Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boy racers...

• 23-05-2021 7:41pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,102 ✭✭✭

Whats the craic with these now? Seems to be around Town/Salthill these past few Sundays, Salthill was jammed with them today, some were hanging out the passenger windows & through sun roofs, its all over Twitter, actually Salthill was trending on Twitter over this.

• Registered Users Posts: 39 Wiggywiggle

Can’t see how there breaking any laws apart from adding to the traffic. They’ve paid tax and insurance, as much right to use the roads and car parks as the dry robes

• Registered Users Posts: 510 ✭✭✭Frozen Veg

Alot of laws being broken. Cars being revved, skids on the road etc.

Pity it's happening in Salthill this time of year.

Could they not go to Glenamaddy.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,647 ✭✭✭✭punisher5112

To be honest they could definitely be doing worse....

The past year has been insane.

Restrictions after more restrictive measure.... People are fed up, I like anything with an engine myself and can understand somewhat.

Yes of course some are absolutely mad and complete tools but find they're using their time better then thieving scum and junkies etc ...

To be honest they could definitely be doing worse....

The past year has been insane.

Restrictions after more restrictive measure.... People are fed up, I like anything with an engine myself and can understand somewhat.

Yes of course some are absolutely mad and complete tools but find they're using their time better then thieving scum and junkies etc ...

Exactly, young lads spending there money into things they’re clearly passionate about is to be applauded. The gardai should be out directing traffic and encouraging young people to be interested in this sort of thing. Yea there is some tools. They show up to the ploughing championship aswell

• Registered Users Posts: 1,084 ✭✭✭SqueakyKneecap

Wouldn't be a fan of the lads hanging out the windows/revving engines but aside from that they're no more dangerous than the usual yuppie BMW 5 Series drivers that swing their doors wide open to oncoming traffic.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭French Toast

Look up "Salthill Sundays" on social media. A weekly drive around to meet similar heads and take photos. Based on something similar which happens way up North in Portrush.

While lads shouldn't be standing up in sunroofs or hanging out windows, it's relatively harmless. Organisers had a group cleaning up the black box carpark this evening, so it seems they are largely decent sort who want this to continue.

• Registered Users Posts: 539 ✭✭✭bertsmom

After the year that's been I don't think its any harm. Tax and insured and spending their money on their cars is pretty much the extent of it.
    I don't think Salthill is just for families with kids or walkers or the dry robe gang etc I think its for everyone be they noisy boy racers or GAA fans etc
    Galway traffic is always terrible anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 26 dundrum23

I was in Galway and the noise from them was unbelievable, really disturbing. They tore up and down local roads, dangerous. They blocked up the prom road completely, 1000 cars was the word out. Insane revving and fumes. They looked barely 16 or 17 years old and all were drinking beer in the cars. Children were intimidated and families left. Buses and elderly people were stuck for an hour trying to get from A to B. They’re planning it for every weekend over the summer in Salthill. Local businesses are raging as their paying customers were driven away by it, so I heard. Yeah it’s not nice for hard working locals who want to relax by the sea to have this obnoxious constant noise and fumes, not to mention speeding risks, going on all day. Why can’t they go to Galway airport or somewhere similar and show off and do their beloved doughnuts there? The Council and Gardai are apparently meeting about it in next day or two to prevent recurrence.

dundrum23 wrote: »
    I was in Galway and the noise from them was unbelievable, really disturbing. They tore up and down local roads, dangerous. They blocked up the prom road completely, 1000 cars was the word out. Insane revving and fumes. They looked barely 16 or 17 years old and all were drinking beer in the cars. Children were intimidated and families left. Buses and elderly people were stuck for an hour trying to get from A to B. They’re planning it for every weekend over the summer in Salthill. Local businesses are raging as their paying customers were driven away by it, so I heard. Yeah it’s not nice for hard working locals who want to relax by the sea to have this obnoxious constant noise and fumes, not to mention speeding risks, going on all day. Why can’t they go to Galway airport or somewhere similar and show off and do their beloved doughnuts there? The Council and Gardai are apparently meeting about it in next day or two to prevent recurrence.

How were they speed if traffic was at a standstill?
    How about GCC improve traffic measures to help the flow, cycling, walking etc (works in other cities)
    Pubs are closed, are you against the on street drinkin on Dominic street?
    Is the sea only for local people now?
    Local buisness? You mean coffee shops!
    Have you the same complaints when the local gaa team win a match?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭con747

I'm fairly sure if they are hanging out windows and sunroofs they would not be wearing a certain legal requirement "seatbelts" so are breaking the law.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

I don't think any one group has the right to the prom. If it was blocked up by traffic it can ge blocked up by GAA fans on match days, concert goers on concert days and families and tourists on sunny days.
    I don't understand why a group of young people in cars are any different to any other group.
    If families went home that was their choice. I'm not a car enthusiast myself, I don't think my Toyota would light up anyone's day but I just don't get why this group are being treated differently to other groups.

con747 wrote: »
    I'm fairly sure if they are hanging out windows and sunroofs they would not be wearing a certain legal requirement "seatbelts" so are breaking the law.

Throw a like on this comment if you’ve never broken the speed limit. People love curtain twitching

• Registered Users Posts: 5,530 ✭✭✭con747

People also hate eejits.

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

They're almost as bad as the men and women(mostly women tbf) blocking up the roads every morning double parking outside schools instead of letting their little darlings walk from a place they can park safely and out of the way, but we live with it just like we can live with a few youngsters in cars once a week, more power to them

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,166 Mod ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Imagine a crowd of petrol heads forced the city council's hand and they went and pedestrianised the prom on Sundays for the rest of the summer...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,750 ✭✭✭LillySV

Spotted them all along the dyke road this eve.. they were getting boisterous before cops turned up ... there was loads powering up along roads too .... my house just off a main road and loads of roaring exhausts , dump valves , and dropping gears /reving etc ... lots acting the ass etc ... but I don’t think I encountered anyone driving overly dangerous in all fairness ... good to see loads out enjoying themselves

bertsmom wrote: »
    After the year that's been I don't think its any harm. Tax and insured and spending their money on their cars is pretty much the extent of it.
    I don't think Salthill is just for families with kids or walkers or the dry robe gang etc I think its for everyone be they noisy boy racers or GAA fans etc
    Galway traffic is always terrible anyway.
    Traffic is normally nothing like it was today and last Sunday due to boy racers. What if someone living along the strip needed an ambulance or fire brigade out?

How were they speed if traffic was at a standstill?
    How about GCC improve traffic measures to help the flow, cycling, walking etc (works in other cities)
    Pubs are closed, are you against the on street drinkin on Dominic street?
    Is the sea only for local people now?
    Local buisness? You mean coffee shops!
    Have you the same complaints when the local gaa team win a match?
    As I said, speeding up side roads

dundrum23 wrote:
    Traffic is normally nothing like it was today and last Sunday due to boy racers. What if someone living along the strip needed an ambulance or fire brigade out?

Nobody can dictate who is allowed to be traffic. If road tax paid and fully insured and legal everyone has a right to be on the road whether your a boy racer or a local pillar of the community.
    I imagine if an ambulance needed to get through it would happen just like in any crowd situation. They have training and lights and sirens.

Traffic is due to the city having bottle necks and no traffic management system. Anyone with uptodate tax and insurance is entitled to drive on the roads

• Registered Users Posts: 8,508 ✭✭✭PsychoPete

Those goddamn street racers again

• Registered Users Posts: 4,461 ✭✭✭Bubbaclaus

What's the story with them putting things like "fanny smashers" across the back window of their **** car?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,913 ✭✭✭✭ben.schlomo

Here's some of the 'legends'. Classy.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,199 ✭✭✭✭extra gravy

They're almost as bad as the men and women(mostly women tbf) blocking up the roads every morning double parking outside schools instead of letting their little darlings walk from a place they can park safely and out of the way, but we live with it just like we can live with a few youngsters in cars once a week, more power to them

When was the last time you saw someone on the school run revving their engines for hours and shouting vulgar abuse out the window at mostly female passersby? Shower of attention seeking idiots is all they are.

Oh really 1000 cars, come off it

• Registered Users Posts: 14,830 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Going by some posts on boards / social media, a lot of the people complaining about the traffic and gridlock in Salthill today was from people who drove to Salthill today. The irony is hilarious.

I mean surely it's fair game who can drive down a public street. Just because you don't like their form of socialising means you can ban it. The boy racers might not like fans driving to GAA games or people driving their dogs across the county for a walk on the prom. Should they kick up a fuss to get those events banned too?

Not that I exactly support the group, but just playing devils advocate here.

Fitz* wrote: »
    Going by some posts on boards / social media, a lot of the people complaining about the traffic and gridlock in Salthill today was from people who drove to Salthill today. The irony is hilarious.

I mean surely it's fair game who can drive down a public street. Just because you don't like their form of socialising means you can ban it. The boy racers might not like fans driving to GAA games or people driving their dogs across the county for a walk on the prom. Should they kick up a fuss to get those events banned too?

Yeah I do find that quite funny, if I drive contribute to traffic...,

As I've said they could well be out murdering, thieving, beating, selling drugs etc etc... Yet they in most cases pay their way,btax, NCT and insure their vehicles...

Yes of course some are gobsheens and could do with growing up, but I'd rather this then the other

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Stihl waters

When was the last time you saw someone on the school run revving their engines for hours and shouting vulgar abuse out the window at mostly female passersby? Shower of attention seeking idiots is all they are.

I'm sure they were harmless enough

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭dockysher

Great bunch of lads

• Registered Users Posts: 357 ✭✭dockysher

I live on the prom, yes noise was annoying but same amount of traffic as any gaa day in pearse stadium and no one says anything. They done no harm to anyone and let them at it