Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,415 ✭✭✭✭elperello

jojofizzio wrote: »
    What’s the betting he actually didn’t know that he could do it....wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest that it came as news to him that he could :rolleyes:

Could well be.

Why else would he say it or was he playing with words?

A few wise old hands in Labour advising AK knew their stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,425 ✭✭✭maestroamado

It could be game over for Phil, it's now looking like that he has lost confidence of Leo and Michael.
    Carrying country credibility in EU, he may have gone to Brussels to clear out desk.
    We will know soon enough. EU will do nothing he is our man so our credibility...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,415 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Mr.S wrote: »
    So, Dáil to be recalled.

What happens now?

MLMcD in full hairdryer mode.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,713 ✭✭✭Gods Gift

I hope no ones off out foreign on their holidays.

Healy reas won’t be happy goin back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,094 ✭✭✭golfball37

I was saying a while back that you can be sure there is a table plan, and the picture of it has ome out.

That means that all the guests looked to check where they were due to sit, and it’s clear as day that there are At least ten tables with up to ten people Per table. Nobody at the meal can offer any excuse for sitting down in those conditions because they must have known

That should have raised flags.

I think it’s also telling that the hotel knew a minister was coming, so therefore knew he would be accompanied by a member of the Gardai and still went ahead and allowed the rules to be broken, knowing full well the Gardai were going to be there.

The same goes for the organisers, they booked the meal knowing the numbers, knowing the Gardai would have to be escorting the minister.

Fire them all.

The owner of the hotel sat at the top table. A man with a history of debt write off too wouldn't you know. He put his staff and covid compliant guests in danger to scratch a few backs- the Irish way.

I’ve been reflecting on how MM said that Dara Calleary showed “leadership” by resigning on Friday morning.

I think that’s complete hokum.

True “leadership” would have been MM firing Calleary, without giving him the opportunity to resign. It would have demonstrated some resolve to try to sort out the absolute shambles it has become.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,760 ✭✭✭stockshares

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,568 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

Any of the political historians about.

Would this be an unprecedented situation...an Irish commissioner who has been asked to consider his position by the leaders of FG and FF (Eamonn must have been having a nap as he isn't mentioned)

Surely Hogan is in an untenable position?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Sunday world saying Big Phil had just returned from a golf tournament in “covid hit Holland” before heading to clifden

He’s a goner

Good night and good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 387 ✭✭zztop

Ends Kenny played in the golf and when he saw the dinner arrangements left .Smart man our Enda.

Gods Gift wrote: »
    I hope no ones off out foreign on their holidays.

Healy reas won’t be happy goin back.

I think theree will be an election as soon as Covid allows this to happen...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,575 ✭✭✭Rows Grower

jojofizzio wrote: »
    What’s the betting he actually didn’t know that he could do it....wouldn’t surprise me in the slightest that it came as news to him that he could :rolleyes:

He is the biggest disappointment of a Taoiseach ever.

"Very soon we are going to Mars. You wouldn't have been going to Mars if my opponent won, that I can tell you. You wouldn't even be thinking about it."

Donald Trump, March 13th 2018.

Sunday world saying Big Phil had just returned from a golf tournament in “covid hit Holland” before heading to clifden

He’s a goner

Plenty of time for golf now Phil.

FF and FG reeling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,101 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

Here’s the story

zztop wrote: »
    Ends Kenny played in the golf and when he saw the dinner arrangements left .Smart man our Enda.

I think Enda has being our best leader in recent times.
    Not very good style, integrity yes...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,132 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

He’s a goner

How can the Irish Government sack him? I doubt EU will either as I suspect many of their cohort have been all over the Continent during the hollier season.

We actually need him as Trade Commissioner for Brexit. He has a neck like a jockey's blx which is what is needed to face up to Britain in this aspect.

It does pain me to say that, but we shall see what happens.

I think Enda has being our best leader in recent times.
    Not very good style, integrity yes...

Bertie and Charlie are beginning to look good given the antics of Michael & Leo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

Here’s the story

Makes a complete liar of him if true. Didn’t he say on Friday that he complied with quarantine rules. He’s got to be gone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,023 ✭✭✭✭Joe_ Public

He was supposed to have been staying in Kilkenny wasn't he? At least think that was his story anyway. Interesting if he digs his heels in, as wouldnt surprise me, what the two boys would do then. Could get messy this story.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

He’s a goner

As low as it get's putting peoples life's in danger like that. Pure utter dirt of a man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,885 ✭✭✭DeanAustin

I’ve been reflecting on how MM said that Dara Calleary showed “leadership” by resigning on Friday morning.

I think that’s complete hokum.

True “leadership” would have been MM firing Calleary, without giving him the opportunity to resign. It would have demonstrated some resolve to try to sort out the absolute shambles it has become.

Bit harsh. I’d imagine Martin read him the riot act and let him know in no uncertain terms that he had to resign. But he let him save some face by resigning which is a decent thing to do rather than grandstanding or dancing on his grave.

There are a lot of things to criticise Martin for. This isn’t one of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,298 ✭✭✭jojofizzio

zztop wrote: »

Coz he couldn’t stand the crowd that were there,or....??

He is the biggest disappointment of a Taoiseach ever.

Cowan instead maybe, to keep the dynasty going?

There is such a small pool in FF now that it's no wonder they are all floundering.

Who would you choose as Taoiseach from FF? Or indeed AG Min West of the Shannon, nothing else will do now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,841 ✭✭✭Doctors room ghost

Trickle on the way out.

How can the Irish Government sack him? I doubt EU will either as I suspect many of their cohort have been all over the Continent during the hollier season.

We actually need him as Trade Commissioner for Brexit. He has a neck like a jockey's blx which is what is needed to face up to Britain in this aspect.

It does pain me to say that, but we shall see what happens.

We do not need people like that, ever. He is an embarrasment to us as a country.
    I expect that what has happened behind the scenes will decide. If the EU do not want him he will resign with some spin reason...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,789 ✭✭✭✭ACitizenErased

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,788 ✭✭✭Cute Hoor

DeanAustin wrote: »
    Makes a complete liar of him if true. Didn’t he say on Friday that he complied with quarantine rules. He’s got to be gone.

Yea, a complete and utter liar (if this report is true)

We do not need people like that, ever. He is an embarrasment to us as a country.
    I expect that what has happened behind the scenes will decide. If the EU do not want him he will resign with some spin reason...

Yeah, on reflection you are probably right.

But we do really need someone with cojones for the Trade Deal too. I'm conflicted TBH.

Hogan has to be sacked by the EU Commission. If it happens Ursula Von der Leyen will do it.

I wonder if any Commissioner has been sacked before.