Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Where can i sign up for the covid militia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,772 ✭✭✭stockshares

His is this allowed . Total incompetence by Gov and Garda here.

https://twitter.com/TheGlutton/status/1312460958200070144?s=19

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,009 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

My friend just got out of hospital. This will kill him if he gets it. We have have to do our best to keep this down.

How do you know this is explicitly true?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

My friend just got out of hospital. This will kill him if he gets it. We have have to do our best to keep this down.

I had major surgery in Beaumont and they sent me home early a few weeks back to recover at home due to Covid getting into the place, thankfully I am probably out of risk range now, at least I hope, I wish your friend the best.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Chicke

Anyone know the point of the lockdown in March when we back to square one and on a journey to worse.Did we substantially improve capacity in hospital?Is our health system in a much bettee postlition than it was in March?Anyone know the improvements made?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Polar101 wrote: »
    I know speed is of the essence, but you'd hope anyone writing a story on the report would read it through first, and then pick the relevant points to report.

Having said that, I don't really know what would be a good way to report "historic" deaths. It feels like they are somehow less of a death the way they do it now.

There is a time honoured way to write a press release. The first paragraph contains the information that you most want reported. You then continue to write on that basis. The idea is that sub-editors with a certain amount of space to fill will just read enough to fill the space and no more. It is rare for journalists and editors to read the entirety of a press release unless it is very short. Remember, they all want to be first with the story. Therefore, if there is information that you would like to go unnoticed, you put it at the end of the press release.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,196 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

It wont stop parties ffs, its not that hard to drive across the border and im sure there will be plenty of enterprising lads selling on the black market

If schools stay open and those who cannot WFH are going into their workplace, forget about any drastic measures like stopping off sales.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭Goldrickssan

Chicke wrote: »
    Anyone know the point of the lockdown in March when we back to square one and on a journey to worse.Did we substantially improve capacity in hospital?Is our health system in a much bettee postlition than it was in March?Anyone know the improvements made?

Short answer, no. Long answer, no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

I haven't seen my kids, parents, ex wife or friends face to face in 6 months because of this thing. I'm dead serious

And why haven't you seen any of them ?

Outdoors, 2m, masks etc take the precautions. I've been visiting family every few weeks keeping distance, mask on, hand hygiene etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

FFS :mad:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

Thanks Simon. I’ll stay safe thanks.
    Please implement a policy that stops the spread and unnecessary deaths. For that to work you’d have to stop talking out of both sides of your mouth.

https://twitter.com/simonharristd/status/1312441248045645827?s=21

Extraordinary times require extraordinary measures.

So you want violence to solve absolutely nothing. Good man

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,374 ✭✭✭CruelSummer

What’s incompetent? Do you believe people don’t have the right to protest current policy as dictated by an unelected group of doctors?

The first means of dealing with these idiots ignoring the lockdown rules is their identities should be recorded and they should be refused access to public healthcare if they ever get covid. If they're not going to take their health seriously, then why should the rest of us worry about them.

So should the same apply to all the obese people who don't take their health seriously? Or all of the smokers whose habit makes them vulnerable to Covid?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

And you're welcome to do it but the rest of us have our own lives to live.

It might be a short life if we don't do what we're supposed to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 dublinstudent.

How do you know this is explicitly true?

Breathing difficulties, cancer and sepsis. Just released yesterday. Still not at full strength

It's allowed simply because everyone has the right to peaceful protest.

They're a group of fools but not breaking any law, only person they can go after is whoever organised it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

How about your mate takes responsibility for himself? :rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,972 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

Anyone advocating violence needs to go see a specialist, you need help

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,325 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

What’s incompetent? Do you believe people don’t have the right to protest current policy as dictated by an unelected group of doctors?

Would you prefer your doctor was elected rather than qualified?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,796 ✭✭✭✭Inquitus

Probably keeps them from burning 5G masts, so maybe its a good thing? :P

• Site Banned Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

Will it be 13 days to reach 1000 though? The north had around 300 cases a few days ago and it jumped to over 900 two days ago and a high number again today (over 700). That's a huge jump in cases.

So it could be sooner than 13 days when we see 1000 cases a day. It's possible we might be up to 1000 cases by next weekend.

Which is probably why Leo and others are saying we should stop fixating on cases and look at hospitalisations and ICU entries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Inquitus wrote: »
    I had major surgery in Beaumont and they sent me home early a few weeks back to recover at home due to Covid getting into the place, thankfully I am probably out of risk range now, at least I hope, I wish your friend the best.

Take Care, Stay Safe, even the worry of catching it or passing it on would give you panic attacks, I fear we are going to be hit worse this winter than March and April past in cases and deaths, our hospitals won't cope

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

The first means of dealing with these idiots ignoring the lockdown rules is their identities should be recorded and they should be refused access to public healthcare if they ever get covid. If they're not going to take their health seriously, then why should the rest of us worry about them.

So can we also apply your logic to smokers, the obese, people who drive too fast, people who work in risky occupations, people who engage in risky sports /activities? Basically anyone that doesn't hide away under their bed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20 dublinstudent.

Zebra3 wrote: »
    How about your mate takes responsibility for himself? :rolleyes:
    Breathing difficulties, cancer and sepsis. Just released yesterday. Still not at full strength

How?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,784 ✭✭✭froog

The only hope I see at the moment is with those recovered from it (35k in Ireland), if there can be a period of a year plus that they are 99.9% not going to get the virus again we could relax social distancing for these people and allow them to return to normal life in controlled areas amongst fellow recovered. Coppers could reopen and if you hadn't had the virus you are not getting in :D

People could then decide to get deliberately infected to regain a quality of life and stop going around the place like it's Chernobyl.

has the makings of a great dystopian film - the possers living the good life in their garden of eden biodome while starving filthy neggers constantly try to break in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,909 ✭✭✭✭iguana

The big problem is we have no exit strategy.

We are hoping for a vaccine. But hope isnt a strategy. So frustrating.

You are hoping for a vaccine but us all hoping for that is not the strategy. The strategy is all of the money that’s been pumped into research. The work so many medical scientists have done creating the many currently being tested. The bravery of the hundreds of thousands of people willing to be tested on. The best potential vaccines that have been in mass production for months already so they are ready to go when approved. The major purchasing deals for hundreds of millions of the front running vaccines the EU has confirmed. The beginning of a rolling review on Oxford AZ by the EU to speed up the approval if it passes phase 3. The distribution plans being formulated now.

That’s the strategy. We’re just hoping it comes good and being ready to do our only part in the strategy. Which is to take it when offered.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Where can i sign up for the covid militia?

I don`t think there`s a branch in Rochestown yet but the way things are going give it a few more weeks.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,312 ✭✭✭jackboy

It's allowed simply because everyone has the right to peaceful protest.

They're a group of fools but not breaking any law, only person they can go after is whoever organised it

If the pandemic goes on long enough their numbers will swell and eventually become the majority.

The big problem is we have no exit strategy.

We are hoping for a vaccine. But hope isnt a strategy. So frustrating.

Yep. I've said it before, the government plan is "I hope when I wake up tomorrow that there is a vaccine".