Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Boards in 1939

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

It's May 1939 and I've booked a foreign holiday. Can't wait.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,340 ✭✭✭✭rossie1977

It's May 1939 and I've booked a foreign holiday. Can't wait.

To Poland

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

rossie1977 wrote: »
    To Poland

Where's that?

• Registered Users Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

Minister for finance adds a farthing to the price of a pint. Drinkers outraged.

Muller and Wagner are wondering are we the baddies?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Will Cavsn win Ulster this year as usual? It would be done craic if they played Meath.

In the English soccer I'm tipping Portsmouth, top class team

• Registered Users Posts: 15,630 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Young couples are being edged out if the market.
    Anecdotally we hear of daily commutes from Stillorgan and Raheny!

Hope they're married, not living in sin.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,780 ✭✭✭KungPao

People having inside loos

Oh I say. Imagine defecating indoors. The smell would be most unpleasant. How vile.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,716 ✭✭✭knucklehead6

Britain and France have recognised Franco’s government.

The Catholic Church must be pleased

Ladies! A sneak peek at the future - Nylons! Stronger than silk, tear proof, fabulous legs guaranteed. Don't know about you but I cannot wait.
    Gentlemen, if you want to win a lady's heart be sure to be first in line when this marvellous invention goes on sale next year.

As seen at the grand World's Fair in New York City!!
    (Swooning lady image inserted - taken with the most modern colour photography!!)

http://charlesrhaleproductions.com/2020/01/17/new-yorks-1939-worlds-fair-and-nylon-stockings/#:~:text=Following%20a%20low%20key%20public,stockings%20show%20caused%20a%20sensation!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Rawr

These trams all over Dublin are just annoying. They should be replacing the lot with motorised omnibusses. I think it would work a lot better.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Rawr wrote: »
    These trams all over Dublin are just annoying. They should be replacing the lot with motorised omnibusses. I think it would work a lot better.

Save the Trams!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,063 ✭✭✭wexandproud

isha wrote: »
    Ladies! A sneak peek at the future - Nylons! Stronger than silk, tear proof, fabulous legs guaranteed. Don't know about you but I cannot wait.
    Gentlemen, if you want to win a lady's heart be sure to be first in line when this marvellous invention goes on sale next year.

As seen at the grand World's Fair in New York City!!
    (Swooning lady image inserted - taken with the most modern colour photography!!)

http://charlesrhaleproductions.com/2020/01/17/new-yorks-1939-worlds-fair-and-nylon-stockings/#:~:text=Following%20a%20low%20key%20public,stockings%20show%20caused%20a%20sensation!
    take your pornography elsewhere ya can't be discussing women's stuff in public . Disgusting

• Registered Users Posts: 3,712 ✭✭✭Rawr

sligojoek wrote: »
    Where's that?

Poland? It's that big chunk of land that used to be in Prussia, and then the Bolshes tried to take over a few years ago. I was reading in the Irish Press the other day about that Free Danzig City thing they put in there to promote peace between Poland and Herr Hitler's Germany. Looks like it's working so far...

• Registered Users Posts: 14,229 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

KungPao wrote: »
    Oh I say. Imagine defecating indoors. The smell would be most unpleasant. How vile.
    just reminded me of a blackadder quote
    Mrs. Pants:
    But what about the privies?

Blackadder:
    Um, well, what we are talking about in privy terms is the latest in front wall fresh air orifices combined with a wide capacity gutter installation below.

Mrs. Pants:
    You mean you crap out the window?

Blackadder:
    Yes.

Mrs. Pants:
    Well in that case we'll definitely take it. I can't stand those dirty indoor things.

• Registered Users Posts: 810 ✭✭✭Prefab Sprouter

Danzig. It was the talk of the summer that year.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,432 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Who'd Live in a Tenement Like This?

• Registered Users Posts: 12,235 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

The price of cart wheels has doubled in the last 2 years...where's it going to end!!

• Registered Users Posts: 13,068 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

silverharp wrote: »
    jaysus, the shops are cleaned out of toilet roll, fecken horders

What's toilet roll ?

Another one of the cousins in Birmingham has just gone and joined the British Army and the lucky sod is off to Singapore, some place nice and warm over near China I hear.
    There is another brother a soldier over in Egypt enjoying the sun and he reckons even if there is a war it'll never get near them.

If we join with Hitler to fight the English does that mean I might get to fight the cousins.
    Never liked the feckers. (God forgive me)

They keep rubbing our face in it that they have an indoor privy.

We don't talk that much about them as aunty Mary Kate took up with a protestant.
    Bad enough that he was English.

Fr William my uncle was very upset.
    Funny he doesn't call as much now since we grew up.
    He was always very worried about our impure thoughts.

I've cousins on the other side in America, one is in the Navy and just got a move to a big battleship in Hawaii.

Lucky feckers the lot of them and me at home here dragging the donkey to creamery and chasing the pigs round the haggard.

Now must go and say the rosary afteral those impure thoughts about Mary down the road.

The Hugo Boss Summer 1939 collection was quite the talking point: https://ww2-weapons.com/wp-content/uploads/2017/07/pic041-px800.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭Dillonb3

St James's Gate FC Team Talk/Gossip/Rumors Thread 1939/1940

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 90,537 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

August 1939.

Youze will all be jealous because I've got a brand new telly :P

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

August 1939.

Anything on it

Whats the share price of Bord na Mona on the Stock Exchange?

• Registered Users Posts: 17,822 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Anything on it

if he left it on, first signal would have been 1949

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users Posts: 6,191 ✭✭✭RandomViewer

Whats the share price of Bord na Mona on the Stock Exchange?

They've launched these things called briquettes, like turf only all the same size, should be a big seller

Anything on it
    just the BBC

• Registered Users Posts: 5,356 ✭✭✭Charles Babbage

Rawr wrote: »
    Poland? It's that big chunk of land that used to be in Prussia, and then the Bolshes tried to take over a few years ago. I was reading in the Irish Press the other day about that Free Danzig City thing they put in there to promote peace between Poland and Herr Hitler's Germany. Looks like it's working so far...

Didn't an Irish guy run that Danzig place?

• Registered Users Posts: 27,387 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

August 1939.

You need a wireless licence for that.
    Even if you are only watching the BBC!

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Citroen2cv

Farming and Forestry section:
    Price of turnips