Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

When are these restrictions due to come into effect, I'm travelling back from Cork in the morning to Galway, is it midnight tomorrow?

Nphet have as they usually do announced their desire to the media before giving government the chance to consider what they are asking for. Government haven't met yet to decide on the recommendations. Personally I think Holohan should be told to f**k off and stay at home.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Have you a number of how many soldiers we need to close the border?

This should be good.

Course they don't. Spouting absolute rubbish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,224 ✭✭✭Gradius

This should be good.

What about getting sandwiches to the soldiers at lunchtime? What if the sandwich van burst a tire?!

Trivial bullshytting over details, when all it really translates to is "that sounds really difficult and I don't want to even consider it."

Well, watch the choices dwindle as people keep talking about what they don't want to do.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

fritzelly wrote: »
    IF we go to level 5 or 4 then the government needs to put their foot down and start taking action against those people breaking the guidelines and put it in to law and get the gardai to enforce it
    Not wearing a mask - 100 euro on the spot fine - those idiots on Grafton St could have helped substantially to the HSE
    Pubs/restaurants/shops breaking guidelines - immediate 1000 euro fine
    and so on
    House parties - 500 euro fine

None of this pandering around where the gardai say they will have a look at it and consider investigating

I don't see why the rest of us have to suffer for the indignant fools who think they are above the rest of us and are immune to the virus and being told what to do

lets go lads. We can do it. Lets get through it.

edit: best post I've seen in 6 months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Miike wrote: »
    They are only recommendations by the NPHET to government. Nothing has been adopted yet

If Stephen Donnelly get his way the recommendations will be rubber stamped pronto.

Unlikely to see discussion

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,014 ✭✭✭Miike

I dont understand how we got to the point where nphet seem to believe they have become an acting political entity that is allowed to make public announcements and put the government into untenable positions.
    They are an advisory body to the government no more no less. They should never have been allowed on TV never mind regular public briefings.
    The only ones to blame here are the incredibly weak politicians who pose as our elected government. They now just seem to be bouncing off a hysterical media and an out of control nphet with no power of their own. I wouldnt be surprised if the government collapsed over this.

Oh how the tides turn. Not too long ago everyone was whinging because they wouldn't publish the minutes of their meetings or tell the public what was being discussed or recommended. They have made recommendations to the government, as is their function, what the media does with that is up to the media and how the public react is up to them.

This should be good.

Don't hold your breath waiting for an informed answer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Strumms wrote: »
    Are we to base our reaction to covid countrywide though based on the numbers from one county ?

India which is also a place on earth has a fatality rate of 1.6%... should we just forget social distancing based on this. Italy though is 11.1%.

So you want to hammer people in areas where there's no problems?

Shut down the economy and put people out of work for no reason?

And who cares what India or Italy is like? That would be only relevant if we were talking about opening up travel with them. I doubt people in Florence and Delhi are sitting around saying "oh, look at the case numbers in Ballina, what'll we do now?". :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,556 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Gradius wrote: »
    What about getting sandwiches to the soldiers at lunchtime? What if the sandwich van burst a tire?!

Trivial bullshytting over details, when all it really translates to is "that sounds really difficult and I don't want to even consider it."

Well, watch the choices dwindle as people keep talking about what they don't want to do.

So you have no idea how to implement your close the border plan.

Just as I hought

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Try and do some research from the 1960s up until the mid 1990s and show less ignorance than to call those struggles trivial.

If that starts up again a virus like Covid will be the least of our worries

Your actually clueless as to how any of this works if that's what you think, it simply is not possible for multiple reasons. Namely international law and the good Friday agreement...

Watch.... grand will bookmark this.

Bullshyt.

Building an anti-gravity machine is nigh on impossible.

Closing a border is entirely possible.

"Oh but the bits of paper and the politics!"

See how much a virus thinks of our bits of paper and politics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 358 ✭✭Rambling Man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

This should be good.

He won't give you an answer.
    It's ~500km long, I'd say 1 soldier for every 100m. That's only 5000 soldiers per shift, 3 shifts a day, 7 days a week (which is alot). means we only need 15,000 soldiers.... we have 7,300 and 1,600 reserves...... opps, we can't even do that so!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Soldiers on the border and NPHET nazis. This thread has well and truly gone off the deep end now.

Sure on Saturday there were posters calling for state sponsored massacres.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

Bullshyt.

Virus doesn't give a **** about a border, but the Irish Constitution is not just a bit of paper. How dare you.

Try and do some research from the 1960s up until the mid 1990s and show less ignorance than to call those struggles trivial.

If that starts up again a virus like Covid will be the least of our worries

No bother, I'll sit a biological virus down and show it a few episodes of reeling in the years. That'll change its mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Zebra3 wrote: »
    The collective effort to leave people in poverty led by the the six figure per annum brigade?
    Take your hatred of democracy elsewhere.
    But I guess you'd rather the country listens to an idiot like Martin who was a senior government minister when FF and the Greens told us we were getting the cheapest bailout in history.
    And there's Varadkar beside him. Do you remember what Varadkar said about Martin a few months ago? "Putting him back in charge would be like putting John Delaney back in control of the FAI".
    And there's Varadkar pulling what 200 grand a year, standing beside him, backing him up.
    I'm finding it difficult to tell whether you're for or against the government :confused:
    Unless you wanted SF in, who appear to have completely disappeared since any hard work was required of the government..

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Virus doesn't give a **** about a border, but the Irish Constitution is not just a bit of paper. How dare you.

Tell the virus about our constitution then, see how it reacts.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Nphet have as they usually do announced their desire to the media before giving government the chance to consider what they are asking for. Government haven't met yet to decide on the recommendations. Personally I think Holohan should be told to f**k off and stay at home.

Do you really? I personally feel that moronic fcukwits should be told the exact same thing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Soldiers on the border and NPHET nazis. This thread has well and truly gone off the deep end now.

Stop chastising people. Be honest. you are financially affected. That's ok. We can sort that and sort there virus.

So you can't answer the question posed, you resort to nonsense instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Bullshyt.

I give up after this reply.

So you want to break an international treaty, fair play.

Oh the bits of paper and politics... eh a bit more complex than that now.

At this stage your just being ignorant and thats being polite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,055 ✭✭✭JohnnyFlash

Just a few days ahead of what will almost certainly be happening in Spain, Czech Republic, France, parts of Italy. At a minimum localised lockdowns in major cities.

NI is already looking like a very sad story is coming up. Some of the highest rates in the entirety of Europe

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 622 ✭✭✭sheepsh4gger

Nothing confirmed yet. Still only recommendations before the government decides.

If they go against the recommendations their careers will be over, it's highly unlikely that they will not follow NPHET. It's just a formality.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,148 ✭✭✭mountgomery burns

So the GAA are to blame for parties in pubs and houses?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,089 ✭✭✭Happy4all

Forkin hell!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 165 ✭✭Hand in Your Pants

Miike wrote: »
    My faith in evidence based, replicated studies remains totally intact. How else should we make health recommendations or discoveries? Sadly, my crystal ball is getting cleaned at the moment so that's out.

Well, you always need to exercise caution about what you put your "faith" in.

There is a whole range of abstracted nonsense floating around in the guise of 'science' (say for example, particularly in the fields of astrophysics) popularised by charlatans that many today take as scripture.

I'm certain you are also aware of the replication crisis in the sciences.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,438 ✭✭✭j8wk2feszrnpao

No bother, I'll sit a biological virus down and show it a few episodes of reeling in the years. That'll change its mind.
    Your not doing yourself any favours. Deploying troops to a border, that doesn’t exist with infrastructure, isn’t possible. Technically it could be done if you had a dictatorship, enough troops, no fear of the repercussions etc.... but it couldn’t happen here.

Do you really? I personally feel that moronic ****wits should be told the exact same.

I wrote it so yes I do. People seem to forget Holohans role in the CS scandal. His castigating of nursing homes for restricting visitors at the start of the pandemic. So yeah he should stay the f**k at home where he can inflict very little harm.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Bullshyt.

See how much the IRA and the UVF care about a virus..

Which do you think will kill more.