If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,259 ✭✭✭TomSweeney

Skippette wrote: »
    He's come back on twitter and clarified that HSE tests cannot be used for the Digital Green cert

Of course not ! there's no $$$$$ to be made then.

scam

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 248 ✭✭freida

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

freida wrote: »

Or in the case of Ireland - join in the coming months.

eu_digital_covid_certificate_map_20210601.png

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,794 ✭✭✭KungPao

Any hope for South America, flying in to São Paulo for end of the year/Jan 2022? 2 adults, vaccinated fully. They are still in the proverbial ****ter I know, but surely by then travel should be possible?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,059 ✭✭✭✭josip

namloc1980 wrote: »
    Or in the case of Ireland - join in the coming months.

Where did you get that map namloc?

Hungary - long term xenophobic, no surprise
    Ireland - recently xenophobic, hopefully just a blip
    Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland - What's going on and do you really want to be associated with Hungary and Ireland?

Not in any way having a go at you because I sympathise with everybody curtailed by that stupid fine and my ire is firmly aimed at Govt. However, another problem with it as typified by this is its discriminatory nature. Irish passport holders can't claim to be going home.

But I do hope you get going without hassle. Another poster said they won't travel if the fine is extended so that will be another family whose lengthy separation continues. But does that idiot Donnelly care! :mad:

Irish passport holders live all over the world, of course they can go home!!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

ahbell wrote: »
    Does anyone know, or even has a guess, how the EU Travel Green Cert will work for an Irish citizen who has been vaccinated in the UK with an EU approved vaccine?

I've seen clips of the NHS app that will have all you need on it, I'm sure that would be sufficient if traveling from Ireland. But again wtf knows at this stage its boggling!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 115 ✭✭naufragos123

bubblypop wrote: »

Right. Let's try that one so and see how we get on! :rolleyes:

I think you know full well what I meant in that post. Any other passport holder will have a far easier time leaving this state simply saying they're off home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,684 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

"Yea howya Gard, just returning to me Gaf in Santorini, see yis later yea"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 277 ✭✭ahbell

pc7 wrote: »
    I've seen clips of the NHS app that will have all you need on it, I'm sure that would be sufficient if traveling from Ireland. But again wtf knows at this stage its boggling!

Yeah I have my covid vaccination QR code on the NHS App alright, but can just imagine it causing issues when I turn up somewhere with an Irish passport on a flight from Dublin and a UK/non-EU vaccine cert. The mind boggles alright!

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 14,345 Mod ✭✭✭✭pc7

Yeah I have my covid vaccination QR code on the NHS App alright,

Yeah nothing simple at minute, from what I've seen of the app its pretty impressive

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36 Rosereynolds

josip wrote: »

Slovenia, Slovakia and Finland - What's going on and do you really want to be associated with Hungary and Ireland?

I think it is just a blip. We’ll always have racists and xenophobes in this country, but I honestly don’t believe that the majority of Irish people haven’t looked at the hardships the Irish state has put on families with relatives in another state, they are just going along with the scariant headlines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 522 ✭✭✭Mark1916

Does anyone know, or even has a guess, how the EU Travel Green Cert will work for an Irish citizen who has been vaccinated in the UK with an EU approved vaccine?

I asked this question of Thomas Byrne TD if Irish citizens who got a vaccine in the North would be entitled to use the Vaccine Passport, he said “it is currently being considered but no decision has been made yet”

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 northy_north

I'm booked to fly home to Ireland for a week in early August from the UK. I'm getting second jabbed soon. Any idea of what measures/restrictions will be in place, or when such measures are next up for renewal?

Most lads I know going home at the mo do so through the North but I'd rather be up-front about it, if possible. Haven't been home or seen my parents in nearly two years! Cheers guys.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,668 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

https://ec.europa.eu/info/live-work-travel-eu/coronavirus-response/safe-covid-19-vaccines-europeans/eu-digital-covid-certificate_en

Scroll down towards the bottom.

Tenzor07 wrote: »
    From the article in this morning Indo it seems that the PCR requirement is to remain in Ireland, so if you have 3 kids and returning here from holidays then you need 3 x Negative PCR's..

Though I wonder what happens if the 3 kids are all positive and the 2 vaccinated parents with them are all marched off by the Irish army to a hotel for 2 weeks?

I assume you would have done the tests before coming into Ireland, so then you would be staying wherever you are holidaying until kids are better?

I know Finland do not allow non essential travel into the country, so probably just take more time to stop that first

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 725 ✭✭✭M_Murphy57

I'm booked to fly home to Ireland for a week in early August from the UK. I'm getting second jabbed soon. Any idea of what measures/restrictions will be in place, or when such measures are next up for renewal?

Most lads I know going home at the mo do so through the North but I'd rather be up-front about it, if possible. Haven't been home or seen my parents in nearly two years! Cheers guys.

By then you should be able to get I'm with the uk version of green cert. Cta might even be open by then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 689 ✭✭✭rm212

There seems to be contradictory information all over the place so it’s hard to get a solid answer.

We’ve got a holiday to the Canary Islands for >2 weeks booked departing Aug 26th. I’m due to get my second dose this month so I’ll be grand, it’s my partner (aged 25) who we are worried about. Ideally, they would have been vaccinated by the end of June, second dose before the end of July and then you’re sorted, but it looks like that target may be delayed, we shall see.

If the vaccine programme target is missed, does it seem that Spain will be accepting antigen tests on arrival? I’m hoping that the second dose will come before we leave and then it will have been 14 days by the time we’re returning to Ireland, so it’s just the outbound leg to Spain I’m concerned about.

I assume you would have done the tests before coming into Ireland, so then you would be staying wherever you are holidaying until kids are better?

Dunno, i'd imagine that if you get the email with the test results as you due to board that you'd want to bring your Children to their own Doctor and local hospital rather than go looking for a Greek clinic or something..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,211 ✭✭✭stargazer 68

Dunno, i'd imagine that if you get the email with the test results as you due to board that you'd want to bring your Children to their own Doctor and local hospital rather than go looking for a Greek clinic or something..

Why would you go to a Doctor or Hospital? You have a positive test result you don't go anywhere whether its Ireland or Greece!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 401 ✭✭ellee

This is why you need those EHIC cards....

Why would you go to a Doctor or Hospital? You have a positive test result you don't go anywhere whether its Ireland or Greece!

Ask yourself that question if it ever happens to you and your kids..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 northy_north

ellee wrote: »
    This is why you need those EHIC cards....

I think it's always worth getting travel insurance.

EHIC only entitles you to
    "With your EHIC you can get healthcare - and claim reimbursement for the costs you incur - on the same terms as nationals of the country you are in. If the treatment you need is free for local residents, you won't have to pay."

But you won't be bringing your positive children on a flight surely!

You've answered your own question then, every family should have another couple of thousand €uro to quarantine their kids in whichever country they are holidaying in.

You've answered your own question then.

??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

So does the fact somebody might have a different counties passport than the country they live in make a difference with immigration here ?
    Say , somebody with a Romanian passport flying from the uk with a uk negative pcr test ... what happens there ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

Nothing. They are allowed enter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 441 ✭✭Ms.Sunshine

Nothing. They are allowed enter.

Ok. So neg pcr test and self isolation not hotel quarantine?