covid deaths recorded yesterday.
    Not a typo, I mean ZERO. Out of 56 million people.
    And this variant has been around for months.

"a terrible war imposed by the provisional IRA"

Our West Brit Taoiseach

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Rosereynolds

JojoLoca wrote: »

Fair play to them for bringing the case to court, hopefully the law is found defective and scrapped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭naufragos123

Fair play to them for bringing the case to court, hopefully the law is found defective and scrapped.

Hopefully that god damned law will be history this time tomorrow. Utter lunacy if extended!

The 'Indian Strain' story is a load of scaremongering bolocks imo.
    England had 0 covid deaths recorded yesterday.
    Not a typo, I mean ZERO. Out of 56 million people.
    And this variant has been around for months.

Agree with you there . Everyone’s theory is different but for us in our situation I feel like my family should be able to come to us . The house they are staying in (ours ) we’re all vaccinated . We won’t actually be leaving the house for the weekend and for travelling they will both have their negative pcr tests ... I don’t know what will happen tbh , i feel like immigration will probably notice the return dates don’t add up to them being here long enough To self isolate and tell them to go back home !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,991 ✭✭✭✭Marcusm

Agree with you there . Everyone’s theory is different but for us in our situation I feel like my family should be able to come to us . The house they are staying in (ours ) we’re all vaccinated . We won’t actually be leaving the house for the weekend and for travelling they will both have their negative pcr tests ... I don’t know what will happen tbh , i feel like immigration will probably notice the return dates don’t add up to them being here long enough To self isolate and tell them to go back home !

How will they see the return dates exactly?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

I don’t know what will happen tbh , i feel like immigration will probably notice the return dates don’t add up to them being here long enough To self isolate and tell them to go back home !

Nothing will happen. My daughter arrived last Friday and left Sunday. No issue. Immigration dont look at return tickets etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,926 ✭✭✭brickster69

faceman wrote: »

The only reason it is prevalent is because nearly 10 million tests per week are being done along with extensive genome sequencing. This is the main requirement now for the red / amber travel list data so it will be interesting which countries go onto the UK's red list in a couple of days time.

“Wars begin when you want them to, but they don’t end when you ask them to.”- Niccolò Machiavelli

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

No, you are allowed to leave your isolation to return to your home country.
    This has always been the case.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,349 ✭✭✭✭Foxtrol

M_Murphy57 wrote: »
    If you get a positive PCR result at the airport in Greece you wont be let on the plane. I dont understand why people are talking about this hypothetical child testing positive. Theres no way to bring them into ireland with a positive test.

What it does prove is that requiring kids to do tests is necessary, as some parents appear to have no problem bringing infected kids on planes without a care about potential damage.

It would be pretty reckless to not do what they can to stop this from occurring.

JojoLoca wrote: »

Unlikely to succeed based on the arguments they put forward. Lack of language skills had been used thousands of times and rarely wins.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17 northcider85

Hopefully that god damned law will be history this time tomorrow. Utter lunacy if extended!

What's happening tomorrow? Is there a decision due on the fines?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

What's happening tomorrow? Is there a decision due on the fines?

Yes, it expires either midnight tonight or midnight tomorrow

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 11,225 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Yes, it expires either midnight tonight or midnight tomorrow

And it will probably be extended sneakily again.

No offence,but they wouldn't be let into France or Germany
    They won't be isolating for the weekend
    Please tell them to put it off untill August sometime
    Its trips like that what will put us back reopening

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

To the best of my knowledge it cant currently be extended beyond June 9th. Then when the vote in the Dail takes place tomorrow to extend use of all Covid 19 laws until November 9th it can be extended to whenever then. As things stand all Covid laws expire on June 9th but that will be extended with a Dail vote tomorrow.

So realistically it either gets extended in the next 48 hours or it's done and dusted.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 173 ✭✭beaz2018

Lads. Belfast or Dublin to Majorca in August?. Which is likely to be easier? Won’t be vaccinated. Belfast flights are dirt cheap but I’m worried there will be more flow between EU states than between Eu and Uk when this cert is up and running. The first sign of some proxy variant in the UK and all of a sudden the Uk will be closed off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,222 ✭✭✭Valhallapt

beaz2018 wrote: »
    Lads. Belfast or Dublin to Majorca in August?. Which is likely to be easier? Won’t be vaccinated. Belfast flights are dirt cheap but I’m worried there will be more flow between EU states than between Eu and Uk when this cert is up and running. The first sign of some proxy variant in the UK and all of a sudden the Uk will be closed off.

Dublin. By august there should be very little restrictions in place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

I’ve been snowed under with work and did a travel news omnibus today.

I’m completely shocked with this article though.

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/how-new-covid-test-requirements-for-children-will-add-hundreds-of-euro-to-the-cost-of-your-holiday-40489717.html

Take this scenario. Two parents are vaccinated. Kids 9 and 11 years old. So it’s nearly €200 quid per child for a pcr upon return to home country . Ok fine , painful but fine.. Build that into the trip cost.

BUT , what happens if little Johnny or Sarah (or both) test positive. ???? What happens in this case? Maybe one of the vaccinated parents remains on for weeks and weeks until the kid(s) clear a negative result . Does the other vaccinated parent have the option to travel back on a plane WITHOUT a test even though they’re likely infected (albeit with vaccine) . ???

This is incredibly poorly thought out. It renders international travel practically off the cards for anyone travelling with kids and from a covid infection reduction and containment focus it has more holes than a sieve.