Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cleaning your new CZ rimfire rifle before taking that first shot.

• 22-02-2021 7:24pm
    Registered Users Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭

Having put my order in for a new CZ 457 Long Range Precision rifle I was wondering about cleaning out the barrel before taking the first shots.

This was the reply I got from CZ on cleaning a new barrel... (English is a little arseways :) )

"The 457 LRP is a precise rifle, but it is in every way a rimfire only. But if You want to be sure, use a bronze brush and a cleaning cotton patches with alcohol before forst shooting. Then shoot 30 - 50 rounds just to "break in" the rifling and then start the shooting for precision with the same ammunition. After the shooting season or ammunition change do the same - cleaning and "break in".
    Hope this answer was for You helpful."

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Are they shipping the 457s with the brown muck in the barrels?

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭alanmc

Cosmoline?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,022 ✭✭✭clivej

Feisar wrote: »
    Are they shipping the 457s with the brown muck in the barrels?

I'll let you know when I collect it

alanmc wrote: »
    Cosmoline?

Or it’s 1st cousin. My 452 came with it in it, that’s about 10 years ago though.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭alanmc

Or it’s 1st cousin. My 452 came with it in it, that’s about 10 years ago though.

Jaysus, I thought that stuff was the preserve of Cold War era arms. Having said that, I guess we are dealing with a Czech manufacturer.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,453 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

I always clean a new gun. I mean take it apart (stock off, etc) before first use. Then put it back together and mount the scope and get her set up.
    clivej wrote: »
    But if You want to be sure, use a bronze brush and a cleaning cotton patches with alcohol before forst shooting.
    I'd stick with nylon brush, personal choice, and patches.

Wonder why they recommend alcohol? Is it needed to remove the "travel packing"?
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 876 ✭✭✭Wadi14

Cass wrote: »
    Wonder why they recommend alcohol? Is it needed to remove the "travel packing"?

I'm guessing its a translation thing Cass, or maybe the Czechs drink Hoppes:)

clivej, what made you pick the LRP over the MPR ? was it the stock adjustability ?

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭JP22

alanmc wrote: »
    Cosmoline?

Cosmoline, yep, its still around but in a new flavor, I remember cleaning a few mil .303 rifles which were plastered in the stuff, apparently the old stuff was extremely nasty and dangerous.

To the OP.
    New gun, thorough strip and clean as Cass indicated. You don't want Cosmoline or any other grease/oil in large amounts between action/barrel and stock, anything that soaks into wood be it water/grease/oils can swell and damage the wood. Too much grease/oil also attracts dust/dirt, not good for SA's. I know an old shooter (sadly now passed) who stored his shotguns upside down so no oil would leak into the stock grip which is the weakest part.

Use nylon brushes (they are two a penny, buy a batch of them), good patches and a good cleaning rod and rod guide, be sure the cleaning rod is the proper size, some .22 RF shooters use a .177/.20 cal rod. You can also get an old style military pull-through but you have to know how to use it properly or you can damage the crown. If cutting/sizing own patches, be very careful, its all too east to get a patch stuck in the barrel.

Personally I do not use a modern "bore snake", after some time they get clogged up with gunk and all you are doing is pulling a load of dirt/gunk down the barrel. yuck.....

Keep bronze brushes for deep cleaning, experience and a fall off in accuracy will indicate that a deep clean is due. Every rifle is different, my Match 54 needs a deep clean about every 600/700 rds.

Best tips I can give you is, put together a good cleaning kit and immediately after shooting is finished, run 2/3 patches through the barrel while the rifle still has some heat in it, it makes a full clean later on so much easier.

I have an excellent Pdf on Rimfire Cleaning if you want same.

EDIT. Cannot attach file as it exceeds the 5mb limit, can e-mail to anyone who wants it.

Wadi14 wrote: »
    clivej, what made you pick the LRP over the MPR ? was it the stock adjustability ?

I had all the intentions of buying the CZ 457 MTR, did all research, watched as many videos that YouTube had and had my mind made up. But then I started to see the LRP videos as well. Both rifles were shooting very well in the videos.
    Got a price for the CZ MTR and went to the dealer to do the deal. They had the CZ LRP in stock and when I got to hold it and look over the rifle I changed my mind. Fantastic trigger on the rifle, no creep and brakes like glass, felt good in the hands, and a lovely stock.

And yes the stock is really the only difference and the extra €300 price over the CZ MTR. So if the 25MOA picatinny rail, flutted barrel, muzzle brake, big bolt knob, and adjustable butt stock are taken into account then that all adds up to the extra money.
    And it looks cool as well. :D:D

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Excavo

Was pondering an LRP myself. It's a nice set up and I would prefer it over the MTR.
    I have a year 2000 452 classic which is essentially the American walnut stock. I love it and it shoots great with SK match. I am half afraid to change it in case a new one is not as accurate.
    Do you mind me asking what dealer you're buying it from?

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭JP22

UPDATE.

Finally figured out how to compress a Pdf file lads.

Pdf hereunder (fingers crossed) plus I have mailed same to those who requested it.

Rimfire Cleaning_compressed.pdf

Excavo wrote: »
    Was pondering an LRP myself. It's a nice set up and I would prefer it over the MTR.
    I have a year 2000 452 classic which is essentially the American walnut stock. I love it and it shoots great with SK match. I am half afraid to change it in case a new one is not as accurate.
    Do you mind me asking what dealer you're buying it from?

Why not have both? :)
    I also have a CZ 455 16" varmint with the thumb stock. I have customised it to the last inch of what can be done to it. ;). Reason to own both?? CZ 455 for hunting, and the CZ 457 for target shooting.

I did the deal with Ballistech.ie, near Gorry, Co. Wexford. Two great guys to deal with, but you won't pull the wool over their eyes :eek:

JP22 wrote: »
    UPDATE.

Pdf hereunder (fingers crossed) plus I have mailed same to those who requested it.

Very good read on why you should be cleaning your rimfire firearms

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Excavo

Why not have both? :)
    I also have a CZ 455 16" varmint with the thumb stock. I have customised it to the last inch of what can be done to it. ;). Reason to own both?? CZ 455 for hunting, and the CZ 457 for target shooting.

I did the deal with Ballistech.ie, near Gorry, Co. Wexford. Two great guys to deal with, but you won't pull the wool over their eyes :eek:

Thanks for that.
    My safe is pretty full already but never say never I suppose.

JP22 wrote: »
    UPDATE.

Class read, thanks again

So a full bird custom centerfire is off the table for the foreseeable.

CZ LRP vs the Tikka T1x?

So a full bird custom centerfire is off the table for the foreseeable.

CZ LRP vs the Tikka T1x?

CZ 457 LRP = Looks cool, end of story. :D:D

Hard to fault that logic!

CZ LRP vs the Tikka T1x?

LRP

Here you can see the first few patches put through my CZ 457 LRP that is brand new and I have not shot it yet. I decided to give the barrel a clean before shooting it. I've still to get out and put a few rounds down range yet :mad:
    I expect the carbon is from the 11mm 5 shot group that is shot at the factory.

547139.jpg

FB_IMG_1615838494460.jpg

Handy enough so, my 452 had a heap of muck in the barrel.

Where did you get the KG?

Handy enough so, my 452 had a heap of muck in the barrel.

Where did you get the KG?

I think it was in Stakeums in Thurles along with KG12 for copper. But the dealer section is now closed.

• Registered Users Posts: 310 ✭✭dunner515

Is the 457 LRP available in 17hmr or will it be available does anyone know?

dunner515 wrote: »
    Is the 457 LRP available in 17hmr or will it be available does anyone know?

Yes available now.
    Balistech have/had them in stock now. Tack driver by all accounts.