Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 550 ✭✭✭lukas8888

Yeah pint and peanuts good.
    Articles and graphs bad.

I mean who doesn't like a good bag of salty peanuts and a pint.
    People who like graphs and articles are not normal.
    Glad I'm not in secondary school anymore seem to remember similar arguments
    coming from high achievers.

Glad you are not letting the science get in the way. Pubs are ope everywhere apart from Dublin. Why are people on here moaning about getting back to normal while simultaneously recalling stories of "loads of pints down the pub". Should you not be savouring the lovely vintners atmosphere while drinking massively overpriced beer.

No-one gives a ****. Do it, don't do it. Won't change things one iota for the public health measures.

Here's a chart about peanuts. You might like it if you try? Broaden your horizons. Never too late.

528203.png

Apart from displaying your wonderful broad depth of knowledge, what the hell is the point of your graph in response to a peanut eater who obviously is not allergic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

From the dashboard: 609 positive swabs, 13610 tests. 4.5% positivity rate.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,480 ✭✭✭Blondini

Ah jaysus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,801 ✭✭✭Benimar

Well, that isn’t good.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 187 ✭✭Littleredcar

Where can I see dashboard

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭MerlinSouthDub

Where can I see dashboard

https://covid19ireland-geohive.hub.arcgis.com/

If you go into the "Data and Services" section, then LaboratoryLocalTimeSeriesHistoricView, then "Data", you can see the daily positive swab time series.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,513 ✭✭✭bb1234567

hmmm wrote: »
    A third Republican Senator has now tested positive. Quite extraordinary what is happening in the US.

Quite old those in government in the US, if some were to die such as what occurred in the Iranian government I think there would be a dramatic change in opinion of the general public toward COVID over there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,101 ✭✭✭BringBackMick

I have heard there has been outbreaks in hospitals in Dublin region in last 3 days.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

Benimar wrote: »
    Well, that isn’t good.
    Nonsense, you'll have people along presently telling you we're just getting waaay better at tracing cases, and the number of cases are actually probably going down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,854 ✭✭✭Always_Running

We are going to end this week with roughly 800 to 1000 more cases than last week by the looks of it. Hopefully no or few deaths confirmed in tonight and tomorrow.

The People’s Mojahedin Organization of Iran (PMOI/MEK) has announced that the death toll in Iran has exceeded 110,000. Meaning Iran has most likely the 5th highest death toll in the world, after Mexico as Mexico's is a serious undercount

https://www.ncr-iran.org/en/ncri-statements/statement-human-rights/iran-coronavirus-death-toll-in-444-cities-exceeds-110000/

I think we can expect national level 3 at least next week, possibly upto level 4 in harder hit locations

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

Did I say it was responsible behaviour that people were there till 7am ? Clearly a lack of cop on for anyone who was there till 7am.

Poster clearly stated he wasn't there till 7am and was in work at 7am yet you said he had his head in a pint glass 24/7 so you went off making assumptions about him despite you being told he wasn't there.

Would you say its accurate then to describe the poster as having his head in a pint glass 24/7, thats what my post addresses.

As I said there's absolutely no middle ground with you, if someone doesn't agree then they get told they've their head in the sand and are cast off into a "brigade". Glad I'm not the only one that sees it, more than willing to engage in reasonable debate and conversation without the pontification

So you do agree that there was irresponsible behaviour involved in this instance? Good, now we may be making progress. If I may have exaggerrated a little in this case then I`m not the only one on this forum who does so only they do it to a much greater extent. BTW I see no comment from you about the lack of mask wearing and social distancing that the poster stated was the case in the pub. What is your opinion on that? Was that also a lack of cop on that was being displayed?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 837 ✭✭✭John O.Groats

I think we can expect national level 3 at least next week, possibly upto level 4 in harder hit locations

If people keep acting the maggot then yes we will.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,167 ✭✭✭✭blade1

Straight to 5 while we're at at it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

There are very few people acting the maggot.

blade1 wrote: »
    Straight to 5 while we're at at it!

Well, not far off in reality. Cases are gonna be well above 1000 a day by the end of next week.

It is just what happens when society is opened up, schools and universities reopened...

What did people expect really... It is absolutely no surprise.

Perhaps there is about 5 or 10% of cases caused by people behaving inappropriately but from what i have seen the vast majority of people in this country are extremely disciplined.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

It's strange there is very little mention of obesity by health authorities here given how much a factor it is if the obese person contracts the virus

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/09/why-covid-19-more-deadly-people-obesity-even-if-theyre-young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Good news, hopefully early signs of transmission rates decreasing in Dublin and some other counties

https://twitter.com/paulreiddublin/status/1312334377641218048

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,065 ✭✭✭Santy2015

Yeah pint and peanuts good.
    Articles and graphs bad.

I mean who doesn't like a good bag of salty peanuts and a pint.
    People who like graphs and articles are not normal.
    Glad I'm not in secondary school anymore seem to remember similar arguments
    coming from high achievers.

Glad you are not letting the science get in the way. Pubs are ope everywhere apart from Dublin. Why are people on here moaning about getting back to normal while simultaneously recalling stories of "loads of pints down the pub". Should you not be savouring the lovely vintners atmosphere while drinking massively overpriced beer.

No-one gives a ****. Do it, don't do it. Won't change things one iota for the public health measures.

Here's a chart about peanuts. You might like it if you try? Broaden your horizons. Never too late.

528203.png

Ohhhhhh I touched a nerve!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44,337 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Ficheall wrote: »
    Nonsense, you'll have people along presently telling you we're just getting waaay better at tracing cases, and the number of cases are actually probably going down.

It's wonky tests innit and the 5g roll out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,247 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

It's strange there is very little mention of obesity by health authorities here given how much a factor it is if the obese person contracts the virus

https://www.sciencemag.org/news/2020/09/why-covid-19-more-deadly-people-obesity-even-if-theyre-young

Fatshaming not allowed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,445 ✭✭✭mloc123

DeanAustin wrote: »

Right...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

DeanAustin wrote: »

Doesn't take many to act the maggot!
    The detailed breakdowns of the clusters recently, 1 index person causing up to 60 cases, they should really show that chart if the index person reduced their contacts by a third. Then another chart if everyone involved had of had reduced their contacts by a third.

It's one thing hammering the message about reduced contacts, it would have more an impact if people can see what difference it would make.

I think the risk is well known..it's just, what do you about it? Usually obese people have very disfunctional attitudes toward food and it's something that's very difficult to change. They're not going to be able to just make it disappear in a few months so their COVID risk is lessened

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,172 ✭✭✭wadacrack

Have thought the same, People do not want to be accountable for amount of food they eat. Seems more important than ever to promote healthy eating. Covid not likely to be going away in Western countries for a good few years if ever

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,181 ✭✭✭KaneToad

Wolf359f wrote: »
    Doesn't take many to act the maggot!
    The detailed breakdowns of the clusters recently, 1 index person causing up to 60 cases, they should really show that chart if the index person reduced their contacts by a third. Then another chart if everyone involved had of had reduced their contacts by a third.

It's one thing hammering the message about reduced contacts, it would have more an impact if people can see what difference it would make.

I don't think it would.

There are many that don't understand basic science or simple mathematical concepts. No amount of charts or pictures can help them.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

What's going on up North? Over 900 cases yesterday and over 700 cases today. They're huge numbers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,892 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

KaneToad wrote: »
    I don't think it would.

There are many that don't understand basic science or simple mathematical concepts. No amount of charts or pictures can help them.

Well there's absolutely no chance we can move forward when some people will be holding us back.
    We've been asked to reduce our social contacts, that message isn't getting through, so closing pubs/restaurants get to be the fall guy. Failing that, it was only when we had a lockdown that social contacts dropped right down.

There needs to be a balance, some of the public just can't accept that or just don't care!