If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

bubblypop wrote: »
    Ahhh Jaysis Mickey!!
    will ya stop, it will be grand, everything is not as bad as you seem to think.....

I sincerely hope you are right. But i can’t see them letting this go because they never shut up about the “variants “. That’s the reason MHQ was brought in. If covid can’t be eradicated the threat of variants will always be there. So then how do you ease quarantine with the threat of variants always there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Micky 32 wrote: »
    I sincerely hope you are right. But i can’t see them letting this go because they never shut up about the “variants “. That’s the reason MHQ was brought in. If covid can’t be eradicated the threatvof variants will always be there.

Micky, they are worried about variants because, with the vaccine rolling happening here, it can get the country back to more or less normal. Once other countries are also vaccinated and have the disease under control, then things will open up to them. There is a worry that a new variant could get in and put us back to zero. I don't want to risk giving up another year because some pair of tits don't want to quarantine after jetting off to Dubai (pun intended)

You can take a quick look at this video https://www.independent.ie/videos/dr-mike-ryan-were-not-going-to-eradicate-covid-19-in-foreseeable-future-40268481.html

Of course, it is up to you whether you think it is a very well qualified person giving his expert opinion, or whether you think he is part of the Illuminati trying to stop you from having any craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭JojoLoca

Sure plenty of people feign concern for the edge cases that conveniently suit their narrative.

This thread is about people wanting to go on their holliers. No point pretending otherwise.

If you yourself have family abroad, and if you didn't realise beforehand the simple logistical fact that the further away you are from them, the more difficult it is to get back to see them, then maybe you can take stock of your choices after the pandemic is over and reassess what you want to prioritise in your life.

As a foreign national living in Ireland for the past 17 years, also married to a foreign national, I take offence to what you said here. And I'm not easily offended person.

JojoLoca wrote: »
    As a foreign national living in Ireland for the past 17 years, also married to a foreign national, I take offence to what you said here. And I'm not easily offended person.

It is your choice to take offence.

I am merely pointing out the practical realities of other choices people make.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,059 ✭✭✭✭josip

Don't let some of the posters on here get to you Jojo.
    If it's intentional on their part, then the mods will sort it out.
    If it's not intentional and that's just their personality coming through, then all you can do is pity them really.

josip wrote: »
    Don't let some of the posters on here get to you Jojo.
    If it's intentional on their part, then the mods will sort it out.
    If it's not intentional and that's just their personality coming through, then all you can do is pity them really.

Imagine being offended for saying that people could reassess and priortise what is most important to them. They are actually allowed to do that in Ireland!!!

What is this, communist China? You're not allowed to make autonomous decisions?

You're a very sensitive fella! It's the real world dude. Choices have consequences. Good and bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,780 ✭✭✭✭ninebeanrows

Imagine being offended for saying that people could reassess and priortise what is most important to them. They are actually allowed to do that in Ireland!!!

What is this, communist China? You're not allowed to make autonomous decisions?

You're a very sensitive fella! It's the real world dude. Choices have consequences. Good and bad
    How is this stuff allowed? Pure wind up ****e. If Beasty Mod was not so biased in his opinion, this scoundrel would be banned.

What a shambles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,014 ✭✭✭✭Corholio

It's only saying that you shouldn't have moved away from your family in case a pandemic hit, and that someone should have better priorities than family. Huge lack of empathy and thread gatekeeping, but no big deal on here really of course.

How is this stuff allowed? Pure wind up ****e. If Beasty Mod was not so biased in his opinion, this scoundrel would be banned.

What a shambles.

Are you offended too? I have no idea why that poster is offended. They highlighted two points

1) That the further you live away from where you might want to go, the more difficult it could be to get there.
    2) That people can take the opportunity to reassess their priorities after the pandemic.

Is it point 1 or point 2 that is controversial? Or both?

I lived abroad for nearly a decade. I knew other Irish people there who made choices. Some eventually decided to come home, especially after having kids (....so that their kids could be near the rest of their family) or so that they could be nearer to their elderly parents.

I knew some others who were settled there full time and knew that they would likely never return and talked about their parents being stuck on their own. I remember one fella from Waterford telling me that his father had passed away and his sister was also abroad so that their mother was on her own. But that she had "good neighbours". And he told me that it was hard on him to know that if something happened, he knew he probably wouldn't be able to just drop things to go back to help her. But that his life was over there now. He had a wife and kids. He was aware of the choice.

So you make your choice based on your own priorities. Those are subjective and personal to you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

This is what I am always saying, this policy, supported by all the 'left' politicians is inherently racist and promotes xenophobia.

Are you offended too? I have no idea why that poster is offended. They highlighted two points

1) That the further you live away from where you might want to go, the more difficult it could be to get there.
    2) That people can take the opportunity to reassess their priorities after the pandemic.

Is it point 1 or point 2 that is controversial? Or both?

I lived abroad for nearly a decade. I knew other Irish people there who made choices. Some eventually decided to come home, especially after having kids (....so that their kids could be near the rest of their family) or so that they could be nearer to their elderly parents.

I knew some others who were settled there full time and knew that they would likely never return and talked about their parents being stuck on their own. I remember one fella from Waterford telling me that his father had passed away and his sister was also abroad so that their mother was on her own. But that she had "good neighbours". And he told me that it was hard on him to know that if something happened, he knew he probably wouldn't be able to just drop things to go back to help her. But that his life was over there now. He had a wife and kids. He was aware of the choice.

So you make your choice based on your own priorities. Those are subjective and personal to you.
    I've reported your post. You are looking for a reaction.

This is what I am always saying, this policy, supported by all the 'left' politicians is inherently racist and promotes xenophobia.

Will you go away with your xenophobia. My post was to an Irish person who said that half of their family lives abroad.

I've reported your post. You are looking for a reaction.

Report all you like. You are entitled to do that.

You can answer the question too. Because I am flummoxed at the source of this imagined offence!

Report all you like. You are entitled to do that.

You can answer the question too. Because I am flummoxed at the source of this imagined offence!

Are you this bored?

Your life is not impacted by these rules.

It's pathetic you see it to ruin the lives of people with family from non Ireland locations.

Think before you type.

People have lives.

You are a despot.

Are you this bored?

Your life is not impacted by these rules.

It's pathetic you see it to ruin the lives of people with family from non Ireland locations.

Think before you type.

People have lives.

You are a despot.

I've been called a lot of things before but that is a first!

I confirmed it was non derogatory:D

a ruler or other person who holds absolute power, typically one who exercises it in a cruel or oppressive way.

You are a chancer ;)

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 78,499 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

What a shambles.
    Threadbanned

I confirmed it was non derogatory:D

a ruler or other person who holds absolute power, typically one who exercises it in a cruel or oppressive way.

You are a chancer ;)

So what is the offensive thing in that post?

(and it would be helpful to keep it related to the thread topic of travel, else we will get in trouble for veering off thread)

The poster who took offence, read offence into where there was none intended or in existence. I can't help that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 288 ✭✭DSN

Will you go away with your xenophobia. My post was to an Irish person who said that half of their family lives abroad.

So an irish person with a non Irish person (shock horror!) settles in Ireland, or abroad in in laws country and suddenly cannot see their parents or family & grandparents who would have seen their grand kids 4/5 times a year b4 covid hit. . Your attitude is well they should have known better than to settle with the love of their lives if they weren't from the same country as them like what the hell?

DSN wrote: »

So an irish person with a non Irish person (shock horror!) settles in Ireland, or abroad in in laws country and suddenly cannot see their parents or family & grandparents who would have seen their grand kids 4/5 times a year b4 covid hit. . Your attitude is well they should have known better than to settle with the love of their lives if they weren't from the same country as them like what the hell?

I don't know. This place is gone mad. I was referring to Irish people who either moved abroad, or had family members who moved abroad, and it is now temporarily and unexpectedly inconvenient for them to try to come back and visit. It could give them a chance to reassess. There may not be corona in the future, but they might be far away if someone at home has an emergency and needs them. No malice meant in my point.

Nothing to do who you married. You can marry who you like - black, white, brown, man, woman, sheep, dog - for all I care.

Edit: As mentioned, I lived abroad for a good while. I was lucky that I did not "miss" too many things because of it (Miss might not be an ideal word). One thing I did miss was an uncle's funeral. That was because I was away. Well I would have missed cousins weddings and 21st's and that kind of thing as well. But only one "emergency" thing that I would have attended had I not been so far away.

Edit 2: I wasn't trying to get the other poster threadbanned. I didn't take offence at what he said to me if that helps. I probably did annoy him and cause him to react. I won't do it again if he is let back

Calm down lads!!!
    Obviously anyone who lived far away from family knows it's not easy, but those are the choices that we make.
    A woman I work with is in Australia at the moment, she went and did her 2 week quarantine, because that's where her husband lives. That is their choice and that is what they have to do.
    My friends father in law was dying in oz & her husband was not given compassionate grounds to miss quarantine, so he wouldn't have seen his father before he died. He didn't go. That's what happens when you live far away from family.

Yeah, it might be **** sometimes, but those are choices that people make. It doesn't mean others are not sympathetic, people are.

I lived away and I missed my niece being born, she was over a year old when I came home, so I missed the first year of her life. Thats the choice I made.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,246 ✭✭✭Del Griffith

Thread that was previously a good resource for information and discourse has turned into an absolute joke

bubblypop wrote: »
    Calm down lads!!!
    Obviously anyone who lived far away from family knows it's not easy, but those are the choices that we make.
    A woman I work with is in Australia at the moment, she went and did her 2 week quarantine, because that's where her husband lives. That is their choice and that is what they have to do.
    My friends father in law was dying in oz & her husband was not given compassionate grounds to miss quarantine, so he wouldn't have seen his father before he died. He didn't go. That's what happens when you live far away from family.

Yeah, it might be **** sometimes, but those are choices that people make. It doesn't mean others are not sympathetic, people are.

I lived away and I missed my niece being born, she was over a year old when I came home, so I missed the first year of her life. Thats the choice I made.

The phrase used was "If you yourself have family abroad, and if you didn't realise beforehand the simple logistical fact that the further away you are from them, the more difficult it is to get back to see them, then maybe you can take stock of your choices after the pandemic is over and reassess what you want to prioritise in your life"

It's is a pretty low thing to imply that family isn't a priority or that you gotta choose in some sadistic way, a completely and horribly, unnecessary thing to say. It wasn't a casual 'choice' comment. Not happy with trying be travel gatekeeper, now wants to be a life one.

Corholio wrote: »
    The phrase used was "If you yourself have family abroad, and if you didn't realise beforehand the simple logistical fact that the further away you are from them, the more difficult it is to get back to see them, then maybe you can take stock of your choices after the pandemic is over and reassess what you want to prioritise in your life"

It's is a pretty low thing to imply that family isn't a priority or that you gotta choose in some sadistic way, a completely and horribly, unnecessary thing to say. It wasn't a casual 'choice' comment. Not happy with trying be travel gatekeeper, now wants to be a life one.

You interpreted that arseways.

There may be people who were never faced with a family emergency thus far when abroad and who never considered the concept of not being able to make it back in time for something, or not being able to be there to help if someone needs help for a period of time.

Given that the pandemic has highlighted the fragility of everyday logistics that many have come to take for granted, some people might now decide that maybe they want to be closer to X or Y. They may not have considered that before.

As for now, we need to have travel restrictions. That was the point of the thread. As tough as it may be, we are stuck where we are and we have to focus on the macro level public health.

I don't know how you extrapolated to what you ended up at. I am going to take a break from this thread. I didn't want to cause the other fella to be banned. I hope the moderators let him back at some stage.

You interpreted that arseways.

There may be people who were never faced with a family emergency thus far when abroad and who never considered the concept of not being able to make it back in time for something, or not being able to be there to help if someone needs help for a period of time.

Given that the pandemic has highlighted the fragility of everyday logistics that many have come to take for granted, some people might now decide that maybe they want to be closer to X or Y. They may not have considered that before.

I don't know how you extrapolated to what you ended up at. I am going to take a break from this thread. I didn't want to cause the other fella to be banned. I hope the moderators let him back at some stage.

So you were giving good samaritan advice then? Pull the other one. It was a nasty thing to say from the high horse, I didn't have to extrapolate anything, especially considering your attitude towards any posters discussing travel or even possibility of travel in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,059 ✭✭✭✭josip

Corholio wrote: »
    So you were giving good samaritan advice then? Pull the other one. It was a nasty thing to say from the high horse, I didn't have to extrapolate anything, especially considering your attitude towards any posters discussing travel or even possibility of travel in here.

I'd have to agree with you.
    That post you're referring to came across as disingenuous and antagonistic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,030 ✭✭✭Ray Donovan

So anyways folks, travel??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,645 ✭✭✭Micky 32

So anyways folks, travel??

The days of non essential travel are over unless the virus is eradicated but that is very doubtful that can ever happen. Governments will not let us travel because of the variants. I’m guessing by autumn most countries if not all will be on the quarantine list and will be for many many years :mad: That is the message the government is saying, it’s plain obvious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,501 ✭✭✭dalyboy

The days of non essential travel are over unless the virus is eradicated but that is very doubtful that can ever happen. Governments will not let us travel because of the variants. I’m guessing by autumn most countries if not all will be on the quarantine list and will be for many many years :mad: That is the message the government is saying, it’s plain obvious.

Well they can take a long walk off a short pier.
    There’s no way in hell I’m living out my days in this backward dump.
    3 options
    1 , stay miserable in Ireland for the next 3-5 years minimum
    2, emigrate
    3, nice drive up to Belfast airport ( to visit a “grave yard” )

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,120 ✭✭✭✭Gael23

It is against fundamental principles of EU membership to put any European country on it.