Livestock/General Farming photo thread TAKE #2 ::::RULES IN 1st POST::::

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭tellmeabit

SFL was a Great breeder
    BB2247 is gone too

He had a few of them. Will see how this one goes. The cow is a long tall skinny Charolais🤣 was thinking it will end up being a plain calf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,224 ✭✭✭charolais0153

tellmeabit wrote: »
    He had a few of them. Will see how this one goes. The cow is a long tall skinny Charolais🀣 was thinking it will end up being a plain calf.

Blues don't really cross well on charolais, won't get mad muscly stock usually

Ya thought the RWS would throw better. Sold one of them this week. Weighted 335kg at 225days old. But not as much muscle as I thought. Some of them cows have blue blood too. Keeping a few limos for breeding this year. Oldest cows got blue bull and could be their last twist.

Them white bulls are never as muscled as the black ones, used bb4399 and wbh here

Calve away with some help? This is my 2nd year of all AI, that's interesting 're the colour. When my dad used Ai, he used pick coloured blues alight.
    The CH cows are throwing chunky calves alright but not explosive muscling

Calve away with some help? This is my 2nd year of all AI, that's interesting 're the colour. When my dad used Ai, he used pick coloured blues alight.
    The CH cows are throwing chunky calves alright but not explosive muscling

We' ll see, white bulls bring nicer colours, if ya get the cow right and keep the silage back from them, they should calve away,

The above comments is what I really like about this forum the way people share what they know from experience so openly, info that you can't find in a book , well I haven't yet anyways,.
    Like the crossing bbq with Ch, or the colours. We see all these roan heifers going for wild money, and I suppose I have eyed up a few of mine with effort to come up with that flavour of animal, or the well muscled animal. The years it takes to learn from own experimenting can be reduced . Just wanted to say thanks to everyone whom contributes to these threads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

Last bit of grass and natures shed!

I presume you haven't contributed to the "snotty weanling" thread :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,747 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

DukeCaboom wrote: »
    I presume you haven't contributed to the "snotty weanling" thread :)

I haven't. Actually lost one last week but above any of them he was flying it with no coughing and I know the farm i bought him out of, so he would have been well dosed etc. Problem with weanlings is its not what you do with them, its what was done before you got them and the land they came off. Lots of weanlings pumped up with meal and still on their on their mother's and in the blink of an eye they are standing in a mart for 5 or 6 hours, then a trailer spin, let into in a cold damp shed on meal they may or may not have been on before and 10 others screeching and balling beside them. That's when the lack of dosing and vaccinations tells its story. Did all the cattle up to a 15mts old with Albex and turbo thrive 2 weeks ago and nice shine coming back on them again. Older cattle don't need a fluke dose here unless they are bought in that year.

That's funny you should say that. A friend of mine bought fr runners off a chap six weeks ago & they've his heart broke. Reckons now yer man never had them dosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 399 ✭✭furandfeather

10 day old lisadell jackpot bull calf out of a dickens heifer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 90 ✭✭Neo Sanders

10 day old lisadell jackpot bull calf out of a dickens heifer

Looks a good one, maybe the next 52k si bull 😉

Looks a good one, maybe the next 52k si bull ��

What sort of lucks penny would I have to give back out of that??!!

LOL,, €20????

What did you make of the bull making 52k? Was he better than anything seen before? He had great pedigree... Or was there some bit of payback and everyone wins with all the publicity?

I presume his straws will be available, would you be eager to use him?

LOL,, €20????

What did you make of the bull making 52k? Was he better than anything seen before? He had great pedigree... Or was there some bit of payback and everyone wins with all the publicity?

I presume his straws will be available, would you be eager to use him?

I wouldn't know anything about the politics of it all I do know is he was the finest simmental bull iv seen in the flesh.
    Hes gone to England so I dunno what the story is on straws.

I wouldn't know anything about the politics of it all I do know is he was the finest simmental bull iv seen in the flesh.
    Hes gone to England so I dunno what the story is on straws.

If he is that good then maybe there's no politics. Don't popular ai bulls make hundreds of thousands in semen sales?? Fair play to the breeder. It'll be interesting to see how the siblings do over the coming years...

It's also good for the SI breed, they have been the poor relation to ch and lm over the years... I always liked them, I think they are underrated in general

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Dozer1

Last calf of 2020.. first calver I bought a few months back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,174 ✭✭✭Lady Haywire

Dozer1 wrote: »

I like that lass. Not too big, well shaped.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,344 ✭✭✭Dozer1

As they'd say in the mart...you're a judge..you're a judge...

To be fair I've bought a few off the same man and they are quiet as lambs which in the important thing. She's a big enough lady but hopefully will be lucky

Dozer1 wrote: »

Awesome shed too!!

First limo born here since the days of oei !
    Lodge hamlet out of a simmental heifer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,418 ✭✭✭Hard Knocks

Lovely calf

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,547 ✭✭✭tanko

Lovely calf, any bother calving him?

Lovely calf, great shape

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,726 ✭✭✭Limestone Cowboy

Oei would put you off them for a while alright. Quality lunatics!

tanko wrote: »
    Lovely calf, any bother calving him?

Decent pull but nothing crazy. Think I'd only use him on a 2nd calver again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 11,828 ✭✭✭✭Base price

For those that are interested - the Irish Shorthorn premier beef sale is on the 21st of Nov at Roscommon mart on the LSL (Livestock Live) app. There are also some organic registered animals in the catalogue. Look on their facebook page for more details.
    https://www.facebook.com/irishshorthorn/photos/a.672394209637324/1452900724919998/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 205 ✭✭Gudstock

Base price wrote: »
    For those that are interested - the Irish Shorthorn premier beef sale is on the 21st of Nov at Roscommon mart on the LSL (Livestock Live) app. There are also some organic registered animals in the catalogue. Look on their facebook page for more details.
    https://www.facebook.com/irishshorthorn/photos/a.672394209637324/1452900724919998/

Looks like some great stock from pics posted on facebook.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 19,423 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

Plastic wrap storage always was a problem.
    We started using tonn bags few years ago, builders trestle holds it open handy.

7-E6-FF8-BA-AB12-447-C-B1-DA-AA11-C8-D65-AF6.jpg