Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Civil Service Pension (Single Scheme) Questions

• 05-04-2021 4:52pm
    Registered Users Posts: 271 ✭✭

1. Are my rough calculations correct?

Example:

If I work as an Executive Officer for 23 years. My average earnings over the period is 44,000.

As far as I know, someone who worked 40 years would get 22,000.

So would my pension would be

22,000 - 12,600 (State Pension) x 23/40 = 5405 (CS part of pension)

...plus the State Pension (12,600) = Total Pension = 18005.

That correct?

2. Second question, can you buy years of service on the Single Scheme? When it launched the literature said that it wasn't possible but that they were hoping to have such a facility in the future.

Is it possible these days?

Thanks for reading.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 289 ✭✭tomfoolery60

Galwayhurl wrote: »
    1. Are my rough calculations correct?

Example:

If I work as an Executive Officer for 23 years. My average earnings over the period is 44,000.

As far as I know, someone who worked 40 years would get 22,000.

So would my pension would be

22,000 - 12,600 (State Pension) x 23/40 = 5405 (CS part of pension)

...plus the State Pension (12,600) = Total Pension = 18005.

That correct?

2. Second question, can you buy years of service on the Single Scheme? When it launched the literature said that it wasn't possible but that they were hoping to have such a facility in the future.

Is it possible these days?

Thanks for reading.

1: they have a spreadsheet available to have a look at what pension you could potentially expect: