Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,595 ✭✭✭✭CIARAN_BOYLE

Which is probably why Leo and others are saying we should stop fixating on cases and look at hospitalisations and ICU entries.

Leo said we should look at deaths.

That's a complete fantasy as 3/4 of deaths reported today were from over a month ago.

We do look at verious metrics but I think the fact that people say deaths should be looked at is insane.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 16,376 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

We had a bit of a lull there for about a fortnight, with case numbers going up, but without much change in the narrative. It felt like a pause before the beginning of the next scene in the act.

Expect things to change during thia week or next. Level three is going to be on the cards for a few more counties and I think it's time for a bit more frankness from those in power about where we are heading.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Thanks Simon. I’ll stay safe thanks.
    Please implement a policy that stops the spread and unnecessary deaths. For that to work you’d have to stop talking out of both sides of your mouth.

https://twitter.com/simonharristd/status/1312441248045645827?s=21

Yes let’s all hide under the bed again for 6 months, worked so well the first time. I stated on this thread at the start of level 3 for Dublin, they were a waste of time. They just put more people out of work, destroyed the economy and drove socialising underground. We need to reopen everything with regulations for the winter, allow society to function following the procedures re masks, social distancing, etc. There needs to be an information campaign for people re who is at a high risk of Covid. At the moment the ‘All in this together’ message has some over 65’s thinking they can take the same risks as younger people.
    Contact tracing would be more efficient if socialising was regulated. It also allows society to function & jobs to be supported.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

And why haven't you seen any of them ?

Outdoors, 2m, masks etc take the precautions. I've been visiting family every few weeks keeping distance, mask on, hand hygiene etc

I'd rather not take the risk.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How?

You're putting the responsibility on everyone else.

He should wash his hands, wear a mask, limit his contacts, all the usual stuff that NPHET say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,479 ✭✭✭landofthetree

polesheep wrote: »
    So should the same apply to all the obese people who don't take their health seriously? Or all of the smokers whose habit makes them vulnerable to Covid?

No. It wouldn't be right.

But a large number of hospital cases are down to obesity,alcohol and smoking.

But if any politician came out and said that the mob would go crazy.

During lockdown Beaumont had a lot of alcohol related problems.
    One in every five patients admitted to the critical care unit in Dublin’s Beaumont Hospital during the lockdown were there because of booze, a top medic has revealed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

What part of outdoors, 2m and masks is risky

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Leo said we should look at deaths.

That's a complete fantasy as 3/4 of deaths reported today were from over a month ago.

We do look at verious metrics but I think the fact that people say deaths should be looked at is insane.

Only 39 critical care beds available in the country as of today, looks like with escalated cases we may have a problem shortly.
    Figures last night from the HSE showed there are 234 critical care beds currently occupied, and there are 39 adult critical care beds available nationwide.

https://www.rte.ie/news/coronavirus/2020/1003/1169176-covid-data-figures-ireland/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭hynesie08

Then don't blame everyone else, isolate for 2 weeks, get a test, but it's not other people's fault.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators Posts: 18,098 Mod ✭✭✭✭ixoy

Arghus wrote: »
    I think it's time for a bit more frankness from those in power about where we are heading.
    At this point, it'd almost be better for the CMO to be a bit more blunt and just go "some of ye need to just cop the f**k on" on live TV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Well that's up to you but you can go and see them.

So your trying to wish restrictions onto everyone else because you haven't done something you can do.

Its as safe or as dangerous as you make it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Which is probably why Leo and others are saying we should stop fixating on cases and look at hospitalisations and ICU entries.

They’ll say don’t look at cases look at hospital numbers.
    Then they’ll say don’t look at hospital numbers look at ICU.
    Then they’ll say don’t look at ICU look at deaths.
    Then they’ll say don’t look at deaths with Covid look at deaths where the person had no underlying conditions.

If we take those numbers out we are doing Quite well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,551 ✭✭✭giveitholly

We had a bit of a lull there for about a fortnight, with case numbers going up, but without much change in the narrative. It felt like a pause before the beginning of the next scene in the act.

Expect things to change during thia week or next. Level three is going to be on the cards for a few more counties and I think it's time for a bit more frankness from those in power about where we are heading.

Will level 3 country wide have much of an effect? Can't see people's attitude changing if it just goes to level 3 and all you are doing is closing restaurants and pubs

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Haha yer man is still there posting away all the livelong day despite deriding another poster for posting on a Saturday.
    https://www.irishtimes.com/news/health/hard-times-ahead-unless-covid-19-policy-is-seriously-revamped-1.4370823

Paul Cullen has been talking a lot of sense lately about how to keep things open and ticking over while keeping cases down. A lack of oversight, training, money and people's apathy are huge contributors where there are outbreaks.

It doesn't keep when mental gymnastics are required to justify cases in certain settings not being outbreaks, teachers are being asked to delete the tracking app and the contact tracing still isn't up to scratch.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

I'm just sick of the kid gloves bull**** in Ireland. The likes of China have a point. If people don't want to comply they should be made to

You're so quick with your responses I'm beginning to suspect that you are, in fact, two people... both attached to the same body.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,770 ✭✭✭firemansam4

Maybe I'll get an infraction for saying this,

But seriously where are the mods on this forum?
    There are certain posters coming out with some disgusting comments and I can only assume are just trolling at this stage. At least I hope they are because it's scary if some people really believed in some of the things they are posting.

This will go on and on. It also appears people can be reinfected. Hard to know where it will end.

Appears does not equal science.

Maybe I'll get an infraction for saying this,

But seriously where are the mods on this forum?
    There are certain posters coming out with some disgusting comments and I can only assume are just trolling at this stage. At least I hope they are because it's scary if some people really believed in some of the things they are posting.

Can't debate so you go crying to the mods. Sorry for disturbing the circle jerk

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Appears does not equal science.

Science is unequivocal either way on this matter at this point.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Can't debate so you go crying to the mods. Sorry for disturbing the circle jerk

Inciting violence is grand though

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Yep. I've said it before, the government plan is "I hope when I wake up tomorrow that there is a vaccine".

Thats the plan in every Western country. Asia and Zero Covid is the model to follow. Hopefully it happens soon. Matter of time before governments realise its the only exit strategy viable

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,536 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Chicke wrote: »
    Anyone know the point of the lockdown in March when we back to square one and on a journey to worse.Did we substantially improve capacity in hospital?Is our health system in a much bettee postlition than it was in March?Anyone know the improvements made?

Better but not much better in terms of ICU capacity.

More important is probably better understanding on use of ventilation, treatments like dexamethasone, use of masks.

https://www.thejournal.ie/icu-bed-numbers-5217685-Sep2020/

Pre-Covid capacity: 225
    Temporary surge capacity: 354
    Current permanent capacity: 280
    Capacity after Winter Plan funding: 297

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

Chicke wrote: »
    Anyone know the point of the lockdown in March when we back to square one and on a journey to worse.Did we substantially improve capacity in hospital?Is our health system in a much bettee postlition than it was in March?Anyone know the improvements made?

Yes, zero improvements. They decided they’d do nothing with our HSE, Call for Ireland group of people who gave up their lives abroad to come
    home, no increase in hospital capacity because they hired no extra staff, no offering anyone who came home any sort of proper HSE contract, nothing.
    Same message though - ‘The next 10-14 days are critical, We are very concerned’.
    I’ve repeatedly questioned where the data is re asymptomatic cases. How many of these hospitalisations are just people in for routine procedures in hospitals and are given a Covid test as per the rules, which tests positive. I’ve also repeatedly called for more data on why thousands of people were put out of work in Dublin and Donegal with no notice and how they came to that decision. How that will stop the spread of Covid 19, and what other group of experts besides Tunnel vision Covid Eradication NPHET contributed to that decision.
    I also ask today, where is the data to support the continued closure of these businesses who spent thousands getting ready to reopen.
    And finally, where is our Government? NPHET advises, the Government governs. At the moment,
    NPHET meets, leaks to media, Governs and decides policy across all departments.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 8,833 CMod ✭✭✭✭Sierra Oscar

His is this allowed . Total incompetence by Gov and Garda here.

https://twitter.com/TheGlutton/status/1312460958200070144?s=19

What do you expect the Gardaí to do exactly? Baton charge them off the street?

Inciting violence is grand though

Keeping the peace and maintaining order is what I call it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,145 ✭✭✭✭niallo27

wadacrack wrote: »
    Thats the plan in every Western country. Asia and Zero Covid is the model to follow. Hopefully it happens soon. Matter of time before governments realise its the only exit strategy viable

We are following the Asian model, its just we are not as efficient as them at it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 199 ✭✭Maestro85

Care to speculate on which counties? You have been fairly on the money with your previous analysis of the situation as it developed over the last few months.

And why haven't you seen any of them ?

Outdoors, 2m, masks etc take the precautions. I've been visiting family every few weeks keeping distance, mask on, hand hygiene etc

For their own good I imagine. In case he runs over them with a tank.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,033 ✭✭✭Russman

You have to love the narrative with some people,
    Global pandemic, probably a one in a hundred year event, starts to become inconvenient so people say “feck it I’ve had enough, let’s open everything”

Which no doubt will be twisted into “virus I have a 99 point whatever percent chance of surviving isn’t going to impact MY life, just lock up the vulnerable and carry on” - as if that’s even possible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭prunudo

Is there a full moon tonight, thread has gone full on bat**** crazy.