Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

US Open 2020

• Registered Users Posts: 695 ✭✭✭lostcat

He will be lucky not to be

• Registered Users, Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,255 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

DJOKOVIC DEFAULTED :pac: :pac: :pac:

Proper order, fair play to the officials they took a strict interpretation of the rule.
    Cilic lost earlier so we are going to have ourselves a new slam champion!

• Registered Users Posts: 39,366 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

lostcat wrote: »
    Proper order, fair play to the officials they took a strict interpretation of the rule.
    Cilic lost earlier so we are going to have ourselves a new slam champion!

I’m just seeing this now. He hit a line judge but if he was disqualified then they must have seen intent. I haven’t seen any clips of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,843 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

• Registered Users Posts: 2,797 ✭✭✭Shane St.

be nice to see a new winner although not in ideal circumstances

• Registered Users Posts: 691 ✭✭✭CassieManson

Shane St. wrote:
    be nice to see a new winner although not in ideal circumstances

Would love to see Thiem win now

• Registered Users Posts: 2,843 ✭✭✭dominatinMC

Christ that looks very harsh! I'm all for a new winner but, between the reduced field due to Covid and now this incident, this US Open victory will definitely have an asterisk next to it!

• Registered Users Posts: 31,748 ✭✭✭✭gmisk

Rules are rules but I am watching it back on Amazon prime very harsh!

• Registered Users Posts: 10,631 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

She made a total drama out of that ffs

The ball hit her directly on her throat...I wouldn't fancy it

• Registered Users Posts: 10,631 ✭✭✭✭Mental Mickey

gmisk wrote: »
    The ball hit her directly on her throat...I wouldn't fancy it

He didn't strike it that hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 33 Harry lyme

Defaulting an entire match for something like that does seem quite harsh.

The one good thing about it is it'll mean in future there can never be any more whining about Serena Williams incident in 2018 and nobody can ever claim that the men get away with more than the women in Tennis.

He didn't strike it that hard
    He didn't hit it at full pelt but it was still pretty fast...it's novak djokovic like.
    It isn't really the point he hit it in anger.
    Very harsh but thems the rules

It's happened before I think with someone hitting the ball in anger and it hit a ballboy? Henman?

Yeah he just mentioned it in 1995 wimbledon he hit ball girl in ear.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

Still grinning from ear to ear.

Any sympathy anyone might have towards Djokovic should be absolutely overridden by the arrogance he displayed on court when he realised he they were actually going to disqualify him. He genuinely didn't believe they'd have the temerity to do so.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Christ that looks very harsh! I'm all for a new winner but, between the reduced field due to Covid and now this incident, this US Open victory will definitely have an asterisk next to it!

I agree with you it looks harsh from the clip I've seen it doesn't look like he meant it. I also wanted a new winner, but, as you say with the already reduced field and now Djokovic getting disqualified it does kinda devalue the tournament. I suppose it's the only way the new generation were ever going to make the breakthrough.

There was no intent and it was bad luck to hit her straight in the throat, but luck wouldn't be involved if he didn't loose the head. Huge opportunity lost, huge opportunity for everyone left..

• Registered Users Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭AllForIt

The incident itself

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DTmO80DkAQM

Never liked these totally unnecessary displays of aggression. For a multiple grand slam winner as experienced as himself to do this especially warrants the default.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭Girly Gal

Will he get a suspension now and miss the French Open too, that would be extremely harsh

• Registered Users Posts: 6,400 ✭✭✭EagererBeaver

The fact he didn't mean it is irrelevant. He hit a ball in anger that struck a line judge. Completely his own fault.

The penalty is deliberately that harsh to try and stop players doing it.

Girly Gal wrote: »
    Will he get a suspension now and miss the French Open too, that would be extremely harsh
    I wouldn't think so.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,010 ✭✭✭velo.2010

The question now is 'why there was a discussion?' The rules are quite straightforward, yet they entertained his pleas to be allowed to continue.

The rules on temper tantrums, whacking balls and throwing rackets around probably need a revisit after this — apparently, Djokovic nearly took the head off a ball kid a few minutes earlier.

unfortunate to hit someone given that there were probably 30 people in the stadium, as opposed to the tens of thousands who usually would be!

• Registered Users Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭AllForIt

lostcat wrote: »
    unfortunate to hit someone given that there were probably 30 people in the stadium, as opposed to the tens of thousands who usually would be!

Well he should have hit the ball up into the stadium auditorium then. He's supposed to be good at aiming balls.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,157 ✭✭✭VillaMad

Aljaz Bedene did it a couple of weeks ago in Cincinnati when he hit the ball in frustration and it hit a cameraman. He got a code violation.

Interested to know how they decide which ones deserve a disqualification and which ones don't.

velo.2010 wrote: »
    The question now is 'why there was a discussion?' The rules are quite straightforward, yet they entertained his pleas to be allowed to continue.

The rules on temper tantrums, whacking balls and throwing rackets around probably need a revisit after this — apparently, Djokovic nearly took the head off a ball kid a few minutes earlier.

why would the rule need to be revisited just after it has been applied correctly?
    there most certainly should have been a discussion, he has a right to try to defend his actions, it would have been a lot worse to call in a bouncer to escort him off the court immediately. he did something stupid, he had his say, he lost, job done and rule works.

velo.2010 wrote: »

Yes he was arguing out on court with them for a good bit.
    Yes earlier in set he did.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Djokovic only has himself to blame. The rules on this are clear.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Well he should have hit the ball up into the stadium then. He's supposed to be good at aiming balls.

the ironic thing is, I imagine that all pro players have a subconscious unwillingness to hit a ball over fence height, in order to avoid hitting a fan.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,306 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

Girly Gal wrote: »

Nothing that harsh. He will, however, lose all ranking points earned at the US Open and will also be fined the prize money he has won.