Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Three people escape from quarantine

• 27-03-2021 6:43pm
    Registered Users Posts: 19,609 ✭✭✭✭

Bit embarrassing this for the Defence Forces
    A search is under way after three people left the mandatory hotel quarantine at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Santry in Dublin this afternoon.

It is understood one of the three has been found, but a search for the other two people is continuing.

Gardaí said they are liaising with the Defence Forces representative at the hotel.

In a statement the said: "An Garda Síochána are this afternoon liaising with the State Laison Officer at a designated quarantine facility in the Dublin area, in accordance with current protocols.

"As the Department of Health are the lead agency in relation to the management of mandatory quarantining, An Garda Síochána will not be commenting further at this time. "
    https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0327/1206551-coronavirus-hotel-quarantine-ireland/

At least one of the three has been located but jesus how hard is it for them to make sure no one escapes in the first place?

Wonder did Murdock break them out..

• Registered Users Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭volchitsa

Muahahaha wrote: »

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2021/0327/1206551-coronavirus-hotel-quarantine-ireland/

At least one of the three has been located but jesus how hard is it for them to make sure no one escapes in the first place?

Maybe it's some of these people? :D

Family loses appeal over mandatory hotel quarantine facilities

I'm sure it's horrible to be stuck indoors for 12 days, but how the heck did she imagine that arriving the day before her child's birthday, they were going to be able to have any sort of normal birthday party?

Seriously: since people are paying for it themselves, maybe two levels of comfort should be available : I read that foreigners arriving in Shanghai are put up in a 5* hotel, at their own expense, like here. I don't know what the Crowne Plaza is like but if the rooms are tiny, maybe a second hotel that's top of the range should also be available if people can pay for it?

• Registered Users Posts: 130 ✭✭loveall

Wonder if they're Brazilians with an escort to the meat factory

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,046 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Have the people who've absconded paid in advance? Hope they throw the book at them.

• Registered Users Posts: 81,058 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

MarkR wrote: »
    Have the people who've absconded paid in advance? Hope they throw the book at them.
    It's Ireland, the taxpayer will be paying their tab.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,136 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

A nurse returning from a place that's had 1 covid case in a year if forced to quarantine despite a negative test? .....how many of the 1000's of Brazilians flying in will get the same treatment, how very Irish

• Registered Users Posts: 13,570 ✭✭✭✭thebaz

It only took a year , but already those returning to Ireland are whining to the media :-
    https://www.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/irish-mother-in-quarantine-renews-appeal-for-family-to-be-released-from-unsuitable-hotel-rooms-40246416.html

We finally have quaratine rulse for those that CHOOSE to travel ; only in Ireland.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

It is in no way embarrassing for the Defense Forces. The Defense Forces are not tasked with restraining people in quarantine and they have been ordered not to attempt to detain people.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

volchitsa wrote: »
    Seriously: since people are paying for it themselves, maybe two levels of comfort should be available : I read that foreigners arriving in Shanghai are put up in a 5* hotel, at their own expense, like here. I don't know what the Crowne Plaza is like but if the rooms are tiny, maybe a second hotel that's top of the range should also be available if people can pay for it?

Are these rooms actually tiny? They have two corridor connected rooms, one with two beds and another with one. They have desks and tables.

They piled everyone and their suitcases into the two bed room and are taking photos to prove the point. Use both rooms, put your clothes away in the wardrobes and have the staff store your suitcases elsewhere, problem solved.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 44 Alaninwondeand

I can see the Chinese media running a story about a Chinese person being quarantined in Ireland. The internet is shyte, the room is small ect. Socialism eh.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,676 ✭✭✭strandroad

sonofenoch wrote: »
    A nurse returning from a place that's had 1 covid case in a year if forced to quarantine despite a negative test? .....how many of the 1000's of Brazilians flying in will get the same treatment, how very Irish

It's not about where they fly from, they had a transfer in Dubai and shared their second flight with Dubai passengers.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,037 ✭✭✭TheRiverman

sonofenoch wrote: »

They had a stop over in Dubai and probably changed flights.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,016 ✭✭✭JJJackal

Presumably it also depends on what your willing to pay for? They could probably have 3 rooms with connecting doors if they wanted.

The time period eg 1 day versus 1 year in a country with a lot of COVID19 is irrelevant really.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭basill

Oh my god. I hope they don't mix with anyone that has driven down from Belfast.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,018 ✭✭✭cajonlardo

" While there is expected to be private hotel security on site and a Defence Forces presence, they are unable to enforce the quarantine regulations."

https://m.independent.ie/world-news/coronavirus/three-people-abscond-from-hotel-quarantine-in-dublin-40246285.html

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

I'd rather mix with the three abscondees than anyone else, they all recently tested negative unlike the vast majority of the population. From an infection control point of view travel has never been safer, mandatory mask wearing, mandatory negative tests, there is nothing more that could be done unless to ban unvaccinated travelers. This is purely spin and deflection away from the real problems.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,802 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

The absconders...that's a weird one, how do they think they'll get away with it? The authorities have their passport details etc, if they ever intend on interacting with the state again they'll be caught...unless they travelled on false documents

They just walked out the front door. The Defence Forces there have no power of detention or arrest, so it’s not in the slightest bit embarrassing for them. The problem here is the legal basis for quarantine, and it’s shocking that the Gardai are not present.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,060 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

And you have to pay a lot of money for this prison. Those young kids will be traumatised after these 2 weeks. The long flight from Oz is bad enough, now you get the 2 weeks box hotel prison room that costs you €200 a night.

They just walked out the front door. The Defence Forces there have no power of detention or arrest, so it’s not in the slightest bit embarrassing for them. The problem here is the legal basis for quarantine, and it’s shocking that the Gardai are not present.

Its also unfortunate that people don't obey the law

• Registered Users Posts: 433 ✭✭rafi bomb

And you have to pay a lot of money for this prison. Those young kids will be traumatised after these 2 weeks. The long flight from Oz is bad enough, now you get the 2 weeks box hotel prison room that costs you €200 a night.

Which they knew about before they left.

The country is traumatised feck sake.

They knew what would happen so very hard to have sympathy

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

strandroad wrote: »
    It's not about where they fly from, they had a transfer in Dubai and shared their second flight with Dubai passengers.

You can't get a direct flight from Brazil to Ireland. Brazilians can fly elsewhere in Europe and then get a connecting flight to Ireland. How come the Irish on this connecting flight don't have to quarantine?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,922 ✭✭✭normanoffside

• Registered Users Posts: 2,081 ✭✭✭theguzman

JJJackal wrote: »
    Its also unfortunate that people don't obey the law

There is times in life when you have a moral obligation to break the law, this law is an absolute disgrace and is definitely one of those times and should not be obeyed by anyone with a backbone.,

This Government has trampled on society since last June and at least under Varadkar and FG there was a sense of rabbit caught in the headlights and with the PUP they tried to mitigate what was expected to be a few weeks event. However we are now run by FF gangsters and thieves who shouldn't trusted for two inches beyond their own nose.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,396 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

'Escape' lol.

Whatever this quarantine spiel is its hardly fkn Alcatraz is it? What do people expect? Fences and dogs, shoot to kill?

theguzman wrote: »
    There is times in life when you have a moral obligation to break the law, this law is an absolute disgrace and is definitely one of those times and should not be obeyed by anyone with a backbone.,

This Government has trampled on society since last June and at least under Varadkar and FG there was a sense of rabbit caught in the headlights and with the PUP they tried to mitigate what was expected to be a few weeks event. However we are now run by FF gangsters and thieves who shouldn't trusted for two inches beyond their own nose.

Quarantine should have been introduced 12 months ago - should have started with the lads coming back from Cheltenham and Liverpool v Madrid.

Obviously hindsight is 20/20 for these 2 events - but 12 months is far too long to have waited

• Registered Users Posts: 2,855 ✭✭✭The Big Easy

rafi bomb wrote: »
    Which they knew about before they left.

The country is traumatised feck sake.

They knew what would happen so very hard to have sympathy

Do you think they booked these flights on last-minute.com?!

They're relocating their entire family back home to Ireland ffs. It's been in the pipeline a while I'd say and one that took a lot of thinking through no doubt. Unlike our shut the stable door after the horse has bolted bolloxology policy we have instituted here.

But yeah, this returning Irish family are awful whingers!!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,570 ✭✭✭Tyrone212

theguzman wrote: »
    I'd rather mix with the three abscondees than anyone else, they all recently tested negative unlike the vast majority of the population. From an infection control point of view travel has never been safer, mandatory mask wearing, mandatory negative tests, there is nothing more that could be done unless to ban unvaccinated travelers. This is purely spin and deflection away from the real problems.

You need a pcr test result within 72 hours of flying. That's a snapshot of when you were tested. You could have been infected with covid days before you took the test yet it might not have registered when you were tested, it can take up to 14 days after exposure to become ill. You could also catch covid after you've been tested prior to boarding.

I really don't see what the problem is. Everyone is confined to within 5km of their homes while thousands were coming in from Brazil etc where its currently out of control. They were contacted to come forward for another test days after arriving and every time less than one third of them did and of those who did present themselves 10% were positive.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,951 ✭✭✭volchitsa

You realize if they were going the other way they'd have had the same thing and that this has been the case for months, right? Why would it be less traumatising for Australians going back to Australia than for the Irish? Not to mention this family will presumably have known what the situation was, or they should have.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,871 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Defence forces are not minding them it's a private security firm all the Defence forces are doing is bringing them from Airport to Hotel