Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

60 Day Challenge

• Registered Users Posts: 2,683 ✭✭✭triggermortis

Day 31
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5136167620

Cool enough but bright and sunny. The wind picked up to make the second half harder

Day 32
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5142620028

Warm enough for shorts and short sleeves - just - but THAT wind!! Never seemed to be behind me and almost made me go back home for more clothing.
    Pushed on for 50km @26kmh

Day 33
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5148138727

Damp day but not too cold. Damp enough for jacket and tights and the winter bike. Took a long while to get going even with a lot less wind than yesterday

Day 34
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5153642033

Cooler than I thought - after I left the house in shorts and short sleeves. Just as well I had a gilet on. Couldn't decide where to go and ended up on some roads I've not been on in ages, if ever, until I suddenly found a junction and knew where I was.
    Warmed up a bit towards the end, but the wind picked up as well on the coast road.
    Hit 72kmh down the hill into Naul!

Day 35
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5159579583

Pushed for the first hour to see if I could get 30km done - managed it with about 13 seconds to spare! Dry enough for the good bike, but a few damp spots around means it needs a good clean now..

day 36
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5165464144

Rode with a mate who's faster than me, especially on the hills and today hurt. Started off ok but then realised that working this hard without breakfast would end in tears. I was too busy getting the kids ready so I just grabbed a banana before heading out the door. Should have taken an extra one with me...
    Still, it was dry and bright but the wind started to pick up towards the end to finally kill me off

Day 37
    part 1 https://www.strava.com/activities/5170165461

part 2 https://www.strava.com/activities/5173116434

Commuting to and from work. Cold and foggy this morning but warmer on the way home. Dry.

Day 38

part 1 https://www.strava.com/activities/5175767201

part 2 https://www.strava.com/activities/5177279844

There was frost on the cars this morning! Phone said 6 degrees, but my Garmin told me it was less than 1. Much nicer on the way home - went a longer way to make sure I got my 40km for the day done.

Day 39
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5181447046

Didn't ride to work today as I hit snooze too many times, so came home for breakfast and hit the road. Cool but dry and sunny and saw a few out on the road

Day 40
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5191550616

Took the day off as it's my daughters birthday so no commute.
    Pushed for the first hour as felt good and managed to do 31.4km in that hour - even with a few horses and sunday drivers slowing me down. Got a few PR's and a couple of cups!!
    Was wrecked after that so was more of a limp up Man o War afterwards. Looked warmer than it was and the wind was stronger than I'd have liked but was good to get out for a bit

Day 41
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5195304774
    Bright and sunny morning so went with shorts and short sleeves - just about warm enough at the start and was glad of it at the end.
    Didn't see too many folk out

• Registered Users Posts: 17,764 ✭✭✭✭keane2097

How are you enjoying the challenge?

I'm thinking about committing to something similar myself but maybe I'll do a certain distance in X weeks rather than every day just to have the option to recover sometimes.

Day 42
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5202260093

Cooler than the past few days and couldn't get out earlier as things to do, but missed any rain in the end. Took the commuter bike just in case..

keane2097 wrote: »
    How are you enjoying the challenge?

I'm thinking about committing to something similar myself but maybe I'll do a certain distance in X weeks rather than every day just to have the option to recover sometimes.

It was more a plan to stop herself nagging me so much for being out on the bike as the challenge was her idea initially, but walking! :)

I find the days I'm off work or on late shift better as I've realised how little I actually enjoy commuting compared to just riding my bike.
    I set a target last year on Strava of 200km a week and didn't realise that it didn't cancel at the end of the year. My Jan and Feb were quite lean due to working extra shifts and the weather, so I needed to do something to get back on track and this has certainly done that. I can feel that I've got a bit stronger, but that may turn out to be just that - a feeling - once I get back on a few group spins and watch them sail into the distance....

Day 43
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5207185682

Oh my god that wind!!! Hardly ever seemed to be behind me, and got a few pushes around, even though my wheels aren't that deep (35mm)
    Got sprayed on the coast road from the sea - bracing to say the least!!

Day 44
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5212425991

Lot cooler than it looked, but grand once moving. At least it stayed dry. 3 of us until the coffee stop and then a good few after that.
    Got a few PR's at the start and end of the ride, and none in the middle...

Day 45
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5217077878

Really felt a rest day would be better today, but it's called a 60 day challenge so I got out and did it anyway. Dressed in 99% winter gear - should have worn better gloves and waterproof shoe covers. After 15km there was a hail shower, then some rain and then it dried a bit. 20 mins later was another hail shower. Once I got to the main road (R132) roads were dry and no sign of the misery I'd been through. Had planned a longer ride, but was cold and wet now so headed for home

Day 46
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5222674649

Cool but dry day, sun shining but still needed arm warmers. Managed to take 30 seconds off my best time up Walshestown - dunno how I managed that but felt good after a slow start. Saw loads of people out, which is great to see

Day 47
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5228977631

Dry and a bit warmer than yesterday. Saw loads of people out

Day 48

part 1
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5234231810

part 2 https://www.strava.com/activities/5234231888

Back to commuting.. Got up stupidly early and hit the road. Got a puncture after less than 4km - rear tyre. Stopped, changed the tube and heard air escaping from the new one, so limped home to get the car. In a break, I drove home, fixed the 2 tubes, put on a new tyre as the old one had a split in the sidewall. I then correctly fitted the tyre to get the rotation arrows going the right way, got dressed and rode back to work. It was now raining and windy (headwind of course) making this my least favourite ride so far. Let's see if the ride home later is as good!

part 3 https://www.strava.com/activities/5235815731

• Registered Users Posts: 12,863 ✭✭✭✭crosstownk

In a break, I drove home, fixed the 2 tubes, put on a new tyre as the old one had a split in the sidewall. I then correctly fitted the tyre to get the rotation arrows going the right way, got dressed and rode back to work. It was now raining and windy (headwind of course) making this my least favourite ride so far.

Fair play. Nearly there now - less than two weeks to go.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

First of all, your playing a stormer
    I then correctly fitted the tyre to get the rotation arrows going the right way, got dressed and rode back to work.
    Second of all, and completely unrelated but just to annoy you, those arrows mean nothing, they apparently just make you feel better but make no actual difference in road tyres. I don't know why but it really annoyed me when I found that out (in relation to Conti and Schwalbe road tyres).

CramCycle wrote: »
    First of all, your playing a stormer

Second of all, and completely unrelated but just to annoy you, those arrows mean nothing, they apparently just make you feel better but make no actual difference in road tyres. I don't know why but it really annoyed me when I found that out (in relation to Conti and Schwalbe road tyres).

Thanks for the encouragement.
    I think that once I noticed the arrow, I'd be annoyed myself that it was wrong even if no-one else noticed. The tyre tread does look like the direction might make a slight difference, but it's more my OCD that'd annoy me that it was pointing the wrong way (Durano plus tyre)

Day 49
    part 1 https://www.strava.com/activities/5238687008

part 2 https://www.strava.com/activities/5240816987

Added a little on the way home to make up the 40km. Not as windy on the way home as going to work, but still a few spots that made me twitchy.
    Got home just in time to avoid a hail shower.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,339 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Thanks for the encouragement.
    I think that once I noticed the arrow, I'd be annoyed myself that it was wrong even if no-one else noticed. The tyre tread does look like the direction might make a slight difference, but it's more my OCD that'd annoy me that it was pointing the wrong way (Durano plus tyre)

I think this was the issue the head of Schwalbe pointed out, people didn't like the lack of definitive direction on some of their tyres and they were getting complaints about which way they should be. Which might be true for certain MTB or CX tyres but none of their road wheels, so they added the arrow to make people feel better and lower complaints. Conti GPs were the same, the markings were lazer etched and had no difference in regards grip etc. but they are designed to make it look like there is a correct direction so they don't get complaints.

Day 50

part 1 https://www.strava.com/activities/5244071121

Cold but dry. Garmin read 0.7 at one point.

part 2 https://www.strava.com/activities/5246277246

Cold and wintery showers. Brrr, Glad to see the back of commuting for a few days

Day 51
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5251025792

Bright and dry but back to almost full winter gear - maybe one layer less and lighter gloves. Started off well and then had the legs sapped by the headwind and took it easier in the second half. Missed the lads earlier at the coffee stop as I had an online course to do first.
    Ave speed of 29.2 was a bit of a surprise as I thought it'd be less

Day 52
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5256218251

Decided to head for Howth as I've not been there in ages. Saw a good few cyclists out around there. Dry and bright but a little cool still. Managed a few PRs including one for going up the village side of Howth, so these constant days of riding must be having some effect - even though it felt slow enough.

Some going. You have the goal in sight now, keep at it!

Day 53
    https://www.strava.com/activities/5256218251

Slow wander about with a puncture after 9.5km. Much nicer than earlier today so went with shorts and short sleeves, but the winter bike due to wet roads in places