Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Are there any roads you will refuse to cycle on?

• 06-05-2021 8:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 431 ✭✭

I live in Malahide and I took a spin out to Donabate once.

Turvey avenue is too dangerous for cyclists IMO. It's shame some drivers are so wreckless on that road.

https://goo.gl/maps/6EqWHeRLgMdxLYWe9

I'll be avoiding this like a disease.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,561 ✭✭✭Eamonnator

Blakes Cross - Lusk.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,984 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

Any road with an incline.

• Registered Users Posts: 205 ✭✭bbuzz

The N11 between Greystones and Newtown Mount Kennedy. Just too risky and unpleasant for my liking.

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Luxman

The N2 north of Ashbourne pretty much all the way to Slane, hate it. Luckily there are 'parallel' alternatives to get up that direction.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭MangleBadger

bbuzz wrote: »
    The N11 between Greystones and Newtown Mount Kennedy. Just too risky and unpleasant for my liking.

I second this. Just no enjoyment in it. And quite easy to skip it if you like hills.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭at1withmyself

The N20 between limerick and Cork, I hate driving it but I would never cycle it

• Registered Users Posts: 24,948 ✭✭✭✭Wishbone Ash

...Turvey avenue is too dangerous for cyclists IMO. It's shame some drivers are so wreckless on that road....
    Eamonnator wrote: »
    Blakes Cross - Lusk.
    Both roads on my commute and both are fine relatively speaking.

The last two thirds of this segment. Not pleasant as speeding motorists assume it's a motorway (it isn't) and there is no hard shoulder. According to Strava I haven't done it since 2013.

https://www.strava.com/segments/1771163

Luxman wrote: »
    The N2 north of Ashbourne pretty much all the way to Slane, hate it. Luckily there are 'parallel' alternatives to get up that direction.

I'd ride it occasionally between Slane and the turn for Duleek and almost always at weekends in the morning and find it's ok. Not sure I'd like it so much if I had to deal with the draft off of a speeding truck given the width of the hard shoulder though.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 48,222 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

turvey avenue is the preferred option to cycling the R126 from the M1 junction to donabate, surely?

and the N2 between ashbourne and slane is one of the most cheerless roads i've ever cycled.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

The last two thirds of this segment. Not pleasant as speeding motorists assume it's a motorway (it isn't) and there is no hard shoulder. According to Strava I haven't done it since 2013.

https://www.strava.com/segments/1771163

I've cycled it a few times. Horrible. It's a no brainer to just go through Santry Village. More traffic lights but much calmer.

turvey avenue is the preferred option to cycling the R126 from the M1 junction to donabate, surely?...
    Yes, the Hearse Road is much worse than Turvey Avenue.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

(Dublin) I’m in the process of banishing from my life the half of Leopardstown Road between its junction-from-hell with BurtonHall/Brewery and its N11 end. Experimenting with using Brewery Road and a meander through housing estates to connect with Newtownpark Avenue :mad:

• Registered Users Posts: 28,304 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

M50 - couldn't hear a word on my phone call with the noise of all those feckers beeping.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1 Obi Kenobi

M50 - couldn't hear a word on my phone call with the noise of all those feckers beeping.

Especially in the fast lane.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,002 ✭✭✭nomdeboardie

The road to hell (in a handbasket) :(
    The road to nowhere (unless listening to Talking Heads :o)
    The long and winding road (covers most of the country :rolleyes:)
    The road less travelled (no, wait, that sounds good... :p)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,096 ✭✭✭Mundo7976

Anywhere around the back of the airport, too busy and too many not paying attention whilst dreaming of being on the planes

• Registered Users Posts: 10,146 ✭✭✭✭Hurrache

Was always Dublin north and south quays, would happily take a longer alternative.

Haven't had a chance to try the new north quay layout since lock down though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,385 ✭✭✭monkeybutter

M50, great for getting from a to b

• Registered Users Posts: 206 ✭✭Oberkon

Blake’s cross in direction of swords . Always get a flutter in heart passing the junction to Lusk ..

• Registered Users Posts: 911 ✭✭✭sharingan

I have done the N25 out of Cork going east to glounthaune/little island exit but going over the Dunkettle flyover. Won't do that again, ever. The Dunkettle roundabout under neath it, is OTOH not terrible (signal controlled). But I did it once with my son on the back of the e-bike and its one of the most stressful rides I have ever done.

I checked my heartrate afterwards through the fitbit app, and it was ~100/110 on the flats doing about 28km/hr, and about 150 stopped at the lights at the dunkettle.

FYI its not against the rules of the road (but possibly will be when they finish the works there).

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 19,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Weepsie

Blake's closs to lusk room only done it twice. Not remotely enjoyable.
    Kilshane cross I despise, but most of the airport roads I'm okay with.

Parts of the n20 are absolutely diabolical, parts are grand.

The n18, jaysus, I hate it. Got pulled over on it to let through some Chinese diplomats being escorted to the airport. One of the Garda had done our charity cycle previously and managed to get us an escort.

It becomes an m road a bit before bunratty, but the driving is like that well before there.

Any road into and out of Galway city centre. I find it the least hospitable place in the country for being on a bike. Again, only times I've enjoyed it is with a Garda escort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,985 ✭✭✭Seaswimmer

(Dublin) I’m in the process of banishing from my life the half of Leopardstown Road between its junction-from-hell with BurtonHall/Brewery and its N11 end. Experimenting with using Brewery Road and a meander through housing estates to connect with Newtownpark Avenue :mad:

I second that. Its amazing how such a relatively short section has caused so much comment since it was built (probably well over 20 years at this stage)

• Registered Users Posts: 2,079 ✭✭✭paddydriver

Up Glenamuck Rd in Carrickmines - approaching from Foxrock side, you've got a few roundabouts and a cycle lane that's in bits and then it abruptly ends and dumps you onto the long slog up Glenamuck Rd with a brutal surface in some parts. Even though the whole road is now 50kmh there are still drivers flying up it.

It's not too bad coming down as you get it over with quickly but I would take any route to avoid going up it.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭Duckjob

Yes, the Hearse Road is much worse than Turvey Avenue.

The naming of the road is unfortunate as well. Always feels like you're tempting fate every so slightly by going on it.

• Registered Users Posts: 654 ✭✭✭Johnny Jukebox

Lambs Cross to Lamb Doyles - bad surface, narrow, a kicker at the top and always, always an aggressive queue of traffic up your hoop.

If I'm coming from Stepaside, I always take the left before the school to avoid it.

• Registered Users Posts: 198 ✭✭teroknor83

Farranfore to Killarney on the main N22. Forget about it. Heavy Traffic, very little margin for cycling in and unfortunately a history of fatal cycling incidents with motor traffic. No thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭EDit

N55 section just after Ballykeeran going in the direction of Glasson (after passing the Dog and Duck on the left). There is a very steep hill (ie, you are forced down to a crawling pace as you slog up it) and the road substantially narrows (barely enough room for cars to pass each other). Add in the fact that the road is frequented by a lot of lorries and its nerve racking

Fortunately, there is an alternative route going via the Wineport Lodge that is much quieter and safer

• Registered Users Posts: 10,212 ✭✭✭✭greenspurs

Carrick on Suir . ( a bit ironic considering Kelly and Bennett are from here!!)

"Traffic Calming" on the way in and out of the town, Close pass EVERY fcuking time !!!
    Just another one yesterday evening, where a stupid OAP in a Qashqai thought he could squeeze between me and an oncoming car.
    He knew he couldnt "squeeze by" when i was banging on his windows....... These cnuts dont care/realise ......

"Bright lights and Thunder .................... "

• Registered Users Posts: 1,842 ✭✭✭Don't Chute!

Lambs Cross to Lamb Doyles - bad surface, narrow, a kicker at the top and always, always an aggressive queue of traffic up your hoop.

If I'm coming from Stepaside, I always take the left before the school to avoid it.

Agree on this one. Hate it. Good tip on the alternative!