Covid 19 Part XXIV-37,063 ROI (1,801 deaths) 12,886 NI (582 deaths) (02/10) Read OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Funsterdelux

Boggles wrote: »
    Rock, Paper, Scissors?

Pseudoscience i.e

Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Mo

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,950 ✭✭✭polesheep

Boggles wrote: »
    Rock, Paper, Scissors?

As usual a curt response that indicates that you didn't read all of the post.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,134 ✭✭✭caveat emptor

ICU capacity a very real concern. How many extra deaths will that lead to if we hit limits. Given we converted operating theatres in March etc.

You can look at fatality ratios in isolation given the systematic threat it poses.

The ICU capacity is generally used up anyway. 17 extra beds is not a lot of leeway.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1310887740641284101?s=21

Pseudoscience i.e

Eeny, Meeny, Miny, Mo

You really should consider removing the first three letters of your username. Your attempts at humour on the thread have become very tiresome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,067 ✭✭✭Ficheall

I guarantee the effects of lockdown have killed a large amount of people.
    But did they die "with lockdown" or "from lockdown"?

polesheep wrote: »
    You really should consider removing the first three letters of your username. Your attempts at humour on the thread have become very tiresome.

I know, I agree this pandemic is dragging out far too long. Its like been an entertainer on a never ending cruise ship, theres no way off other than drowning.

Btw just because I try to make a funny doesnt mean I do/dont agree with your post.

Regards

Sterdelux

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 204 ✭✭CiarraiManc

hynesie08 wrote: »
    I'd argue that 300,000 people out of work and the fact that they're locking down counties at 12 hours notice is not nearly everything open and the vast majority back to work, but the first bit is bang on.

He said we have to live with it....... You said

You get abuse for being a hand wringing fear mongerer with not a shred of evidence.

But there is no living with this thing. What do you people not understand about this thing? It's a killer virus

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,298 ✭✭✭✭Zebra3

Bot1 wrote: »
    Hi all
    How are the guards infocing the level-3 travel restrictions in Dublin?
    Or are they enforcing them?

There are no restrictions.

We live in a democracy (still) and AGS can only enforce the law.

Long may it last.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

Bot1 wrote: »
    Hi all
    How are the guards infocing the level-3 travel restrictions in Dublin?
    Or are they enforcing them?

Short answer they aren't. There's no restrictions on movement at all. I say that in the sense that traveling in and out from work im yet to come across the checkpoint, while others that have, literally just told the guards they were going to x, y or z and they said grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,762 ✭✭✭✭stephenjmcd

ICU capacity a very real concern. How many extra deaths will that lead to if we hit limits. Given we converted operating theatres in March etc.

You can look at fatality ratios in isolation given the systematic threat it poses.

The ICU capacity is generally used up anyway. 17 extra beds is not a lot of leeway.

https://twitter.com/newschambers/status/1310887740641284101?s=21

6 months and money being thrown at the HSE and they come up with 17 extra beds....

guidelines and recommendations do not a legal requirement make.

where you going?? to Navan shopping for stuff!
    is it essential??
    it is to me, define essential guard??
    On ye go!

6 months and money being thrown at the HSE and they come up with 17 extra beds....

Based on past experience of the HSE I'm actually impressed. It's a pity that instead of spending so much money on PUP and restrictions that they didn't bring in an outside agency to beef up our health system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,010 ✭✭✭GooglePlus

It's the nurses they're finding hard to increase. Takes up-skilling and I suppose the want has to be there too, along with numbers.

I wonder what the pay difference is when you step up?

GooglePlus wrote: »
    It's the nurses they're finding hard to increase. Takes up-skilling and I suppose the want has to be there too, along with numbers.

I wonder what the pay difference is when you step up?

A lot of nurses were upskilled earlier in the year but moving them to ICU will mean moving them out of some other area of care.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

But there is no living with this thing. What do you people not understand about this thing? It's a killer virus

To some it's a killer virus, to many it's not.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,730 ✭✭✭✭Eod100

Eod100 wrote: »

But will 65% keep him going for the rest of the day?

Any word on Cavan monaghan? Looks high.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,065 ✭✭✭funnydoggy

To be fair even the government are calling the plan the "living with COVID" plan. The virus is killer for a minority of people.

But will 65% keep him going for the rest of the day?

Any word on Cavan? Looks high.

I think that's wee old Monaghan, hi.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 4,077 ✭✭✭Away With The Fairies

Has HSE said anything about ventilation or opening windows at all? Any advice for the coming winter?

All they said so far is if you're showing symptoms to go into a room with an open window. But considering you're infectious before symptoms start, shouldn't windows be opened every day because you don't know when you'll fall sick?

But I think they actually want people to get sick.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

Has HSE said anything about ventilation or opening windows at all? Any advice for the coming winter?

All they said so far is if you're showing symptoms to go into a room with an open window. But considering you're infectious before symptoms start, shouldn't windows be opened every day because you don't know when you'll fall sick?

Windows that can't be opened ? Any thoughts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 693 ✭✭✭douglashyde

I know we're all saying the same thing in the same way - with broad agreement on this thread.

However am I reading the below right:

See latest 14 day report from HSE here: https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-1914-dayepidemiologyreports/COVID-19_14_day_epidemiology_report_20200928_Website.pdf

The case fatality rate is now down to .1% < likely lower still as so many people (over half) are completely asymptomatic.

The CFR for the flu is .1% for context (with vaccines) and effects younger people much worse.

If you have the virus, an open window will do little to stop the spread in your house. Save yourself the temperature drop.

Ventilation is more important in settings with crowds but there's no point being stuck in your room with the window open coming into winter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

99.998% of people would disagree

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,354 ✭✭✭copeyhagen

I know we're all saying the same thing in the same way - with broad agreement on this thread.

However am I reading the below right:

See latest 14 day report from HSE here: https://www.hpsc.ie/a-z/respiratory/coronavirus/novelcoronavirus/surveillance/covid-1914-dayepidemiologyreports/COVID-19_14_day_epidemiology_report_20200928_Website.pdf

The case fatality rate is now down to .1% < likely lower still as so many people (over half) are completely asymptomatic.

The CFR for the flu is .1% for context (with vaccines) and effects younger people much worse.

correct, but people in this thread cant udnerstand that, or just want to ignore it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92,394 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

For the second week in a row, members of NPHET have declined a call to attend the Dáil’s special COVID19 committee

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,440 ✭✭✭sideswipe

If you have the virus, an open window will do little to stop the spread in your house. Save yourself the temperature drop.

Ventilation is more important in settings with crowds but there's no point being stuck in your room with the window open coming into winter.

Unless viral load is a major factor in which case the severity of the prospective infection may be reduced by having a well ventilated room.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 2,980 ✭✭✭s1ippy

Ventilation can blow virus into the house. Airflow in the right direction (blowing the virus outside) is what's meant by this.

I think that's wee old Monaghan, hi.

Isnt my face red.

So whats with Monaghan. :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,019 ✭✭✭✭ednwireland

JP Liz V1 wrote: »
    For the second week in a row, members of NPHET have declined a call to attend the Dáil’s special COVID19 committee

seriously - how are they even allowed to do that ?

"Democracy is the worst form of government, except for all the others" - Winston Churchill

https://www.ecowitt.net/home/share?authorize=96CT1F