If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Are we there yet? Your second Travel Megathread (threadbans in OP}

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,467 ✭✭✭Blut2

MarkY91 wrote: »
    What a disgrace. Imagine being escorted from the airport by the army like you're a terrorist ffs.

I have to ask though... Why don't the Passengers just fly elsewhere for a few days that's not on the list then fly to Ireland?

Sure they'll spend more but it will be a lot less than the hotel fee and you won't end up wanting to kill yourself after 12 days being a prisoner in a hotel.

The vast majority of passengers coming from red list countries will do exactly that. Only a tiny number of exceptionally honest (or stupid) people will spend the 14 days / almost €2000 in the quarantine hotel.

I'd imagine the handful of people pictured today fall into one of those categories - thought it didn't apply to them, thought they could blag their way through, or are just exceptionally afraid of rule breaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,731 ✭✭✭Kramer

gozunda wrote: »
    Personally I see the fines as an amalgam of the stick and carrot approach. If you don't travel you don't get fined. If you do - you do.

That's some weird logic.
    Fines/penalties are 100% "stick".

Not doing something, so not getting a fine, isn't a "carrot".

The "carrot" signifies getting an award or benefit for complying. Not getting punished is not a "carrot", it's just complying to avoid the "stick".

Jumping through hoops/spinning furiously - not getting a fine is a carrot :rolleyes:.

giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e477g8d1a99424g3wbaq2fa70kiq65uvw5gewi2tu8g&rid=giphy.gif

MarkY91 wrote: »
    What a disgrace. Imagine being escorted from the airport by the army like you're a terrorist ffs.

I have to ask though... Why don't the Passengers just fly elsewhere for a few days that's not on the list then fly to Ireland?

Sure they'll spend more but it will be a lot less than the hotel fee and you won't end up wanting to kill yourself after 12 days being a prisoner in a hotel.

I agree. I just don't understand why anyone would end up in one of these hotels. Spend that €2k on a nice airbnb layover somewhere for a couple of weeks

Blut2 wrote: »
    The vast majority of passengers coming from red list countries will do exactly that. Only a tiny number of exceptionally honest (or stupid) people will spend the 14 days / almost €2000 in the quarantine hotel.

I'd imagine the handful of people pictured today fall into one of those categories - thought it didn't apply to them, thought they could blag their way through, or are just exceptionally afraid of rule breaking.

Its not rule breaking to hang out somewhere else though. That's what I dont get. I think its just stupidity. Like the guys who flew in to Manchester the first day of the UK hotel quarantine and claimed to have no idea what was going on as they were marched off to their hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭gozunda

Kramer wrote: »
    That's some weird logic.
    Fines/penalties are 100% "stick".

Not doing something, so not getting a fine, isn't a "carrot".

The "carrot" signifies getting an award or benefit for complying. Not getting punished is not a "carrot", it's just complying to avoid the "stick".

Jumping through hoops/spinning furiously - not getting a fine is a carrot

https://media1.giphy.com/media/m8rTjvbUr4sWyFzBF0/giphy.gif?cid=ecf05e477g8d1a99424g3wbaq2fa70kiq65uvw5gewi2tu8g&rid=giphy.gif

Nope. So fines are only stick if you choose to get one. One does not accidentally show up at the airport or is confused why one did so.

So yes there is a benefit "carrot" in not acting the maggot a getting a fine "stick"

I borrowed this :rolleyes: it looks better here perhaps :pac:

So yes there is a benefit "carrot" in not acting the maggot a getting a fine "stick"

So your reward (carrot), for not travelling, is not getting hit with the (stick) fine.
    Right.

Maybe my understanding of the term "carrot or stick" is wrong & it really should read "stick or no stick".
    You're conflating "carrot", with "no stick".

But you know that & will continue to argue black is white, that we've the same rules as other European countries, even though we're the only European country with mandatory hotel quarantine.

giphy.gif

So your reward (carrot), for not travelling, is not getting hit with the (stick) fine.
    Right.

Maybe my understanding of the term "carrot or stick" is wrong & it really should read "stick or no stick".You're conflating "carrot", with "no stick".

But you know that & will continue to argue black is white, that we've the same rules as other European countries, even though we're the only European country with mandatory hotel quarantine.

https://media.giphy.com/media/KBx7fQoLxuV7G/giphy.gif

I did state it was more like an amalgam of the carrot and stick approach. Maybe keep up but then maybe you didn't read that. So no worries.

And as detailed. Rules / measures are allowed to differ under the EU guidelines...
    Each EU country maintains its own standards for deciding whether and how citizens of third countries may enter if they are already in an EU or Schengen country. Each EU member state also decides and implements its own further measures to curb the spread of the pandemic, such as quarantines upon entry from another region or country. Local regulations also differ widely on various social distancing measures, curfews and mask-wearing requirements

But are carrots black and white? I always thought they were mainly orange in colour?

But yeah there's always some who will argue with signposts for the hell of it. Don't be a signpost arguer :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 98 ✭✭General Toilet

What happens if you don't have the money to pay for the hotel? They show up with no booking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

What happens if you don't have the money to pay for the hotel? They show up with no booking.

If a citizen, I presume they would be pursued for the costs via normal mechanisms when you don't pay a bill. I think I actually read about there being a fine imposed for not having things organised and/or not quarantining. If it is a fine, then that would be attempted to be recouped the same as any fine would.

If a non-citizen, one condition of being allowed to enter a country (basically any country worldwide) is that you have enough money to support yourself for the duration of your visit. If you spend money on a flight, land and admit you don't have the money to fund your stay, then I'd imagine you'd be sent back on the next flight. So you'd have just wasted a lot of money on an expensive day trip back to where you started.

In that case, you'd be detained for the 14 days, unlike in the hotel, where you're not detained, just not free to leave..............:D.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 381 ✭✭Santan

Can't help but think of this line, when I read the news of people arriving for the hotel quarantine

First they came for the socialists, and I did not speak out—because I was not a socialist. Then they came for the trade unionists, and I did not speak out— because I was not a trade unionist.........

I can just see the people shouting for this in 1 year shouting about how expensive flights are from Ireland and how come it's just aer lingus or who ever is still here, and blaming everyone else for it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,262 ✭✭✭Tazz T

You stay there forever and hand knit shillelaghs for the restart of tourism in 2050 when you get kicked out to make room for 'real tourists' as that same vested interests hotel group is now allowed to rip off tourists and buy up what infrastructure remains of family owned tourism businesses up and down Ireland and convert bankrupt hostelries and pubs, into Floridian funded cuckoo apt blocks, hotels and starbucks in order to suck money out of the Irish economy.

Queue next pandemic, rewash and repeat.

Or it'll be grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,058 ✭✭✭✭josip

If a citizen, I presume they would be pursued for the costs via normal mechanisms when you don't pay a bill. I think I actually read about there being a fine imposed for not having things organised and/or not quarantining. If it is a fine, then that would be attempted to be recouped the same as any fine would.

Who pursues you for the cost, the hotel or the state?

Did I just see the RTE news where they showed how cool it is that we now mandate quarantine in hotels, just like all, most, some no other European countries.
    We're just like everyone else now, thankfully, illustrated/justified by the 3 people they showed, in the city state of Singapore & zero covid New Zealand & Australia.

I expect we'll see cases nosedive here now within the next 10 days, now that 22 healthy & PCR proven, negative people, are safely isolated.

I'll sleep better tonight.

[for clarity, there may be a degree of sarcasm in my post.

Did I just see the RTE news where they showed how cool it is that we now mandate quarantine in hotels, just like all, most, some no other European countries.
    We're just like everyone else now, thankfully, illustrated/justified by the 3 people they showed, in the city state of Singapore & zero covid New Zealand & Australia.

I expect we'll see cases nosedive here now within the next 10 days, now that 22 healthy & PCR proven, negative people, are safely isolated.

I'll sleep better tonight.

[for clarity, there may be a degree of sarcasm in my post.

Not quite ...

Of note a number of other EU countries have mandatory quarantine not just Ireland. For example.

Germanys quarantine requirements - there is a 10-day mandatory quarantine for travellers from specific countries.The quarantine period can be reduced where travellers provide a negative coronavirus test result, carried out at least five days after arrival.

Quarantine regulations vary in each of Germany’s 16 Federal States. In Berlin for example it is mandated that those who need to quarantine should only stay at designated quarantine-suitable accommodation such as a hotel or apartment.

But then again EU countries are permitted to put in place their own rules as to local restrictions and regulations with regard to travel etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 99 ✭✭wcooba

In Berlin for example it is mandated that those who need to quarantine should only stay at designated quarantine-suitable accommodation such as a hotel or apartment.

Not sure where you got this info but it's simply not true:
    https://www.berlin.de/corona/massnahmen/einreisen/

Btw. The Robert Koch Institute doesn't consider Austrian region of Tyrol a virus variant area anymore. I wonder how long it will take to remove it from high risk list here? Not to mention that Tyrol is less than 10% of Austrian population...

wcooba wrote: »
    Not sure where you got this info but it's simply not true:
    https://www.berlin.de/corona/massnahmen/einreisen/

Btw. The Robert Koch Institute doesn't consider Austrian region of Tyrol a virus variant area anymore. I wonder how long it will take to remove it from high risk list here? Not to mention that Tyrol is less than 10% of Austrian population...

Eh? Its regarding travel to Germany. Not Tyrolians running amok or population percentages.

Travelling to Germany:
    From the Berlin information website:
    Für Einreisende, die sich innerhalb der letzten zehn Tage vor ihrer Einreise in einem ausländischen Risikogebiet aufgehalten haben, gelten Quarantäne-, Test- und Meldepflichten. Als Risikogebiete gelten Staaten oder Regionen außerhalb der Bundesrepublik Deutschland, für welche zum Zeitpunkt der Einreise ein erhöhtes Infektionsrisiko mit dem Coronavirus SARS-CoV-2 besteht....

Wer über den Luft-, Land- oder Seeweg nach einem Aufenthalt in einem der genannten Gebiete in das Land Berlin einreist, muss sich unverzüglich nach der Einreise auf direktem Weg in die eigene Wohnung bzw. Haus oder eine andere geeignete Unterkunft begeben und sich dort für einen Zeitraum von zehn Tagen nach der Einreise ständig aufhalten. Einreisende aus Virusvarianten-Gebieten sind dazu verpflichtet, sich für 14 Tage in häusliche Quarantäne zu begeben.  

Quarantine accommodation work contact currently working there. No "own apartment" as detailed - and were assigned a quarantine suitable hotel for 10 days. Afaik ok to work after 5 with a clear test.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

Eh? Its regarding travel to Germany. Not Tyrolians running amok or population percentages.

Travelling to Germany:

Quarantine accommodation work contact currently working there. No "own apartment" as detailed - and were assigned a quarantine suitable hotel for 10 days. Afaik ok to work after 5 with a clear test.

As pointed out, you’re incorrect

https://www.berlin.de/corona/en/measures/

Other than Ireland there are no EU countries enforcing quarantine detention centres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭Happydays2020

faceman wrote: »

Other than Ireland there are no EU countries enforcing quarantine detention centres.

But the masses are happy...except they have found a new target for vitriol...the closed pubs and cafes it seems...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Travelling to Germany:

Well if you don't have a place to stay, then a hotel seems a reasonable alternative place to quarantine, but that's very different to Ireland where the rationale is these people are so high risk and can't be trusted to stay at home so must be locked in a hotel.

In Poland you quarantine at home but the police check on everyone, sometimes every day, as they also do with close contacts by the way. Bit strange something like that wasn't tried here first - surely it's not too tricky to check up on 20+ high-risk arrivals per day at home and logistically easier than a hotel system. Makes less of a showy political statement though!

https://greekreporter.com/2021/03/26/holland-sends-200-holiday-makers-to-greece-as-experiment/

interesting study being undertaken by more forward thinking European countries than our own. Seems like the only way in Ireland is to test, fine and try to lockdown our way out of pandemic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 258 ✭✭Wallander

Tazz T wrote: »
    https://greekreporter.com/2021/03/26/holland-sends-200-holiday-makers-to-greece-as-experiment/

interesting study being undertaken by more forward thinking European countries than our own. Seems like the only way in Ireland is to test, fine and try to lockdown our way out of pandemic.

Hehe imagine if this happened in Ireland. "Calls for tourist head to resign after agreeing to Greek travel experiment" would be the headline. 'Move risks fourth/fifth wave claim health experts' would be the sub-headline.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,325 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Wallander wrote: »
    Hehe imagine if this happened in Ireland. "Calls for tourist head to resign after agreeing to Greek travel experiment" would be the headline. 'Move risks fourth/fifth wave claim health experts' would be the sub-headline.

Did you bother to have a glance at the article?

200 Dutch people are flying to Greece to effectively quarantine inside a resort. Then they will fly back to Holland and quarantine for 10 further days.

Would you be arsed to do that? Really?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 541 ✭✭✭agoodpunt

The opp where using quarantine as a stick to beat the govt so now you have got it probably billed to the taxpayer as uasual

Wallander wrote: »
    Well if you don't have a place to stay, then a hotel seems a reasonable alternative place to quarantine, but that's very different to Ireland where the rationale is these people are so high risk and can't be trusted to stay at home so must be locked in a hotel.

In Poland you quarantine at home but the police check on everyone, sometimes every day, as they also do with close contacts by the way. Bit strange something like that wasn't tried here first - surely it's not too tricky to check up on 20+ high-risk arrivals per day at home and logistically easier than a hotel system. Makes less of a showy political statement though!

We have quarantine at home for Irish people and those who have a home here from non high risk areas. Others will still have to quarantine in hotels etc.

The new hotel quarantine is for those coming from high risk areas and especially those potentially who are a risk to others.

And includes those coming

•From a higher risk country

•From any country if you do not have a negative or not detected (RT-PCR) test taken within 72 hours

Its likley that at least a proportion of those dont have a 'home' here.

Also imo probably easier to check up on those in quarantine in one location than all over the country.

But perhaps more importantly it discourages people flying here from countries such as Argentina, Austria, Brazil, Chile, Mauritius, Rwanda, South Africa, the United Arab Emirates and Zimbabwe in the midst of a global pandemic.

How so? People arriving in Germany and required to quarantine and without accommodation have to be put up somewhere. And yes quarantine is a legal requirement in Germany for those who are required to do so.

Where do you think they're putting people who dont have "homes" there? The local dog pound?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 16,681 CMod ✭✭✭✭faceman

How so? People arriving in Germany and required to quarantine and without accommodation have to be put up somewhere. And yes its a legal requirement in Germany for those who are required to do so.

Where do you think they're putting people who dont have "homes" there? The local dog pound?

Ah here. People arriving in “Germany without accommodation have to be put up somewhere”

Have a think about that for a second man :D:D

Ah here. People arriving in “Germany without accommodation have to be put up somewhere”

Have a think about that for a second man

I have.

For a start you could quote the sentence correctly. ;)
    People arriving in Germany and required to quarantine and without accommodation have to be put up somewhere. 

So you arrive in Germany from deepest darkest Croatia or wherever. You've never been in Germany before. You are legally obliged to go immediately to quarantine.

Where you going to stay?

A. Your "Home"

B. A designated hotel which has been quarantine approved ?

You seem to think A is the answer. How that work?

I borrowed these - they look better here I reckon

:D:D :rolleyes:

Did you bother to have a glance at the article?

200 Dutch people are flying to Greece to effectively quarantine inside a resort. Then they will fly back to Holland and quarantine for 10 further days.

Would you be arsed to do that? Really?

In a second

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,273 ✭✭✭✭normanoffside

Not quite ...

Of note a number of other EU countries have mandatory quarantine not just Ireland. For example.

Germanys quarantine requirements - there is a 10-day mandatory quarantine for travellers from specific countries.The quarantine period can be reduced where travellers provide a negative coronavirus test result, carried out at least five days after arrival.

Since Early February It's already a legal requirement to quarantine on arrival into Ireland from all countries and for 14 days not 10.
    https://www.thejournal.ie/ireland-arrivals-5345494-Feb2021/

In Other words Ireland's quarantine laws were already more harsh than Germany's even before hotel quarantine was brought in.