Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

300,000 rounds stolen

• Registered Users Posts: 2,420 ✭✭✭garrettod

I'm amazed that there wasn't better security, tbh.

It's incredible that they don't have tighter security, if not even a police escort.

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭tudderone

600 Webley Nemesis Air rifles swiped in leicester 4 days ago. Again from a lorry.

Defies belief, really....

Thanks,

G.

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Wadi14

For sale Eley ammo €1 per box , buyer must have firearms certificate lol

• Registered Users Posts: 14,949 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

They'll sell them in the USA for 40 dollars a box!:eek::D

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

That'd be a good workout handballing them fcukers. A box of 5,000 rounds is small but it's heavy so lugging 60 boxes of them would be an effort. They'd probably fit in the boot of a normal size car.

• Registered Users Posts: 35,609 ✭✭✭✭BorneTobyWilde

Driver fell asleep, he was feeling completely shot.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Caught swinging the lead

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 13,629 ✭✭✭✭josip

Should get the bullet

• Registered Users Posts: 549 ✭✭✭Munsterlad102

Reminds me of when the IRA nicked all the FCA ammo. I think it was somewhere in the region of 300,000 too.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,597 ✭✭✭Feisar

Reminds me of when the IRA nicked all the FCA ammo. I think it was somewhere in the region of 300,000 too.

Or the NI bank notes, what are they going to do with 300k of 22.

First they came for the socialists...

Feisar wrote: »

Depends what you are shooting :D

Good question, I can't imagine many criminals with 22s when they could get 9mms.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,456 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

, what are they going to do with 300k of 22.

3dca29e0ae38c5b1b80165acc5f5d39b.jpg
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

Good question, I can't imagine many criminals with 22s when they could get 9mms.

Bet there are still a few chopped .22 rifles or old handguns in .22 in the criminal pool out there.
    OR
    Single-shot Zip guns ala the improvised munitions handbook in .22 will do your drug dealing oppo in just as well. Knock them out for 200 quid each...
    OR
    Convert those nicked 600 air rifles to .22, single shots? Criminals are very ingenious types, and not fussy about what they have that goes Pew!.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    Bet there are still a few chopped .22 rifles or old handguns in .22 in the criminal pool out there.
    OR
    Single-shot Zip guns ala the improvised munitions handbook in .22 will do your drug dealing oppo in just as well. Knock them out for 200 quid each...
    OR
    Convert those nicked 600 air rifles to .22, single shots? Criminals are very ingenious types, and not fussy about what they have that goes Pew!.

https://news.sky.com/story/gang-built-gun-factory-to-supply-criminal-underworld-with-untraceable-weapons-11714996

OR
    OR

Of course, but there is no way they're going to be able to sell 300,000 rounds.

Any of you guys interested in a group buy scheme?* :D:D:D

Just messing in case any oversensitive d1ckheads are watching.

They'll sell them in the USA for 40 dollars a box!:eek::D

I seen earlier on an American forum, 10 boxes of .410 shotgun ammo, nothing special just common or garden variety birdshot .410 rounds, $320+20 postage ! :eek:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

tudderone wrote: »

You have to admire their ingenuity, or someone's, you'd wonder how anyone found out about that.

As for the 300k rounds of .22, maybe they hit the truck near its departure location, but is it possible they didnt know what was in it? because how are they going to shift 300k rounds of ammunition and not get noticed, whats the volume?

when you think about it, I havent measured a box, but it'd be fairly compact?
    300k/500 is 600 bricks, maybe 5 x 14 bricks in a layer is a metre squared, 70 bricks, 8.5 layers is close to 300k (obviously no half layers), that doesnt even seem like what might be considered a full pallet, Im going off the top of my head of a 50rnd box at 70mm L x 40mm W x 30mm high, does that seem right?

or someone isnt happy about the price of .22 and decided to get a bulk delivery :rolleyes:

1874 wrote: »
    Im going off the top of my head of a 50rnd box at 70mm L x 40mm W x 30mm high, does that seem right?

A 5000 round case of CCI is 380mm x 170mm x 160mm. Not that feckin big.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,382 ✭✭✭1874

BattleCorp wrote: »
    A 5000 round case of CCI is 380mm x 170mm x 160mm. Not that feckin big.

I may have overestimated a box/brick size, I made a rough guesstimate and did it literally on the back of an envelope, but a quick calculation says 1.2m x 1m by about 550mm high for your dimensions

which is similar to my 1m x 1m x 680mm high, now the weight, thats a bit different, might it have been on 2 pallets? I dont know how it arrives,
    and the cost at an approx easy to use €10/box, thats €60k, sounds cheap and a lot less volume than I initally thought when I heard 300k rnds.
    Return on disposing 60k real worth and the likelyhood of getting caught once its found in circulation and getting traced back to the point of origin? and the penalty for it, I wonder is someone going to ditch it in a quarry

My bet is that. 22 rounds will end up being sold on Moore Street, along with dodgy cigarettes and fireworks, at Halloween time.

Thanks,

G.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,623 Mod ✭✭✭✭riffmongous

There's a story in the German news today about how their army seems to be having a bit of a neo-nazi issue and as part of this it was noticed that ammo and weapons were going missing, generally a few assault rifles a year and around 100,000 rounds over the last 10 years. The special forces unit seem to be particularly affected and they were offered recently a secret general anonymous amnesty on missing ammo: turns out they recovered a few ten thousand more bullets than they had listed as missing, as well as a few grenades

That's OLD Ursula Van Der Leyen news... When she was minister for defence and left the Bundeswehr in worse condition than the Wehrmacht when it surrendered in May 1945:eek:
    Strangely it happened to be military police officers...
    Yeah...It is easy to blame "neo-Nazis" in the Bundeswehr" for all this sort of shenanigans esp when it comes out that it actually was bad administration and bookkeeping and stuff being lost in Afghanistan or ammo being lost out by recruits on manoeuvres.
    Of course, the dead giveaway of Neo-Nazis are soldiers singing old trad German marching songs like "Erica" ,"black and brown are the Hazelnuts" or"Lilly Marlene":rolleyes::rolleyes: IOW the entire German army, as you all get to sing them thru every town, village and hamlet on route marches...But Van der Lier was looking at having those banned as they were "rightwing with Nazi connotations!"
    I'm sure like in ANY army you are going to have some Right and Left extremists there for the weapons training. That's a known fact, but to suggest there is a whole division of off duty brown shirted Seig Heiling lads down the pub cleaning out armouries and ammo depots is media hype.

That's OLD Ursula Van Der Leyen news... When she was minister for defence and left the Bundeswehr in worse condition than the Wehrmacht when it surrendered in May 1945:eek:
    Strangely it happened to be military police officers...
    Yeah...It is easy to blame "neo-Nazis" in the Bundeswehr" for all this sort of shenanigans esp when it comes out that it actually was bad administration and bookkeeping and stuff being lost in Afghanistan or ammo being lost out by recruits on manoeuvres.
    Of course, the dead giveaway of Neo-Nazis are soldiers singing old trad German marching songs like "Erica" ,"black and brown are the Hazelnuts" or"Lilly Marlene":rolleyes::rolleyes: IOW the entire German army, as you all get to sing them thru every town, village and hamlet on route marches...But Van der Lier was looking at having those banned as they were "rightwing with Nazi connotations!"
    I'm sure like in ANY army you are going to have some Right and Left extremists there for the weapons training. That's a known fact, but to suggest there is a whole division of off duty brown shirted Seig Heiling lads down the pub cleaning out armouries and ammo depots is media hype.

Agreed that a few extremists in an army is to be expected Grizzly, but here we're talking a few (20 under investigation) out of a 1000 man elite unit, which is a bit much

Let's be fair here now, historically people in the military, by and large, were right wing and 2% of a population is nothing. Factoring in margin of error, this could drop to the national average.

I don't think you need to be fair when you talk about an elite you though, that's the whole point of them

Do you mean this lad that was found in May last year in Saschen Anhalt who was a KSK trooper?
    It's never been made public yet as to exactly what he had apart from the usual sweeping media terms..."A machinegun" tells us nothing much... or that he had "large amounts of rifle and pistol ammo."He could have smuggled all that in from a tour of duty in Afghanistan or the Balkans. It doesn't mean it all walked out of the barracks armoury! Be a major scandal if it did!

While an alarming find, it's one particular man and the trouble with German media saying "extreme right-wing" it almost instantly equals Neo-Nazi in everyone's perception over there. You'll get to see this as you will be over there for a spell in the German perception.
    Could be this unit lost good friends and comrades in Afghanistan, and are bitter against Afghani Taliban or something of the like..that in today's PC world classifies you as a right-wing extremist.

Someone got pissed one night and sang the Horst Wessel leid up in the barracks with his boozed-up mates? Neo-Nazis in the Heer!
    There is a lot more to this story,and the backstory and context of this is important too
    I'm not trying to excuse or justify it BTW, but this is almost a regular occurrence in the Bundeswehr that they are finding neo-Nazis hiding under every cot, or right-wing extremists in every locker. and have been doing so since the Bundeswehr was founded. And in this case, it's juicy , because it's the KSK[ Germanys SAS] that's involved.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,772 ✭✭✭meathstevie

Do you mean this lad that was found in May last year in Saschen Anhalt who was a KSK trooper?
    It's never been made public yet as to exactly what he had apart from the usual sweeping media terms..."A machinegun" tells us nothing much... or that he had "large amounts of rifle and pistol ammo."He could have smuggled all that in from a tour of duty in Afghanistan or the Balkans. It doesn't mean it all walked out of the barracks armoury! Be a major scandal if it did!

While an alarming find, it's one particular man and the trouble with German media saying "extreme right-wing" it almost instantly equals Neo-Nazi in everyone's perception over there. You'll get to see this as you will be over there for a spell in the German perception.
    Could be this unit lost good friends and comrades in Afghanistan, and are bitter against Afghani Taliban or something of the like..that in today's PC world classifies you as a right-wing extremist.

Someone got pissed one night and sang the Horst Wessel leid up in the barracks with his boozed-up mates? Neo-Nazis in the Heer!
    There is a lot more to this story,and the backstory and context of this is important too
    I'm not trying to excuse or justify it BTW, but this is almost a regular occurrence in the Bundeswehr that they are finding neo-Nazis hiding under every cot, or right-wing extremists in every locker. and have been doing so since the Bundeswehr was founded. And in this case, it's juicy , because it's the KSK[ Germanys SAS] that's involved.

I’m quite sure that if you went scratching the surface a wee bit here and there in Ireland that you’ll find a few people in the Defence Forces and the Dail and possibly the Gardai who privately think Eoin o’Duffy was a great lad.