Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

End of Sudocreme in Ireland

Sounds like a rash decision.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,306 ✭✭✭✭callaway92

Out with Sudocrem and in with Krispy Kreme imo

• Registered Users Posts: 6,524 ✭✭✭Allinall

That's minimum wage for you.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,910 ✭✭✭begbysback

I always thought sudocream tasted awful, can’t see how it was so popular

• Registered Users Posts: 4,369 ✭✭✭KevRossi

Strange company. I used to send jars of it abroad to friends in Germany and France when they had babies, it's absolute wonder stuff and you can't get it's equivalent anywhere. They missed out a huge trick on marketing over the past few decades.

• Registered Users Posts: 721 ✭✭✭French Toast

Sudoсметана

• Registered Users Posts: 2,530 ✭✭✭Car99

KevRossi wrote: »
    Strange company. I used to send jars of it abroad to friends in Germany and France when they had babies, it's absolute wonder stuff and you can't get it's equivalent anywhere. They missed out a huge trick on marketing over the past few decades.

It is good stuff. Are they ceasing production or just moving production?

• Registered Users Posts: 545 ✭✭✭CageWager

That decision really chaps my ass

Car99 wrote: »
    It is good stuff. Are they ceasing production or just moving production?

Moving production to Bulgaria.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,223 ✭✭✭✭biko

Sudocrem won't be made in Ireland after 2023 as production moves to Bulgaria
    I didn't even know it was made here.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,197 ✭✭✭ongarite

Enfilade wrote: »
    Moving production to Bulgaria.

One thing mentioned is that the current plant is too small & has no room for a expansion.
    A new greenfield site in Ireland would make no sense if capacity is already available in Bulgaria.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,765 ✭✭✭✭HeidiHeidi

I only heard relatively recently that it was made here - but I'd say there isn't a single person in Ireland who doesn't know the brand!

And as far as I know, the packaging hasn't been updated since I was a child in nappies (presumably) using it.... that in itself has to be very unusual.

Same situation with Dubarry moving its production from Ballinasloe to Poland a few years ago.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,611 ✭✭✭WrenBoy

Will this have an impact on quality ye reckon ?

• Registered Users Posts: 23,776 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

ongarite wrote: »
    One thing mentioned is that the current plant is too small & has no room for a expansion.
    A new greenfield site in Ireland would make no sense if capacity is already available in Bulgaria.

Yes it would. I'd say the IDA could have a suitable site in the same catchment identified for them in about 10 minutes flat. They didn't even ****ing try.

Its pure unadulterated greed, simple as, no ifs ands or buts. I hope they fail in Bulgaria and fail badly.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

Madonna is a fan too.

2389682-5-articlelarge-download.jpg

• Registered Users Posts: 12,063 ✭✭✭✭Grandeeod

Larbre34 wrote: »
    Yes it would. I'd say the IDA could have a suitable site in the same catchment identified for them in about 10 minutes flat. They didn't even ****ing try.

Its pure unadulterated greed, simple as, no ifs ands or buts. I hope they fail in Bulgaria and fail badly.

My sentiments entirely. Another Irish brand sent abroad after it couldn't even retain Irish owners. Irish Biscuits was another example. Sold to Danone in the early 90s and then carved up until what was one of the biggest biscuit factories in Europe at Tallaght was closed down. That's Paddy for ya. Sell out to the highest bidder from abroad and we wonder why our economy is so reliant on FDI and the multinationals.:rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

KevRossi wrote: »
    They missed out a huge trick on marketing over the past few decades.

They've had a few celebs and 'influencers' rave about it on their associated social media accounts over the years.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

biko wrote: »
    I didn't even know it was made here.

You mustn't listen to much radio? They've been running a campaign going on about how every year all 35/40 millions jars (plastic) are made in Baldoyle. All I think of, and I know how useful the stuff is, is their plastic tubs are an environmental disaster as anybody who ever tried to wash an empty one will know.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 467 ✭✭EddieN75

Larbre34 wrote: »

Business looking to improve profitability. Those bastards!

They are dead right. Ireland is too expensive and becoming less competitive

• Closed Accounts Posts: 556 ✭✭✭shtpEdthePlum

McMurphy wrote: »
    Madonna is a fan too.

Gross

• Registered Users Posts: 1,929 ✭✭✭Deise Vu

EddieN75 wrote: »

Exactly what do you do yourself that insulates you from random acts of globalization vandalism such as this?

I worked in that plant and I can assure you that they are a very dedicated hard working bunch, the vast majority on basic industrial wages but there was never any agitation despite the fact that the profit was a significant multiple of their wages.

Shifting production to Bulgaria will only add a few percentage points to the profit but will be devastating for many of the workers. This is a disgusting decision which might even backfire if the Bulgarians make a hash of it. But I’m sure some higher ups will give themselves a massive bonus for taking the “tough” decisions that have zero effect on them personally.

I hope the sun keeps shining on you and your indifference to the suffering of people whose circumstances you have no clue about.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,655 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Deise Vu wrote: »
    Exactly what do you do yourself that insulates you from random acts of globalization vandalism such as this?

I worked in that plant and I can assure you that they are a very dedicated hard working bunch, the vast majority on basic industrial wages but there was never any agitation despite the fact that the profit was a significant multiple of their wages.

Shifting production to Bulgaria will only add a few percentage points to the profit but will be devastating for many of the workers. This is a disgusting decision which might even backfire if the Bulgarians make a hash of it.

Equally, there are some unemployed Bulgarians who will be very happy to get jobs. I don't see them as any more or less important than Irish people.

I worked for a multinational and was in Bulgaria for a fair bit of time in the office there (being paid in Ireland) and my partner is from there. Just to give an idea of the kind of money we're talking about here. I would have been on about €2500 a month at the time. Colleague's over there doing the same work with same experience and education were on about 1600 leva a month which would have been considered decent money and a step up from what their parents and many others were earning but that only worked out at about €800 pm. and no factory worker is taking home that kind of money in BG.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,707 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Grandeeod wrote: »
    My sentiments entirely. Another Irish brand sent abroad after it couldn't even retain Irish owners. Irish Biscuits was another example. Sold to Danone in the early 90s and then carved up until what was one of the biggest biscuit factories in Europe at Tallaght was closed down. That's Paddy for ya. Sell out to the highest bidder from abroad and we wonder why our economy is so reliant on FDI and the multinationals.:rolleyes:

The hilariously named Old Time Irish Marmalade (not Irish)
    Siuicre aka Nordzucker.
    Jacob's Biscuits (produced in a number of European countries, but not this one)
    HB ice cream, made by conglomerate Unilever in the uk.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Equally, there are some unemployed Bulgarians who will be very happy to get jobs. I don't see them as any more or less important than Irish people.

I would rather see my fellow countrymen do well first though not that I have any ill will for the Bulgarians. This was a quality product developed and manufactured in ireland to the highest standards, it's brand name is now being pillaged for the sake of increased profits.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 891 ✭✭✭Jellybaby_1

I have regularly asked if Ireland actually manufactures anything much any more, in particular our essentials? Does anyone know? It became very apparent with the onset of Brexit everyone was wondering if we could still get the same products. Then when the pandemic hit there were shortages and I know it was mainly panic buying, but I wonder if mammy Ireland can actually look after us anymore! Just a short walk around the supermarket will tell you where most of our products and vegetables come from. :(

• Registered Users Posts: 1,022 ✭✭✭bfa1509

McMurphy wrote: »
    Madonna is a fan too.

2389682-5-articlelarge-download.jpg

That's her can of 100% botox

• Registered Users Posts: 3,482 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

I have regularly asked if Ireland actually manufactures anything much any more, in particular our essentials? Does anyone know? It became very apparent with the onset of Brexit everyone was wondering if we could still get the same products. Then when the pandemic hit there were shortages and I know it was mainly panic buying, but I wonder if mammy Ireland can actually look after us anymore! Just a short walk around the supermarket will tell you where most of our products and vegetables come from. :(

We have spuds and various edible creatures, we'll be grand.

🙈🙉🙊

• Registered Users Posts: 27,777 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

It has been hundreds of years since a country of Ireland's size could look after itself.
    Wasn't even a viable strategy in the 1930s and 1940s here.
    Makes more sense for us to specialise in dairy, beef and export that and import fruits and vegetables.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 23,776 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

EddieN75 wrote: »

If that's the case they'd be shutting up shop in Waterford too, its just the sudocrem operation probably isn't as technical so they're looking to increase margin in Bulgaria.

These are the same ****s with radio ads running the last year or more "do you know all the Sudocrem used in the World is made right here in Dublin?" **** off.

Its a great Irish brand it shouldn't be surrendered so easily. Teva only bought Tosara in 2016, they should be aggressively pushed to sell it again and piss off.

Glazers out!!