Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Help Keep Boards Alive. Support us by going ad free today. See here: https://subscriptions.boards.ie/

Minister for Agriculture attends 81-person golf event in breach of health guidelines

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 553 ✭✭✭boomshakalaka

The President of the Oireachtas Golf Society has apologised for the event in Galway on Wednesday.

Speaking to the Westmeath Examiner, Donie Cassidy said the dinner was held under guidance approved by the Irish Hotels Federation.

The hotel group said the advice is multiple gatherings can be held in the same venue as long as there are separate entrances and toilets.

Mr Cassidy also said he will co-operate fully with the Garda investigation, and it was not their intention to disregard public health advice.

I'm absolutely baffled by this continued "not intentional" rhetoric.. That excuse doesn't fly on a playground, let alone in political discourse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,365 ✭✭✭✭McMurphy

I'm absolutely baffled by this continued "not intentional" rhetoric.. That excuse doesn't fly on a playground, let alone in political discourse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,330 ✭✭✭deise08

Not intentional is the difference between murder and manslaughter on the courts...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭appledrop

I'm getting sick if this crap now of blaming hotel.

On Tuesday night the rules were changed + no more functions whatsoever allowed in hotels apart from Weddings end of. Doesnt matter if it was 50 or 81 both NOT ALLOWED.

They also had a government minister who knew well what new rules were.

Pure and other arrogance is what it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 29,368 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Indeed they are, but their mud has come from mistakes and lack of ability, FF are just in the habit of picking up the mud and rubbing it all over themselves because their level of incompetence is accompanied with far greater levels of arrogance, disillusionment and entitlement.

Say what now?

The hallmark of FG is their arrogance and sense of entitlement, as well as their disconnect from the electorate. Or have you forgotten the outcome of the last election or the reasons that FF are in the driving seat? Or how Enda Kenny would vanish in the midst of the latest scandal, only to then reappear and declare there was nothing to see here. Or how Murphy and Harris were kept out of the spotlight during the last election because of their abysmal performance in their respective briefs.

I'll keep saying it.. FG's role in this State is to act as a protest vote against FF when the latter lose the run of themselves, but only until they remind us WHY they're never voted in on their own merits - because they're actually worse over the long term for the country.
    FF may be incompetent and greedy, but at least realise you have to give the "ordinaries" something some of the time. FG are too busy selling everything off.

CV-19 has been a blessing politically for FG. All their previous sins seem to have been wiped away by some - forgetting that FG are an equal PARTNER in this Government, not a bystander or junior coalition member.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,946 ✭✭✭MayoAreMagic

While the dinner proved to be a disaster, i can also see how someone could arrive expecting the thing to be run properly by the hotel. If they are a speaker at the thing, it makes it very awkward. It still shouldnt have happened, but I dont think it is as bad as it is being made out to be.
    More importantly, we need structure in our government at present. Wanting everyone to be sacked or resign because they broke a restriction is a bit like the whole defund the police stuff in america. It is far too reactionary and in the greater scheme of things, doesnt help our cause. To my mind, there isnt a single person in the country who themselves hasnt broken a restriction at some point. Im not justifying their actions, but I think we need a bit of perspective also. Can anyone honestly say they havent broken a restriction?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,653 ✭✭✭✭Plumbthedepths

While the dinner proved to be a disaster, i can also see how someone could arrive expecting the thing to be run properly by the hotel. If they are a speaker at the thing, it makes it very awkward. It still shouldnt have happened, but I dont think it is as bad as it is being made out to be.
    More importantly, we need structure in our government at present. Wanting everyone to be sacked or resign because they broke a restriction is a bit like the whole defund the police stuff in america. It is far too reactionary and in the greater scheme of things, doesnt help our cause. To my mind, there isnt a single person in the country who themselves hasnt broken a restriction at some point. Im not justifying their actions, but I think we need a bit of perspective also. Can anyone honestly say they havent broken a restriction?

So you don't see the issue with the same people who implemented restrictions breaking them?
    Expert level whataboutery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 6,929 ✭✭✭appledrop

As I've just said on Tues night all functions whether 50 or 81 people were banned apart from weddings.

So unless only 6 people at function no way it was ok. Should have been cancelled.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

No one's convincing me that Martin, Varadkar and the rest of the government didn't know that this event was taking place before Thursday night when the story broke.

Surely an email or something went around to every member of the Oireachtas informing them of social events. Like it does in every company in the world.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,888 ✭✭✭lawrencesummers

_Kaiser_ wrote: »
    Say what now?

The hallmark of FG is their arrogance and sense of entitlement, as well as their disconnect from the electorate. Or have you forgotten the outcome of the last election or the reasons that FF are in the driving seat? Or how Enda Kenny would vanish in the midst of the latest scandal, only to then reappear and declare there was nothing to see here. Or how Murphy and Harris were kept out of the spotlight during the last election because of their abysmal performance in their respective briefs.

I'll keep saying it.. FG's role in this State is to act as a protest vote against FF when the latter lose the run of themselves, but only until they remind us WHY they're never voted in on their own merits - because they're actually worse over the long term for the country.
    FF may be incompetent and greedy, but at least realise you have to give the "ordinaries" something some of the time. FG are too busy selling everything off.

CV-19 has been a blessing politically for FG. All their previous sins seem to have been wiped away by some - forgetting that FG are an equal PARTNER in this Government, not a bystander or junior coalition member.

So you want to argue about which particular cohort of lying, useless, entitled pricks are the bigger cohort of lying, useless, entitled pricks?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,820 ✭✭✭smelly sock

El Weirdo wrote: »
    No one's convincing me that Martin, Varadkar and the rest of the government didn't know that this event was taking place before Thursday night when the story broke.

Surely an email or something went around to every member of the Oireachtas informing them of social events. Like it does in every company in the world.

I'm shocked that Martin wasn't asked about this in his interview

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭Grey Fox

Is there anything to be said for a Mass or Protest outside Leinster house or should I say their new location at the Convention centre

Btw, the Dail are now meeting at the Convention centre at 25k a day for TDs to social distance meanwhile 81 of them are wined and dined at the Clifden Station house.

Hypocricy at its finest!
    Good idea, there is always something to be said for saying mass. The best this government can come up with for managing the current crisis is to put a brick on the accelerator and jump ship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,949 ✭✭✭ChikiChiki

Jesus wept this is beyond farcical. If your local TD had any integrity he would have turned on his heels having seen how badly it was organised and the number of people residing in Kildare that were present.

I myself am not long out of quarantine having sat in for 2 weeks with my brother who returned from Melbourne. A Kildare man living in Dublin have not been home to see friends and family in ages.

By your logic, screw compliance and it will be grand sure. If everyone did that, how do you think it would look. Might aswell get the GAA back and open up Coppers while we are at it.

Why bother.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 74,567 ✭✭✭✭FrancieBrady

I'm shocked that Martin wasn't asked about this in his interview

Probably disallowed by his handlers.

'Were you invited, Mr. Martin/Varadkar? would have been an obvious question and the answer could be checked.

Golf societies the country over are playing and having events. The individual is responsible for their own actions, you can’t blame the non attending boss of a company for the actions of their society members at an outing. That’s the individuals fault.

So you don't see the issue with the same people who implemented restrictions breaking them?
    Expert level whataboutery.

No more than anyone else. Have you broken a restriction yourself?

Do as I say not as I do. Upset Dara f**ked up?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,008 ✭✭✭Sorolla

I think Dara deserves a lot of kudos for resigning as soon as he realized he made an error of judgement.

I can only imagine he went to that meeting in very good faith and out of respect for the late Mark Killilea.

Dara is the only politician in this country that has shown leadership in the last 24 hours.

It is time for a heave in the FF party - I’m afraid to say the Taoiseach is not leading from the front.

Maybe in the fullness of time when this little incident is forgotten about Dara could make a bid for the leadership of FF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,482 ✭✭✭Invincible

Was it held in Clifden ? :-)

Do as I say, not as I do is the mantra of our incompetent government!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,647 ✭✭✭✭El Weirdo

Golf societies the country over are playing and having events. The individual is responsible for their own actions, you can’t blame the non attending boss of a company for the actions of their society members at an outing. That’s the individuals fault.

Well if I was the boss of a company and my employees were organising a work social event that could bring the company into disrepute, you can be damn sure I'd not let that event take place.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 690 ✭✭✭hurikane

Who was the winner anyway? Was there any 2’s?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,350 ✭✭✭✭kippy

Phishnet wrote: »
    Hi, can anyone tell me the names of the +3 that accompanied Mr Brian Hayes, CEO of the Irish of the Banking and Payments Federation Ireland to the Oireachtas Golf Society dinner in Clifton, Galway?

I was wondering how come over 150 years of the Banking Book Evidence Act 1867 could be circumvented in just 12 weeks, maybe the names of these people could give the public a clue.

On a side note, most of the people in attendance at the illegal gathering where not present or past members of the Oireachtas, let alone its golf society, strange that!

Outside of the Covid debate, there are plenty of questions like yours that need to be answered. It's a bit like the Fiannal Fail tent at the Galway races. Just moved 50 miles or so west in much quieter surroundings.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 1,104 ✭✭✭Limpy

Id say when Barry Cowan heard about Dara C at the event he starting laughing like Therman Murch in dinner for smucks.

ChikiChiki wrote: »
    Jesus wept this is beyond farcical. If your local TD had any integrity he would have turned on his heels having seen how badly it was organised and the number of people residing in Kildare that were present.

I myself am not long out of quarantine having sat in for 2 weeks with my brother who returned from Melbourne. A Kildare man living in Dublin have not been home to see friends and family in ages.

By your logic, screw compliance and it will be grand sure. If everyone did that, how do you think it would look. Might aswell get the GAA back and open up Coppers while we are at it.

Why bother.

That isnt my logic. My logic is everyone has broken restrictions so chasing after people to resign is hypocritical, unless we all resign.
    Did you resign? I didnt. There is a pang of angry mob about this if we keep going the way we are.

Ultimately I think we should be focusing on the bigger picture. Forcing hogan out for example could end up being bad for the country. And how long does this go on? What if tony hoolihan is found to have broken a restriction? Resign too? He probably has in fairness - we all have.
    I just find that idiotic. People who break restrictions should be fined a hefty sum, not lose their jobs

The other question that needs to be asked was if Mari Bailey was in attendance? I hear she has been putting a lot of work into her swing over the last while

Politicians aren't "anyone", they're public figures with a duty to the country and its citizens. It doesn't matter that I had 7 instead of 6 visitors to my house and in no way does it excuse the behaviour of those who are supposed to lead us.

To even suggest they are "just people breaking the rules" shows how low your expectations of your political leaders are and it's pretty sad to see.

It's views like yours that politicians need to work hard to avoid and with this golf outing they've done the exact opposite. There needs to be accountability.

Sorolla wrote: »
    I think Dara deserves a lot of kudos for resigning as soon as he realized he made an error of judgement.

I can only imagine he went to that meeting in very good faith and out of respect for the late Mark Killilea.

Dara is the only politician in this country that has shown leadership in the last 24 hours.

It is time for a heave in the FF party - I’m afraid to say the Taoiseach is not leading from the front.

Maybe in the fullness of time when this little incident is forgotten about Dara could make a bid for the leadership of FF

The clown had no choice but to resign. Leadership? You're joking right.
    I attended the funeral of a friend on Monday, maximum of 50 allowed into a huge church. Yet 81 elitist gob****es felt they were above the rules they imposed on the wider public.
    Hilarious to see the craven supporters come out from the undergrowth.

That isnt my logic. My logic is everyone has broken restrictions so chasing after people to resign is hypocritical, unless we all resign.
    Did you resign? I didnt. There is a pang of angry mob about this if we keep going the way we are.

Ultimately I think we should be focusing on the bigger picture. Forcing hogan out for example could end up being bad for the country. And how long does this go on? What if tony hoolihan is found to have broken a restriction? Resign too? He probably has in fairness - we all have.
    I just find that idiotic. People who break restrictions should be fined a hefty sum, not lose their jobs

You are literally suggesting we live a life without any accountability. How can you not see that is worse in the long term? Are you a troll?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Oh they knew alright. Everyone in that golden circle knew about it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 552 ✭✭✭Gerry Hatrick

Sorolla wrote: »

He couldn't lead a dog never mind a political party.

His career is toast.