Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

hmmm wrote: »
    The Relaxation thread is leaking. They've been over there egging each other on with increasingly obnoxious opinions, and unfortunately some of them seem to think their opinions are now mainstream - and can safely go around repeating them out loud.

Are you pulling the proverbial? have you read some of the desire to have violence carried out by the state on this very thread.

Micky 32 wrote: »
    Sounds like someone disagreed with your opinion/view on the relaxation thread.

He got reminded of some nonsense he posted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

A bunch of worthless shambling alcoholics aren't protestors. A shame we can't inflict tianmen square on them.

Mod: Where do you start with this? Do not post in this thread when you come back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 838 ✭✭✭The_Brood

froog wrote: »
    impossible to get large parts of the population on board with further restrictions at this stage, particularly young people. we should be looking at emergency mitigation plans now, readying the military for field hospitals etc. i'm not joking.

It has been the case since the beginning. This government is the biggest failure in Irish history. They need to either A) go with the Swedish approach and let society live, accepting the virus will just have to play outs it course or B)if they actually want to seriously tackle it, they need total military-style full-on China lockdown.

The current "we'll send them pamphlets and videos and hope they'll do what's sensible" is an absolute joke and embarrassment and flies in the face of what anyone with half a brain can tell you about how society works. No human being of any intelligence can remotely expect that society at large will just comply with your advice if there is no consequence form them.

Sweden or China, pick one - this in between approach is a slow, prolonged death that is doing nothing to stop the numbers.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 284 ✭✭TexasTornado

The Relaxation thread is leaking. They've been over there egging each other on with increasingly obnoxious opinions, and unfortunately some of them seem to think their opinions are now mainstream - and can safely go around repeating them out loud.

It's an utter nutshop over there tbh. Best avoided.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 651 ✭✭✭440Hertz

Seems if you’re a bunch of mostly middle-aged women who’ve been laid off without redundancy and you’re protesting, in a totally safe and socially distanced way the gardai will arrest you for illegal assembly on public health grounds.

If you’re a rowdy bunch of assorted conspiracy theorists, barging down Dublin’s main shopping street at peak time on a Saturday, sure off you go! No pandemic here!

If this goes on for much longer, I think many people will assume that the state is actually supporting the conspiracy theorists. From a reasonably objective perspective, that’s the impression one might draw from it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,037 ✭✭✭JJayoo

Sligo was doing so well.... Fecking donegal reg cars everywhere :(

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

rooney30 wrote: »
    The more of your posts I read the more I think you are just winding people up .
    If the above statement is actually true then you are probably the only person in the country to have done this

Why is someone who does something out of the ordinary gets called a troll or winding people up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,690 ✭✭✭✭Skylinehead

Mod: Lads, calling people trolls is only going to get you a card, true or not. Use the report function. We'll get to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Have you a problem with alternate opinions Hmmm? Do you not like debate?
    Do you disagree with Dr Feeley? I suppose you’re a champion of Tomás Ryan, McConkey, and the other stalwarts of zero Covid?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

The_Brood wrote: »
    Sweden or China, pick one - this in between approach is a slow, prolonged death that is doing nothing to stop the numbers.

Sweden is faring substantially worse than we are over the course of the Pandemic, 583 deaths/million v 366 for us. They also had a more severe economic contraction than we did, so not that sure about their approach working.

The_Brood wrote: »
    It has been the case since the beginning. This government is the biggest failure in Irish history. They need to either A) go with the Swedish approach and let society live, accepting the virus will just have to play outs it course or B)if they actually want to seriously tackle it, they need total military-style full-on China lockdown.

The current "we'll send them pamphlets and videos and hope they'll do what's sensible" is an absolute joke and embarrassment and flies in the face of what anyone with half a brain can tell you about how society works. No human being of any intelligence can remotely expect that society at large will just comply with your advice if there is no consequence form them.

Why Sweden or China? Can we do what New Zealand did?

Move ourselves thousands of miles from anyone, we could all paddle I guess?

If we could get the Unionists to leave the north and the British to agree to give back the 6 counties and pull the country a few thousand miles away from Europe yeah a NZ approach might be possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Anyone see the covid data on google maps?

Or has been there a while

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

froog wrote: »
    impossible to get large parts of the population on board with further restrictions at this stage, particularly young people. we should be looking at emergency mitigation plans now, readying the military for field hospitals etc. i'm not joking.

Anyone breaking restrictions high fines, taken straight from pup, dole or wages

Inquitus wrote: »
    Move ourselves thousands of miles from anyone, we could all paddle I guess?

Great response. Sweden or China so?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Inquitus wrote: »
    Sweden is faring substantially worse than we are over the course of the Pandemic, 583 deaths/million v 366 for us. They also had a more severe economic contraction than we did, so not that sure about their approach working.

Are you basing the economic contraction on our Leprechaun economic GDP figure which accounts for multinationals moving large sums of money through Ireland or our real GNP figure?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It's an utter nutshop over there tbh. Best avoided.

Yeah, not the most PC thread tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Let it flow or communism? Which do you prefer?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

spookwoman wrote: »
    With the college students they should at least expel them at this stage after the other night.

College students are adults and should be dealt with as such -not indulged as if they were hapless children driven by impulses they can't control. They have been appealed to and encouraged to be socially compliant ( The president of UL showed great leadership in going around to student rental residences to express the gravity of the situation. )
    If they don't play ball there should be less of the cajoling and more coercion with suitable penalties.
    Students must learn quickly that life can turn sour and ugly at any stage and they can't be given a free pass to continue unscathed as if everything is as normal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 408 ✭✭rooney30

We probably can do what the kiwis did, if we want to accept 10% economic contraction year on year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,326 ✭✭✭Scuid Mhór

As far as I'm concerned, prancing down Grafton Street in the manner I'm seeing over videos on Twitter is a form of intimidation. There's freedom of expression, and then there's scientific literary. If the Gardai aren't going to stop them from protesting (and fair enough, everyone has a right to protest), the Gardai should at least be taking their names, because if they come down with COVID and require ICU care, I'd be more inclined to give it to someone who adhered to the social distance guidelines and didn't recklessly endanger the rest of us.

These COVID months have really made the bell curve distribution of intelligence very apparent to me.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Think we all need to chill out. Stay safe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

I was pretty shocked to hear 10 deaths when I got home. That's a pretty big increase . Has a nursing home been infected again or something?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 713 ✭✭✭manniot2

china. has to be. bolt people in. it will be worth it.by may 2021 we be back in a full croke park.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭stockshares

What’s incompetent? Do you believe people don’t have the right to protest current policy as dictated by an unelected group of doctors?
    It's allowed simply because everyone has the right to peaceful protest.

They're a group of fools but not breaking any law, only person they can go after is whoever organised it

People can protest but they don't have to do it in a manner that goes against the guidelines. Marches risk spreading the virus and endangering everyone else.

The Gov have to realise that by allowing these marches it contradicts everything they are trying to do .

The protesters are abusing their right to protest in order to promote themselves and their ideology

bb1234567 wrote: »
    I was pretty shocked to hear 10 deaths when I got home. That's a pretty big increase . Has a nursing home been infected again or something?

All bar I think 2 pre-date September.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,973 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

bb1234567 wrote: »
    Only 2 are recent

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,750 ✭✭✭boardise

odyssey06 wrote: »
    Yes to water cannons.
    No to panzers.

A nice bright coloured dye would be a serviceable ploy I feel.