If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,502 ✭✭✭howiya

titan18 wrote: »
    If you can afford them, you can afford the quarantine imo.

You do know once they buy the shoes they no longer have the money. Its not necessarily an indication of wealth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

There's talk that CAB and revenue are going to get involved in this one, watch this space

This could be baseless mud slinging though.
    Wouldn’t surprise me tbh

• Closed Accounts Posts: 610 ✭✭✭kerrylad1

My father, (late 70's)returned from lanzaorte yesterday.Just off the phone to him.He went for a run every morning and said it was bliss.Most evenings he just chilled reading a book watching the sun going down.He is not a drinker but thinks the bars closed around 10pm.No hassle at the airport.I think his flight out was at 6am so did not encounter any checkpoints.Waved on after checking pcr and passport on arrival at Dublin.Only odd thing he found was that you have to wear a mask walking around outside,but once ur sitting down for a meal,you can take it off.Other than that,he can not wait to return.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,849 ✭✭✭✭Red Silurian

kerrylad1 wrote: »
    My father, (late 70's)returned from lanzaorte yesterday.Just off the phone to him.He went for a run every morning and said it was bliss.Most evenings he just chilled reading a book watching the sun going down.He is not a drinker but thinks the bars closed around 10pm.No hassle at the airport.I think his flight out was at 6am so did not encounter any checkpoints.Waved on after checking pcr and passport on arrival at Dublin.Only odd thing he found was that you have to wear a mask walking around outside,but once ur sitting down for a meal,you can take it off.Other than that,he can not wait to return.

So the moral of the story is what? Lanzarote is sunny?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,276 ✭✭✭KanyeSouthEast

And blissful and seems far more relaxed than Ireland. Also likely doesn’t have as many curtain twitchers and begrudgers I’d hazard.

What is ur problem.I was just updating people from my past posts.The moral of the story is,70 odd year old fit people,are not afraid to live.Despite nepht telling them to hide under the bed.

I must have missed your earlier posts... Honestly it feels your being a bit of an arsehole to those of us who are following rules (such as the 5km limit) to try and keep the old and vulnerable like your old man safe from the virus

But I guess he'll be the one paying the 2k fine in this case

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

I must have missed your earlier posts... Honestly it feels your being a bit of an arsehole to those of us who are following rules (such as the 5km limit) to try and keep the old and vulnerable like your old man safe from the virus

If you want to follow the rules that's your prerogative.

This man from Kerry going off to Lanzarote has no effect on you so you have no reason to be annoyed. I he does or does not get a fine then that's his problem not yours.

This thread is about travel during Covid BTW.

And blissful and seems far more relaxed than Ireland. Also likely doesn’t have as many curtain twitchers and begrudgers I’d hazard.

I haven't been overly stressed in over a year, unless it's a rugby weekend but that's a personal decision I make to follow a particular province

Don't need to break lockdown laws to be relaxed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

I haven't been overly stressed in over a year, unless it's a rugby weekend but that's a personal decision I make to follow a particular province

Don't need to break lockdown laws to be relaxed

Why are you bouncing between the two 'travel' threads policing? The other one's thread title is a much better fit too.

If you want to follow the rules that's your prerogative.

This man from Kerry going off to Lanzarote has no effect on you so you have no reason to be annoyed. I he does or does not get a fine then that's his problem not yours.

This thread is about travel during Covid BTW.

Good point but what if he comes back from lanzarote and instead of self quarantining he decides to go meet a few friends in the park, pop over to visit the family and maybe a trip to the supermarket, only to find out he caught covid on the plane back from lanzarote and has contributed to 50 or so new cases?

The new cases then multiply and I'm suck back on a stay at home order... Then it very much becomes my problem

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

You've followed all the rules I suppose?

Corholio wrote: »
    Why are you bouncing between the two 'travel' threads policing? The other one's thread title is a much better fit too.

Good call, don't like my logic so instead question why I'm replying to two threads. Distraction is better than debate eh?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Call Joe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

Glad to hear he had a nice time. You never know what is around the corner and he took a decision for himself. The only question I have is why did he come back?

Call Joe

JOE!!!!

Good point but what if he comes back from lanzarote and instead of self quarantining he decides to go meet a few friends in the park, pop over to visit the family and maybe a trip to the supermarket, only to find out he caught covid on the plane back from lanzarote and has contributed to 50 or so new cases?

The new cases then multiply and I'm suck back on a stay at home order... Then it very much becomes my problem

If if if.... You might catch it in the supermarket or on a bus, I suggest it's not your job to be policing or speculating on what others do.

Again; this is a thread about foreign travel.

If if if.... You might catch it in the supermarket or on a bus, I suggest it's not your job to be policing or speculating on what others do.

Again; this is a thread about foreign travel.

Foreign travel in covid times, foreign travel that multiplies our covid figures... What's your point?

He didnt get a fine.And he wouldnt have paid it if he did.He has paid more taxes to this state then you or me.On your point,Yes he is vunerable,but when ur in ur late 70's this mite be his last days of bliss.So good on him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

Good call, don't like my logic so instead question why I'm replying to two threads. Distraction is better than debate eh?

Not at all. In one post you said you haven't been 'stressed in a year', yet in another you were berating a poster for causing you potential problems, but I thought you were grand and not stressed? Btw if you haven't been stressed in the past year besides rugby matches I can see why you'd be happy to remain as it is for however long you're told. Good boy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 667 ✭✭✭fm

He didnt get a fine.And he wouldnt have paid it if he did.He has paid more taxes to this state then you or me.On your point,Yes he is vunerable,but when ur in ur late 70's this mite be his last days of bliss.So good on him.

Imagine what your dad did was good for his health and not put anyone else in danger, fair play to him, and to think people would ridicule him for doing it.

Glad to hear he had a nice time. You never know what is around the corner and he took a decision for himself. The only question I have is why did he come back?
    I said the exact same thing to him.But he missed the grandchildren.

Honestly I'm glad to hear he had a good time, I just hope he doesn't live to regret it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

I have a feeling some peoples lives haven’t been affected much 2019 vs 2020/1 re being in lockdown.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I have a feeling some peoples lives haven’t been affected much 2019 vs 2020/1.

25% unemployment, pubs closed, no saint patrick day parades, 4,000 people dead, no international holidays, there probably are a few whose lives haven't been affected much but they're probably in a minority, please don't ask me for examples of these people as I don't have any

fm wrote: »
    Imagine what your dad did was good for his health and not put anyone else in danger, fair play to him, and to think people would ridicule him for doing it.
    Thanks man.He was in a bad place.Pissed off,from hugging his grandchildren through a ****ing window.Anyway he sounds like a new man.Asking me to book 2 weeks in september for him allready.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭gally74

Were borrowing over 500m a week now,

If that money was put to work on the youth it would save way more than covid will ever take,

28B this year, nutritionist for all schools drop class sizes down to 15,

Build undercover sporting domes in every county for all kids, like the uk,

Build a children’s hospital in each province,

And you could keep spending.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,949 ✭✭✭gally74

Waiting fir nphet to ban takeaways as you might get heart disease

Thanks man.He was in a bad place.Pissed off,from hugging his grandchildren through a ****ing window .Anyway he sounds like a new man.Asking me to book 2 weeks in september for him allready.

I get that, haven't seen my own grandparents since the nursing homes closed last March, not sure how flying to the canaries could help with that though

I follow the rules to try and limit the covid figures so that we can get out of this situation but that's just the way I'm wired

I get that, haven't seen my own grandparents since the nursing homes closed last March, not sure how flying to the canaries could help with that though

I follow the rules to try and limit the covid figures so that we can get out of this situation but that's just the way I'm wired

This thread is about international travel. It's not about you.