Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

The One that Got Away

• 22-02-2021 11:22pm
    Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭

Tudderone's post about the Webley-Fosbery revolver brought back memories for me - around 2007 I was thinking hard of buying a Webley Mk. VI in .455 from the UK, always wanted one. Put it off for a while, then Dermot Ahern happened.

Any similar missed opportunities?

WebleyZulu.jpg

Yeah the use of a MkVI in 1879 is totally anachronistic but......

• Registered Users Posts: 2,759 ✭✭✭cookimonster

A very fine and old Mauser bolt action .22Lr (don't know the model) in the later half of the 1980's. I came across it in Johnny Watts in Glasnevin. Common sense over ruled the heart and I left it there in fear of not getting spare parts or magazines.

Although a lot older and technically wiser now, I don't let common sense or better judgement stop me. Today I buy what makes my heart flutter and puts a big smile on my face. This hasn't let me down so far with most of my collection no longer in production.

• Registered Users Posts: 535 ✭✭✭solarwinds

I have always wanted an AMP DSR-1, there is just something about it that appeals to me which is very strange considering all my guns wear timber and not a bit of plastic in sight.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

Nothing as such, i like unusual oddball stuff, single shot rifles, especially falling blocks, Old Irish/British made stuff. The only guns that pass me by, that i really want is stuff i cannot afford. A lovely Holland and Holland .375 bolt action express rifle, stunning, just beyond my pocket, and not having any real reason to own it, not that would ever stop any of us.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,027 ✭✭✭clivej

Yes I have as well.
    I was in a dealers and saw a nice looking Rigby SxS hammer shotgun, with all the paper work to go with it. They were looking for around €650 for it, this was about 4 years ago.

clivej wrote: »
    Yes I have as well.
    I was in a dealers and saw a nice looking Rigby SxS hammer shotgun, with all the paper work to go with it. They were looking for around €650 for it, this was about 4 years ago.

You should have taken arm and all for that !

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 1,423 Mod ✭✭✭✭otmmyboy2

CZ 75 SP-01

Photo-2020-02-15-12-14-21-PM-scaled-600x450.jpg

Had one at the importers and was waiting on the serial no to apply and then Ahern screwed that up entirely.

Never forget, the end goal is zero firearms of any type.

S.I. No. 187/1972 - Firearms (Temporary Custody) Order - Firearms seized

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

S.I. No. 420/2019 - Magazine ban, ammo storage & transport restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

otmmyboy2 wrote: »
    CZ 75 SP-01

Photo-2020-02-15-12-14-21-PM-scaled-600x450.jpg

Had one at the importers and was waiting on the serial no to apply and then Ahern screwed that up entirely.

Sickener :(

tudderone wrote: »
    Sickener :(

Totally.
    Was fuming at the time.
    Glad I got the deposit back though, and promptly got a restricted S/A rifle.
    Largely out of spite I must admit. :D Helped, but didn't quite scratch the 9mm itch all the same.

S.I. No. 21/2008 - Firearms (Restricted Firearms and Ammunition) Order 2008 - Firearm types restricted

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2009 - Firearms banned & grandfathered

Criminal Justice (Miscellaneous Provisions) Act 2023 - 2023 Firearm Ban (retroactive to 8 years prior)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Totally.
    Was fuming at the time.
    Glad I got the deposit back though, and promptly got a restricted S/A rifle.
    Largely out of spite I must admit. :D Helped, but didn't quite scratch the 9mm itch all the same.

There is something tasty looking about those CZ handguns.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »

The old CZ Kadet looked very similar to that, and were very well made. They did a long barrel version that was lovely. Tried to buy one but they had gone out of production.

The new P07 .22 kadet is nice too.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,016 ✭✭✭deeksofdoom

They sure are.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

CZ Shadow Mamba. A gun that just fits me naturally.
    server?type=image&source=products%2Fp147354_ha.jpg&effects=pad(CC,ffff)&width=1200&height=630

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Ones that got away....
    A Purdey SXS.

An AMT long slide 45 ACP with the original predator laser, one of the closest replicas of 1985 The Terminator pistol used by Schwarznegger to, almost plug Sarah Connor in the disco scene. close onto 800 usd at the time,as the laser was worth more than the pistol at the time

A genuine Colt AR15, back in the day when they were still a rarity on the US market, before everyone and his dog started making them. 1200 usd at the time

Sly Stallones personal LAR Grizzly 45 Win magnum with the official documentation to prove authenticity and serialised with his birthdate.It was unfortunately deactivated and sold in the UK of a reasonable 1200 STG 15 years ago.
    Likewise, Stanley Kubrick's personal HK P7 Deacted and with the original bill of sale and a copy of his UK firearms permit 800stg

The above Shadow Mamba,as the same reason Aherne fukin things up.:mad:

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Always fancied a Delisle silenced carbine. I suppose you could licence one here after a lot of trouble.

There you go!
    Although there are better updated versions of the Delisile concept out there now in stronger cals.
    http://valkyriearms.com/delisle.html

• Registered Users Posts: 471 ✭✭jb88

Ive been fortunate enough to get 99% of what I wanted provided its legal, even picked up a couple I thought I would never find recently

But if I had to choose a gun I really want, it would have to be a Desert Eagle in .357 magnum in OD Green or any decent original 1911.

Not unless they change the gun laws in Ireland though.

Thats the only practical. Desert Eagle ever made too.:)

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Thats the only practical. Desert Eagle ever made too.:)

A lad i went to school with went to the states when he left school and joined the airforce, he was American by birth anyway. But on a trip back he told me he bought a .50 desert eagle. It was as easy as buying a spade in Woodies he reckoned. Had a look at the thing and decided to buy it, flashed his military passes (which exempts you from the waiting period, or did back then) and handed over his credit card, and it was "Have a nice day sir" and out the door. I had six months of wrangling to get a licence for bolt action .22 :mad:.

50 AE desert Eagle.."The first crew-served pistol ever built":) A ridiculously heavy and huge handgun,that gives you a 25-degree list to port were you to wear it all day in a shoulder rig.:D Supposedly built for the Israeli special forces...

If you have ever been to Israel or met any Israelis, they are a rather smallish race, who smoke a lot.So their SF lads and lasses toting this yoke about Gaza or the Bekka valley is stretching the imagination a lot.

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    50 AE desert Eagle.."The first crew-served pistol ever built":) A ridiculously heavy and huge handgun,that gives you a 25-degree list to port were you to wear it all day in a shoulder rig.:D Supposedly built for the Israeli special forces...

If you have ever been to Israel or met any Israelis, they are a rather smallish race, who smoke a lot.So their SF lads and lasses toting this yoke about Gaza or the Bekka valley is stretching the imagination a lot.

I read they use .22 semi-autos with moderators on them. No fuss, no noise, anyone that says its not enough must be crazy. Half a dozen hollow point .22's in the back of the swede and you are toast.

• Registered Users Posts: 464 ✭✭badaj0z

Have a look at FAUDA on Netflix, very well made and balanced as a perspective on Israeli SF and the Palestinians.

I read they use .22 semi-autos with moderators on them. No fuss, no noise, anyone that says its not enough must be crazy. Half a dozen hollow point .22's in the back of the swede and you are toast.

Integrally suppressed 10/22s did make some appearances at protests in the hands of soldiers doing riot control.

They were reportedly being tried out as more accurate "less lethal" alternatives to pepper balls, rubber bullets, etc.

8.jpg

They stopped the practice shortly thereafter I believe, can't imagine why :rolleyes:

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Integrally suppressed 10/22s did make some appearances at protests in the hands of soldiers doing riot control.

They were reportedly being tried out as more accurate "less lethal" alternatives to pepper balls, rubber bullets, etc.

8.jpg

They stopped the practice shortly thereafter I believe, can't imagine why :rolleyes:

Trust the Israelis to use .22s as less than lethal. That really doesn’t help their reputation.

the South African police used to use birdshot for riot control. Bounce it off the road in front of the rioters to take some of the sting out of it.:D

Just been looking at a 1967 Colt Python, royal blue finish.
    Really need to stop annoying myself.

Just been looking at a 1967 Colt Python, royal blue finish.
    Really need to stop annoying myself.

There is or was a few colt pythons here. I did get to handle but not shoot one. Beautifully made but very heavy and very nose heavy. The rib and underbarrel full length lug make it so. The old Colt and Smith and Wesson firms made really high end stuff, especially their revolvers. But Gaston Glock came along in the 80's and upset the applecart.

I’ve never handled or shot one and wouldn’t be a handgun person at all. For some reason a Python just speaks to me though.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

Would have loved a 586 4"

150909_01_lg_0.jpg?itok=oLpocla7

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

I thought the guts of five grand for what looks like a high precision 1911 is a lot, then you show us a twenty five grand revolver that didn’t even belong to Custer or Patton or the like.... . I’m sure they shoot and handle quite nicely alright but not thirty times as nice as a Glock 17.

One may dream..