Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Vehicle ammunition box

• 31-01-2021 1:21pm
    Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭

My mates firearms cert is up for renewal so he left the form into his local station.
    He got a phone call yesterday from a garda saying he wants to inspect his vehicle ammunition box.
    Anyone else come across this or is it local supers making up laws again.
    I know ammunition has to be in a lockable container when travelling but i can't see how this effects his renewal.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,020 ✭✭✭clivej

zeissman wrote: »
    My mates firearms cert is up for renewal so he left the form into his local station.
    He got a phone call yesterday from a garda saying he wants to inspect his vehicle ammunition box.
    I know ammunition has to be in a lockable container when travelling but i can't see how this effects his renewal.

I would presume that it's to check that your mate has the required lockalbe ammo box for storage when in transport.
    You could tell him that you have a lockable glove and that complies with the legal requirement and that is where you lock your ammo whilst in transport. OR like I have and that is the smallest lockable plastic tool box I could find that fits the requirement, about €6. It only holds enough ammo for a usual range trip--- 300 22lr, 100 38spl, 40 308.
    OR show them any lockable toolbox that you use.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,451 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

SI420/2019, section 4(c):
    4C. Subject to Regulation 4D, a holder or an excepted person shall, when transporting the relevant firearm or ammunition for the relevant firearm in a vehicle, ensure that -

(a) the relevant firearm is-

(i) concealed from view, and

(ii) stored separately from the ammunition, and

(b) the ammunition is stored in a receptacle that is locked.
    So it says the ammo must be in a locked receptible when transporting which means the Super is not making it up.
    As of the creation of this SI, based on EU directive, all persons must have the ammo locked when at home and when driving. The simple solution is to buy a steel/plastic ammo can and a lock.

Your friend can bring this in or take a picture of it and submit it to the FO and say this is being used both at home and during transport.

The law does not say it must be permanently attached to the car and i wouldn't even mention that for fear you give them ideas. This will satisfy the FO and the law.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 1,245 ✭✭✭.243

Or just send a photo of the cars glovebox if it’s lockable 😂

• Registered Users Posts: 874 ✭✭✭zeissman

.243 wrote: »
    Or just send a photo of the cars glovebox if it’s lockable 😂

He said he wants to come and inspect it.

then drive to the garda station

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭The pigeon man

Drive to the Garda station. Bring the garda over to the car, open your empty boot, close it and lock it with your key.

You have demonstrated your locked receptacle to the garda

• Registered Users Posts: 14,400 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

Except that it has to be seperate to the firearm.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,947 ✭✭✭✭Grizzly 45

Buy a pound shop briefcase or even a bag of some sort with a pound shop lock.
    That fulfils 100% the requirement of a lockable receptacle as per the law. Leave it in the car and let him inspect it;)

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional East Moderators Posts: 12,531 Mod ✭✭✭✭2011

I purchased a lockable ammunition box from John Lambert for €10. He has a range of different sizes all of which meet the legal requirements. Alternatively you could purchase something else that will do the job in Woodies.

Witcher wrote: »
    Except that it has to be seperate to the firearm.

How far separate? Doesn't specify either.IE does one have to be in the driver's compartment and the other in the trunk? Or both in separate containers in the trunk? Lots of questions the law doesn't answer there.

"If you want to keep someone away from your house, Just fire the shotgun through the door."

Vice President [and former lawyer] Joe Biden Field& Stream Magazine interview Feb 2013 "

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Grizzly 45 wrote: »
    How far separate? Doesn't specify either.IE does one have to be in the driver's compartment and the other in the trunk? Or both in separate containers in the trunk? Lots of questions the law doesn't answer there.

What's a trunk:confused::D

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 875 ✭✭✭Wadi14

Feisar wrote: »
    What's a trunk:confused::D

It's a part of a tree, elephants have been known to use them also.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,400 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

IE you can't fling the firearm and lose boxes of ammo into the boot and say 'the boot's a locked receptacle'

Just buy an ammo box ffs and put a padlock on it, people here looking for issues where there are none and trying to be cute.

• Registered Users Posts: 247 ✭✭alan0387

I bought a plastic "ammo can" from ebay. Was about €12. Made by Amtech, same brand you see selling tools in the likes of Mr. Price. Cheap and holds 1200 rounds of cci subs in the 100 round boxes. Has a spot for a lock too. Even comes in a nice OD green.

I keep my license allowance of 500 rounds along with my bore snake, trigger lock keys, mags and a microfibre cloth.

https://www.ebay.co.uk/itm/233657852916

You can have your firearm in its bag or case. And the ammo in a locked box, in the boot together, thus separate. But what is NOT separate is the firearm and the ammo in the same bag or case.

• Registered Users Posts: 280 ✭✭Mississippi.

I have one of those 22" cantilever metal toolboxes, and I just take some of the bigger stuff out of the bottom section to let the cartridge belt fit in and snap a padlock on, just leave the screwdrivers and spanners in the top sections even.

• Registered Users Posts: 473 ✭✭The pigeon man

Gun on the back seat in a slip or case. Ammunition in the locked boot. SI complied with.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

I use a toolbox with a padlock and a short bit of a chain. You don't really have to go to any great expense.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,758 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

Gun on the back seat in a slip or case. Ammunition in the locked boot. SI complied with.

Might be better if it was the other way around. Gun in a slip or a case looks like a gun. Ammo in a toolbox or other box just looks like a box.

Anyway, my thinking is that both should be in the boot, in separate containers.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,057 ✭✭✭civdef

I use the surplus ammo cans, was going to tig weld on a hasp for a lock till saw this video:

https://youtu.be/oXQvMR1VIu0

BattleCorp wrote: »
    Might be better if it was the other way around. Gun in a slip or a case looks like a gun. Ammo in a toolbox or other box just looks like a box.

Anyway, my thinking is that both should be in the boot, in separate containers.

Not good if you are driving an open pickup crew cab.:D
    Found these for internal storage and transport. Lockable,and impossible to access the gun if you are driving.
    https://www.hubertus-collection.de/Waffen-und-Munitionszubehoer/Waffenfutteral-Gewehrfutterale-fuer-PKW-und-Fahrzeuge/Fahrzeug-Filz-Waffenfutterale-MOBIL-fuer-2-Langwaffe-Art-Nr-HU-20183002::2444.html

civdef wrote: »
    I use the surplus ammo cans, was going to tig weld on a hasp for a lock till saw this video:
    Doing this for almost 10 years.

An American i shot against back in 2011 gave me some empty ammo cans he had (to save paying to ship them home) and he showed me this way to lock them.

I think they call them "life hacks". Like the tin foil trays your chinese take away comes in. Its "wrinkled" so you can fold it out to act as a bowl/plate or the hole in the end of the handle of a saucepan is for holding your wooden spoon.
    Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Cass wrote: »
    e
    the tin foil trays your chinese take away comes in. Its "wrinkled" so you can fold it out to act as a bowl/plate or the hole in the end of the handle of a saucepan is for holding your wooden spoon

Learned something new there today! Thanks!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,114 ✭✭✭Zxthinger

What's the craic with not using a gun bag.. when transporting a gun in a car van truck etc

A fizzing lockable wallet is the way to go. Especially for hunters..

• Registered Users Posts: 2,333 ✭✭✭J.R.

An American i shot against back in 2011 gave me some empty ammo cans he had (to save paying to ship them home) and he showed me this way to lock them.

I think they call them "life hacks". Like the tin foil trays your chinese take away comes in. Its "wrinkled" so you can fold it out to act as a bowl/plate or the hole in the end of the handle of a saucepan is for holding your wooden spoon.

Ha!....had to read the beginning of that second line again!!!

• Registered Users Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭Kat1170

An American i shot against back in 2011 gave me some empty ammo cans he had (to save paying to ship them home) and he showed me this way to lock them. I think they call them "life hacks". Like the tin foil trays your chinese take away comes in. Its "wrinkled" so you can fold it out to act as a bowl/plate or the hole in the end of the handle of a saucepan is for holding your wooden spoon.
    Learned something new there today! Thanks!

HERE ya go :D:D

J.R. wrote: »
    Ha!....had to read the beginning of that second line again!!!

Jesus, yeah.

Everyone please make sure to read words 5 to 8 too, before panicking. :D

Kat1170 wrote: »
    HERE ya go :D:D

Thanks. Now i have to read all those posts to see how i've being doing things wrong.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,596 ✭✭✭Feisar

Like the tin foil trays your chinese take away comes in. Its "wrinkled" so you can fold it out to act as a bowl/plate

First they came for the socialists...

• Registered Users Posts: 550 ✭✭✭JP22

Lads, whether you agree/disagree with the current regs is not the issue, its just a lockable ammo box and a requirement to have same.

I have been using 50cal ammo boxes for years, its like using a safe even for just one firearm; its best practice, its peace of mind, it keeps your family and inquisitive small fingers safe and it meets whatever requirements you are currently asked for.

Just get a box, job done, end of, nothing hard in that.