Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.

Stout

• 04-01-2021 2:02am
    Registered Users Posts: 435 ✭✭

Right as the title says I'm a stout man. Unable to drink cider any more due to a health issue and never got into beer etc
    Looking for recommendations
    I currently drink guinness. Not a fan of beamish or murphys

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

I would say O'Hara's Leann Folláin and Porterhouse XXXX are two of the best in regular production.

• Registered Users Posts: 342 ✭✭flended12

Agree with beer nut, you could also try Stag Saor Stout by 9 White Deer.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Another +1 for O'Haras Leann Follain, 4/€10 euro in Tesco

Guinness Extra stout

Guinness Foreign Extra stout, 4/€10 in Tesco, 5/€10 euro in O'Briens

• Registered Users Posts: 3,073 ✭✭✭Mervyn Skidmore

Another here for Leann Follain. My go to stout.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,418 ✭✭✭Infernal Racket

Just stick to Arthurs finest. Nothing beats it

• Registered Users Posts: 3,506 ✭✭✭Interslice

Porterhouse plain porter is beautiful. Murphys is my go to for a creamy can of stout.

Just stick to Arthurs finest. Nothing beats it

Sorry but I beg to differ, many many stouts beat it.

Geuze wrote: »
    Another +1 for O'Haras Leann Follain, 4/€10 euro in Tesco

Guinness Extra stout

Guinness Foreign Extra stout, 4/€10 in Tesco, 5/€10 euro in O'Briens

Btw all those offers will be gone from the 11th apparently. Simon Harris and his nanny state laws despite being unable to be nanny state during the pandemic.

Sorry but I beg to differ, many many stouts beat it.

They really don't. There is nothing better than a pint of plain.

Ok, we'll agree to disagree.

Absolutely. That's the joys of personal taste. I've honestly never tasted a nicer stout but that's just my taste buds. People differ

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 5,760 Mod ✭✭✭✭irish_goat

Porterhouse Plain is a great pint, you're right there.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,761 ✭✭✭Aglomerado

irish_goat wrote: »
    Porterhouse Plain is a great pint, you're right there.
    That's a tasty pint, a fecking year since I had one.
    Sweetman's on Burgh Quay do a good stout as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 15,116 ✭✭✭✭RasTa

Cask stout beats nitro

• Registered Users Posts: 4,079 ✭✭✭Bambaata

Kinnegar Yanaroddy, beautiful stuff!

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭Thundercats Ho

Leann Follain and xxxx as mentioned are my favourites.

You could go onto drinkstore.ie (or one of many others) and order a load of different stouts, so you can see what suits you best.

If you're a fan of nitro stouts, Left Hand do some great stuff, and these can be got in decent offies or drinkstore.

The Siera Nevada stout is really good too.

Just to add another couple. Boundary Export stout is lovely, as is Laidir from 4 Provinces.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,062 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Btw all those offers will be gone from the 11th apparently. Simon Harris and his nanny state laws despite being unable to be nanny state during the pandemic.

Off topic, sorry, but jaysus these laws are brutal.

Is there a thread to discuss them?

Swinging gates into the alcohol aisle / no more bulk purchase offers.........

The sensible majority are being punished.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 60 ✭✭Follow_ur_lead

Right as the title says I'm a stout man. Unable to drink cider any more due to a health issue and never got into beer etc
    Looking for recommendations
    I currently drink guinness. Not a fan of beamish or murphys

Guinness or Guinness extra.

If you're a fan of nitro stouts, Left Hand do some great stuff,

Left hand is a great shout!

Laidir from 4 Provinces.

Fergal and the lads produce a lovely stout.

flended12 wrote: »
    Fergal and the lads produce a lovely stout.

I'm in the west and can't get my hands on it. I used to love seeing it in lidl every now and then. A top stout.

• Registered Users Posts: 563 ✭✭✭Yakov P. Golyadkin

Wicklow Wolf Apex Oatmeal Stout is quite nice, 3 for €9 in O'Briens.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,777 Mod ✭✭✭✭BeerNut

Geuze wrote: »
    Off topic, sorry, but jaysus these laws are brutal.

Is there a thread to discuss them?

Here, but the debate is long over.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 67,600 Mod ✭✭✭✭L1011

And the loyalty points ban actually initially dates back to the days of Harney in Health and the noted fun-lover Dermot Ahern in Justice - its been on the books, just not commenced, for over a decade; its not all Harris era - he wasn't even a councillor then and was barely old enough to be a TD had he wanted to be!

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭champchamp

I love stout. Leann Follain and Porterhouse are lovely (the oyster stout is nice too).
    Hard to beat a good pint of Guinness though, tastes like mother's milk if you get a good one.

champchamp wrote: »
    I love stout. Leann Follain and Porterhouse are lovely (the oyster stout is nice too).
    Hard to beat a good pint of Guinness though, tastes like mother's milk if you get a good one.

I hope someone of drinking age isn't drinking mothers milk.

• Registered Users Posts: 220 ✭✭champchamp

I hope someone of drinking age isn't drinking mothers milk.

I must be getting old, it was a common enough saying around these parts when I was young...

• Registered Users Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Effects

Boundary Export stout is lovely.

I've had a few that have been off. So much so that when it was on sale at my local offie recently I didn't want to take the chance.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭overthebridge

flended12 wrote: »
    Left hand is a great shout!

+1 for Left Hand. The Nitro Milk Stout is absolutely amazing. You'd knock a can back in a few sups it's so smooth.