Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Galway Bay FM cutbacks

• 08-03-2021 9:22pm
    Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭

They are on autopilot nightly from 8pm to 7am. Sign of the times I suppose

• Registered Users Posts: 3,288 ✭✭✭StevenToast

Can they do that from 9am- 10am on rte radio 1 daily?

"Don't piss down my back and tell me it's raining." - Fletcher

• Registered Users Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

A good start would be to get rid of those two Molly and Ollie that are on at 6.30am.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭bobbyss

How long has Finnegan been doing the same programme? Surely a shake up is needed there? John Bowman has been doing the same programme at the weekend on RTE radio for about 100 years. His ratings must be very good to sustain that. Presumably Finnegan's are good too. Otherwise the Boss would axe him.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,594 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

bobbyss wrote: »
    How long has Finnegan been doing the same programme? Surely a shake up is needed there? John Bowman has been doing the same programme at the weekend on RTE radio for about 100 years. His ratings must be very good to sustain that. Presumably Finnegan's are good too. Otherwise the Boss would axe him.

Remind us who The Boss is.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,351 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Remind us who The Boss is.

The Connacht Tribune

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭sgthighway

That Station should have been cleared out years ago. I tried to listen to it as I love local sport but the people on the breakfast show finally got me to switch to another station. Even when I did listen I would turn it off when the KF show came on. I reckon the main audience are probably in the 60 plus category. My Mum would have it on Sunday Mornings at home while preparing the dinner. The hurling commentary from Sean Walsh does be class. It is a tough time for media outlets at the moment as money from advertising has probably gone down and particularly hard for Sports Journalists. AFAIK Galway GAA had a big stake in it back in the day. Is that true?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,181 ✭✭✭bobbyss

sgthighway wrote:
    That Station should have been cleared out years ago. I tried to listen to it as I love local sport but the people on the breakfast show finally got me to switch to another station. Even when I did listen I would turn it off when the KF show came on. I reckon the main audience are probably in the 60 plus category. My Mum would have it on Sunday Mornings at home while preparing the dinner. The hurling commentary from Sean Walsh does be class. It is a tough time for media outlets at the moment as money from advertising has probably gone down and particularly hard for Sports Journalists. AFAIK Galway GAA had a big stake in it back in the day. Is that true?

Yes. The presenter at the weekend , forget her name, she does country music with requests for songs. Anytime I tune in the requests seem to take more time than any song played. I tune out again quickly. But country music? It must have an enduring popularity around the county in fairnes. (This does not seem to be reflected nationwide on RTE's schedule however.) But request shows are a throwback to yesteryear. Can't think of any programme on RTE that has such a focus on requests as her programme.

Her ratings (I assume they do some research into this) must be good though to be doing that for so long.

Requests and country music are the bread and butter of many local radio stations! The country music following is still very strong.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,386 ✭✭✭JoeA3

bobbyss wrote: »
    Yes. The presenter at the weekend , forget her name, she does country music with requests for songs. Anytime I tune in the requests seem to take more time than any song played. I tune out again quickly. But country music? It must have an enduring popularity around the county in fairnes. (This does not seem to be reflected nationwide on RTE's schedule however.) But request shows are a throwback to yesteryear. Can't think of any programme on RTE that has such a focus on requests as her programme.

Her ratings (I assume they do some research into this) must be good though to be doing that for so long.

Valerie Hughes. It's the "Hospital" request show isn't it? There is a proportion of the population out there that love it - the "Country n' Irish" music and hospital requests. My parents generation and older... i.e. her demographic is strictly the 65++ age group. I've wondered what will happen when the 65+ year olds are no longer with us, but there's obviously plenty out there who still want to listen to her...

KF is the station CEO... so why wouldn't he keep trucking on? Who's going to tell him he's past his sell by date? (which he most definitely is imo).

I haven't heard the morning show since Jimmy Norman used to do it... be careful what you wish for.

I just looked at their schedule there and its very threadbare now alight. Only ~4 daytime presenters and the weekend schedule is repeats and live sports (of which there is precious little at the moment). You'd wonder what the longer term future holds for stations like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,594 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Ah lads, ye are forgetting the death notices, the staple offering of Irish radio.

And half the population in many age groups still likes both kinds of music, country AND western.

A good start would be to get rid of those two Molly and Ollie that are on at 6.30am.

Molly and Ollie are great. Only radio show I enjoy in the morning time

Ah lads, ye are forgetting the death notices, the staple offering of Irish radio.

My father-in-law got a tablet purely for checking rip.ie every morning to check he wasn't on the list. :)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Homelander

I would imagine most local stations have had to shave things back because of Covid. There'd be very little advertising revenue given that shops have largely been closed the past year and retail advertising would be huge for local papers/stations.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 59 ✭✭Cube98

JoeA3 wrote: »
    Valerie Hughes. It's the "Hospital" request show isn't it? There is a proportion of the population out there that love it - the "Country n' Irish" music and hospital requests. My parents generation and older... i.e. her demographic is strictly the 65++ age group. I've wondered what will happen when the 65+ year olds are no longer with us, but there's obviously plenty out there who still want to listen to her...

KF is the station CEO... so why wouldn't he keep trucking on? Who's going to tell him he's past his sell by date? (which he most definitely is imo).

I haven't heard the morning show since Jimmy Norman used to do it... be careful what you wish for.

I just looked at their schedule there and its very threadbare now alight. Only ~4 daytime presenters and the weekend schedule is repeats and live sports (of which there is precious little at the moment). You'd wonder what the longer term future holds for stations like this.

The equivalent licence in the UK is just a computer playing greatest hits Radio. I know people have always knocked the likes of Keith Finnaghan and Paul Claffey for their style of radio but I think it's a case that people don't realise how good we have a thing until it's gone.

sgthighway wrote: »

The owner of Galway Bay FM (2004) was Western Community Broadcasting Services Limited. The main shareholder was Oranmore businessman Mr Gerry Rabbitte. Other investors included the Archbishop of Tuam Dr Michael Neary, the Western Health Board, the GAA and the Galway Advertiser.

In 2006, the Connacht Tribune newspaper bought the station outright, having previously owned 27% of it.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,527 ✭✭✭sgthighway

Cube98 wrote: »
    I think it's a case that people don't realise how good we have a thing until it's gone.

Agreed. They say something similar about State TV. RTÉ make a lot of programs some of which you hate but they make a lot of programs private tv stations wouldn’t make and we would miss that if RTE were gone.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,188 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

bazwraf wrote: »
    Molly and Ollie are great. Only radio show I enjoy in the morning time

The songs don't be bad so if they just shut up and played them it would be grand.

They talk some amount of sh1te though, especially Molly.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,843 ✭✭✭what_traffic

In 2006, the Connacht Tribune newspaper bought the station outright, having previously owned 27% of it.

Interesting info there Gadgetman496, knew about GAA but not the Archbishop.
    Now that the Connacht Tribune have moved to Liosbaun, do you know if they have plans to consolidate the offices of the Radio Station with the Paper?

Interesting info there Gadgetman496, knew about GAA but not the Archbishop.
    Now that the Connacht Tribune have moved to Liosbaun, do you know if they have plans to consolidate the offices of the Radio Station with the Paper?

No idea what_traffic, probably not though since the station have very recently totally renovated the inside including a brand new studio partly funded by a pandemic grant.

I'd imagine they both want to keep separate identities but I honestly don't know.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,198 ✭✭✭✭JohnCleary

Galway Bay FM would like to sypmathise with the friends and family of all those deceased.

(That'll be €50, please)

I'd say the money from the death and funeral notices is the only income stream not to have gone off a cliff in recent years. I can't imagine many businesses pay a premium to advertise on radio anymore when they can do it for free on social media, ditto with classified ads.

Cube98 wrote: »
    I'd say the money from the death and funeral notices is the only income stream not to have gone off a cliff in recent years. I can't imagine many businesses pay a premium to advertise on radio anymore when they can do it for free on social media, ditto with classified ads.

Advertising on social media isn't free

Posting an ad on social media is free, getting your ad into peoples newsfeeds costs money

The radio industry has changed massively since GB FM first came on air.

Bit of history from a radio anorak...

GB FM was a reboot of a a failed “Radio West” in the early ‘90’s. Radio West, launched in 1989, it was a clone of Mayo’s Mid-West radio, which had launched 6 months earlier. Really very twee. Country 'n Irish (Daniel o Donnell) music. Really terribly marketed. Bad reception outside of the city. The figures were brutal, it was going down the pan within 18 months of launch so it was reboot or bust.

GB FM in its early days (from 1992 ish) at least was a bit like Classic Hits 4FM today. Middle of the road “classic hits” format. It was a very successful reboot. Radio West was a disaster and this reboot revived it.

To give some perspective on how the schedule has changed over the years... a few older natives here may remember “The Love hour” which ran 7 nights a week. That Love hour was quite infamous in my school going days. If you had a mention on that show, you were doing well with the ladies! They had live programming from 7am-2am every day of the week. Jimmy Norman did the early show with some energy and enthusiasm. I thought he was genuinely very good back then (mid 90's), on a par with his national counterparts of the time but he seemed to become very miserable/embittered and has long since moved on...

Nowadays it’s robo-jock automated play out from 8pm every evening until 7am and the day time shows that used to be 2 hours are now 3-4 hours. 4 presenters across the daytime schedule versus 6, 7, 8 back in the 1990’s. The current weekend schedule is repeats, sport and very very specialist shows.

Other than local sports (of which there’s virtually none right now), death notices and twee local politics via the intolerable KF, it’s hard to see what the station has to offer nowadays. What’s the point of middle of the road music / request shows when Classic Hits / Today FM do it with much greater resources? What’s the point in 20 minute news bulletins when you are just relaying the same reports that Newstalk did 10 mins previously?

Someone mentioned Paul Claffey above. That guy has his haters but mid west radio is a real anomaly. They have huge (relative) figures despite sounding exactly the same as they did in 1989, there seemingly is still a large proportion of people in Mayo who want that type of radio. Claffey knows his audience and plays it to a tee. KF isn’t fit to lace his boots imo. So while I agree that we don’t want the UK “classic hits on a loop” format, there has to be scope for local radio that appeals to a wider demographic than GB FM does currently. But what is the market for local radio these days? Do many people under the age of 50 listen to GB FM or rely on radio for local content? I’d imagine no.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,496 ✭✭✭GerardKeating

GB FM in its early days (1993 ish) at least was a bit like Classic Hits 4Fm today. Middle of the road “classic hits” format. It was a very successful reboot.

I remember (early naughties) the "City" frequency had seperate programming in the evening, a show at 7pm in the classic hits style i seem to remember.

Yeah dunno if they do it now (doubtful) but they used to do a city/country split at 7pm, where City frequency got the "cool" music (banal charts/classic hits rubbish) and the country frequency got the country n' Irish. So essentially they assumed that if you lived outside of the city limits you were a C+W fan and vice versa ;)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,323 ✭✭✭Homelander

Other than local sports (of which there’s virtually none right now), death notices and twee local politics via the intolerable KF, it’s hard to see what the station has to offer nowadays. What’s the point of middle of the road music / request shows when Classic Hits / Today FM do it with much greater resources? What’s the point in 20 minute news bulletins when you are just relaying the same reports that Newstalk did 10 mins previously?

But that's true of most local stations? Some are obviously much better than others in terms of quality and programming but fundamentally they all offer something unique that attracts people - local news, local issues, local sport, etc.

And of course local stations get their national news from Newstalk, but they have a lot of unique local news too, which is what separates them. You kinda have to have both, no-one would listen to their local station as the best source for national news, likewise they wouldn't listen to local news if there was no national aspect to it. I would say Galway Bay have a reasonably good news service compared to other local stations. But the sport is definitely where it shines as you said.

People mostly listen to local stations because they get something they don't get elsewhere. Be that local sport, news, current affairs, niche shows like country/western, or whatever. Even if the quality isn't great, a certain amount of people will always listen.

Like where else would people get that really - OK you have Galway Daily, which is OK on what it does cover, but covers very little in comparison and wouldn't really cross over with the demograph that listen to Galway Bay.

And then you have the Connacht Tribune which while decent enough, people really aren't buying papers these days and it's continuously dropping, while radio is generally still doing very well.

Back in the mid 00s,when listening to 2fm was like tuning in to 1982, Alan Murphy was doing the style of youth radio that's the norm on 2fm today

• Registered Users Posts: 8,155 ✭✭✭Wompa1

Have to say, I do a stupid little Podcast that covers a handful of news stories. I heard KF's show a couple of weeks ago, I was impressed by how much he covers in a show. I'm sure he has a staff but even so to be able to switch topics like that and have people on for interviews, read out texts, cover some local stories. I only do it once a week for a 20-30 minute Podcast and find it exhausting.

Not sure I'd listen to it every day though but probably not aimed at me.

• Registered Users Posts: 22,880 ✭✭✭✭zell12

The Lurve Hour with Susan Shannon :o:o

• Registered Users Posts: 1,758 ✭✭✭spurshero

Wompa1 wrote: »
    Have to say, I do a stupid little Podcast that covers a handful of news stories. I heard KF's show a couple of weeks ago, I was impressed by how much he covers in a show. I'm sure he has a staff but even so to be able to switch topics like that and have people on for interviews, read out texts, cover some local stories. I only do it once a week for a 20-30 minute Podcast and find it exhausting.

Not sure I'd listen to it every day though but probably not aimed at me.

If your inpressed by finnengans show your easily impressed . Waffle city .