Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Giro D'Italia Stage 9: Castel di Sangro to Campo Felice (158km)

• 16-05-2021 12:11pm
    Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 8,806 Mod ✭✭✭✭

I don't see a stage 9 thread so apologies if I've missed it. Anyway the profile:
    giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-profile-n3-29ab8dd9bc.jpg

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-map-30bafe391c.png

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-finish-e2a1e46d34.png

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-climb-1b88b2b32b.jpg

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-climb-n2-a465b7dbe7.jpg

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-climb-n3-06eb6cfab5.jpg

giro-d-italia-2021-stage-9-climb-n4-36fb0d9f1b.jpg

Hilly day today with uphill finish. Most predicting a GC fight so I'm going to go for Valter to hang on to pink and surprise everyone. Maybe.

Egan Bernal 7/1
    Gino Mader 9/2
    Ruben Guerreiro 11/2
    Bauke Mollema 12/1
    Remco Evenpoel 16/1
    Guilui Ciccone 20/1
    Dan Martin 20/1

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Nasty crash for Mohoric - obviously concussed but team were happy to put him back on the bike. It was Mohoric himself who decided it wasn't a good idea.

Edit: Taken away by ambulance.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,989 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

Awful crash for mohoric, just as bahrain were blowing the race up

Ah here should they be letting him back on the bike? Especially on a descent.

Stretchered away with a collar on. Right call. No way was he fit to get back on a bike.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,732 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

No matter the day, when I switch on there's a bardiani cyclist at the front

• Registered Users Posts: 13,729 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

The final climb is on the white stuff aye?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

Inquitus wrote: »
    The final climb is on the white stuff aye?

Only the last 1600m.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 20,715 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

Only the last 1600m.

That'll do nicely

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 13,300 ✭✭✭✭dastardly00

That is a nice section of tarmac :cool:

It's raining, should make the white stuff more fun, the last km is the steepest part of the day as well!

Bouchard looking good for this, don't think the peloton will reel the whole break in.

Well the gap has tumbled, could be a GC day after all, it's going to be very close.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,032 ✭✭✭✭neris

Gonna be some finish

Sprint finish??

Bernal very impressive!

Inquitus wrote: »
    Bernal very impressive!

Very. Some recovery by Remco though.

they/them/theirs

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 14,682 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dcully

Evenepoel with a great recovery, some performance first few days back racing.
    He is a vastly superior TT rider than Bernal too so it makes it very interesting.
    Dan well in there too

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

Hmm, Evenepoel struggling or DQ don't want the responsibility of the leaders jersey right now? I wonder...

Dan fifth. Great ride

they/them/theirs

velo.2010 wrote: »
    Hmm, Evenepoel struggling or DQ don't want the responsibility of the leaders jersey right now? I wonder...

If they could take pink they would.

He wasn't really struggling, he's a diesel and Bernal is a petrol.

they/them/theirs

Dan up to 8th in the GC

wwo2X12.png

Brilliant from Bernal.

Although Dan didn't gain any time, he is in great form.

Brilliant from Bernal.

Although Dan didn't gain any time, he is in great form.

Looking good for a top 5 I reckon

they/them/theirs

Brian? wrote: »
    Looking good for a top 5 I reckon

Yeah on his current form I think he could be in the top-5, before the TT in the final stage anyway.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,012 ✭✭✭Itziger

Dan seems to have learned how to 'dosificar' his efforts in these last two years. I thought he was losing a few wheels there again today, but no, he finished strong again, like the day he managed to get back to Bernal.

Part of me would love to see Remco win this but you'd have to wonder when they hit the really high stuff.

Some power out of Bernal in the finish. The way he just powered pass the 2 lads like they were stopped

• Registered Users Posts: 4,319 ✭✭✭Daroxtar

Great finish there. Bernal doing to everyone else what MVDP did to him at Strade Bianchi.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,069 ✭✭✭✭fryup

is eurosport available on now TV? or amazon prime?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 14,526 Mod ✭✭✭✭Darkglasses

fryup wrote: »
    is eurosport available on now TV? or amazon prime?

Definitely not on NowTV, not sure about Amazon Prime. You've to either get a subscription for the Eurosport Player or a subscription to GCN Plus. I think GCN's app is much better, but obviously it's only for cycling.