Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Murder of Joe Deacy

• Closed Accounts Posts: 315 ✭✭Akesh

LawBoy2018 wrote: »
    I have been following this case for some time now and I am genuinely baffled as to how there has been such little progress made by the Gardaí to this date, 3 years after Joe's death.

For anyone who's unfamiliar with the case, see the below articles:

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5489531/mum-joe-deacy-three-witnesses-death-forward/

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5770911/dad-gaa-joe-deacy-family-pain-anniversary-murder/

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/father-pleads-for-end-to-three-years-of-pain-since-son-was-murdered-f2gq6krth

The abovementioned articles purport that it took the Gardaí 3 days to finally deem Joe's death a homicide, allegedly giving the 3 main suspects ample time to get their story straight and to clean up/destroy the crime scene.

How could this massive blunder by the Gardaí be explained? Is this a regular occurrence?

The local community have been putting pressure on the family in question for years, to no avail. However, pressure definitely seems to be mounting even further after an incident in Bohola recently involving Joe's uncle, Paul.

It's embarrassing for the Gardaí really and not surprising in rural Ireland that these kind of things are still happening. Hopefully the inquest will shed light on the incompetence here and help bring justice to Joe's family.

I hope those 3 cowards rot for withholding information. Something toxic about the locals in Swinford and Bohola.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,162 ✭✭✭LawBoy2018

Akesh wrote: »
    It's embarrassing for the Gardaí really and not surprising in rural Ireland that these kind of things are still happening. Hopefully the inquest will shed light on the incompetence here and help bring justice to Joe's family.

I hope those 3 cowards rot for withholding information. Something toxic about the locals in Swinford and Bohola.

Do you think it was simply incompetence, or might there have been something more sinister at play, like some of the locals are claiming?

Two of the three main suspects weren't even arrested? The Gardaí sent a file to the DPP more than a year ago, yet nobody was charged? How, after 3 years, has a decision re whether or not to issue proceedings still not been made?

It must be due to a lack of evidence.

There's nothing toxic about the locals in Swinford or Bohola, they also want whomever is responsible for Joe's death to be brought to justice.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,134 ✭✭✭jimwallace197

Akesh wrote: »

Are we really that surprised by AGS incompetence??? Really

To this level though? Do you believe that it was incompetence?

Joe's family are also claiming that the suspects/home owners commissioned a second 'private post mortem'. I'm aware of the fact that the Coroner doesn't need permission to carry out a post mortem if he/she suspects that the deceased died by homicide/manslaughter.

Are private post mortems even a thing in Ireland? How are they regulated? How could one be carried out without the consent of Joe's family?

• Registered Users Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Edgware

I have been following this case for some time now and I am genuinely baffled as to how there has been such little progress made by the Gardaí to this date, 3 years after Joe's death.

https://www.thesun.ie/news/5770911/dad-gaa-joe-deacy-family-pain-anniversary-murder/

https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/father-pleads-for-end-to-three-years-of-pain-since-son-was-murdered-f2gq6krth

The abovementioned articles purport that it took the Gardaí 3 days to finally deem Joe's death a homicide, allegedly giving the 3 main suspects ample time to get their story straight and to clean up/destroy the crime scene.

How could this massive blunder by the Gardaí be explained? Is this a regular occurrence?

The local community have been putting pressure on the family in question for years, to no avail. However, pressure definitely seems to be mounting even further after an incident in Bohola recently involving Joe's uncle, Paul.

The case should be solved in an hour like on t.v. The Sun newspaper? Noted for the skill and accuracy of its "journalists"

• Registered Users Posts: 7,883 ✭✭✭Coillte_Bhoy

Whats this about? Im from around there, dont know what you are referring to tbh

Take a look at the second article in my OP. Joe's uncle was home recently to mark his anniversary and he ran into some fella in Bohola who told him that he was wasting his time pursuing the case + that he should call it a day.

Do you follow MS on Facebook? Have a look at her page, she posts about Joe regularly and has built up a bit of a following.

Edgware wrote: »
    The case should be solved in an hour like on t.v. The Sun newspaper? Noted for the skill and accuracy of its "journalists"

There is no case, essentially. That's the problem. Taking 3 years to decide whether or not to press charges is unusual imo. The Times article is behind a paywall, hence why I linked the articles from The Sun.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Rumor has it that the suspects are republicans

A facebook page was recently set up to raise awareness: https://www.facebook.com/justiceforjoedeacy/?ref=page_internal

I found this video particularly harrowing: https://www.facebook.com/tom.connolly.1272/videos/10157003620501841

There is no case, essentially. That's the problem. Taking 3 years to decide whether or not to press charges is unusual imo. The Times article is behind a paywall, hence why I linked the articles from The Sun.
    The D.P.P. can only make a decision to charge if of the opinion that there is evidence to justify the decision. The D.P.P. cant make a decision to charge to "clear the air" or because " the "dogs in the street" know who did it. There are several cases up and down the country
    that remain unsolved and will do so until the evidence is there to bring the case before a court. That doesn't mean there is some great conspiracy going on. And as for any comments made to family coming from England that is just pub talk of no evidential value from a pisshead

Gatling wrote: »
    Rumor has it that the suspects are republicans

FFS!

The D.P.P. can only make a decision to charge if of the opinion that there is evidence to justify the decision. The D.P.P. cant make a decision to charge to "clear the air" or because " the "dogs in the street" know who did it. There are several cases up and down the country
    that remain unsolved and will do so until the evidence is there to bring the case before a court. That doesn't mean there is some great conspiracy going on. And as for any comments made to family coming from England that is just pub talk of no evidential value from a pisshead

I didn't say that the DPP needs to make a charge 'to clear the air' or for whatever reason, I'm saying that it's strange that there still hasn't been a decision made as to whether or not the DPP will actually issue proceedings after 3 years. If there's insufficient evidence, which is obviously the case, why has it taken more than 3 years for the coroner to hold an inquest?

I never said that what happened in Bohola recently had any evidential value, I said that it seems to have made the family more determined to exhaust all possible avenues.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,242 ✭✭✭AllForIt

Thanks for bringing this up OP, and was thinking of opening a thread on it myself. I live 20 miles from Swinford. Cycled up there a couple of times and I find it a rather grim place. Even midday on the high street it is a bit of a ghost town. It's actually a nice open town with unusually wide town centre roads - but there's no one there. A lot of empty/ shut down shops.

And I think that's one of the problems here. There's hardly anyone about so no witnesses to any unusual activity, so hard to find a lead. If the investigators have noting to go on then what can they do?

Raising awareness about it is about all one can do.

https://westernpeople.ie/2020/06/04/family-of-mayo-murder-victim-ask-do-you-see-joe-in-your-nightmares/
    https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2020/08/06/walk-to-remember-joe-deacy-on-third-anniversary-of-his-death/

• Registered Users Posts: 625 ✭✭✭dd973

The Indo haughtily described the lad as a 'British tourist', he had roots in the area and played GAA for years in England. A British Tourist to me is some 'awrite mate' on the piss in Temple Bar at the weekend.

AllForIt wrote: »
    Thanks for bringing this up OP, and was thinking of opening a thread on it myself. I live 20 miles from Swinford. Cycled up there a couple of times and I find it a rather grim place. Even midday on the high street it is a bit of a ghost town. It's actually a nice open town with unusually wide town centre roads - but there's no one there. A lot of empty/ shut down shops.

And I think that's one of the problems here. There's hardly anyone about so no witnesses to any unusual activity, so hard to find a lead. If the investigators have noting to go on then what can they do?

Raising awareness about it is about all one can do.

https://westernpeople.ie/2020/06/04/family-of-mayo-murder-victim-ask-do-you-see-joe-in-your-nightmares/
    https://www.con-telegraph.ie/2020/08/06/walk-to-remember-joe-deacy-on-third-anniversary-of-his-death/

Things are especially bleak these days due to the pandemic but I agree with you completely. I'm not actually from Swinford but I know plenty of folk from there and they're all lovely people with a great sense of community.

Because the crime scene was destroyed and key witnesses/suspects weren't arrested in time/at all, it's unlikely that any new evidence will rise to the surface, unless someone finally cracks. Three years is a long time for something like this to weigh on someone's conscience and the findings of the coroner's inquest should be interesting.

dd973 wrote: »
    The Indo haughtily described the lad as a 'British tourist', he had roots in the area and played GAA for years in England. A British Tourist to me is some 'awrite mate' on the piss in Temple Bar at the weekend.

I didn't know him personally but he seemed to be anything but. His grandparents originated from Mayo and he seemed to maintain strong ties with Ireland from a young age. He had been friends with the lad who he stayed with that night for years and would have known his family very well I'd imagine.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

I don't understand this case at all and find it outrageous that there has been no progress. I cannot imagine how difficult that is for his family and friends.

It's not like this is a very difficult case.

The guards know he was assaulted.
    They know the location.
    They know the timeline.
    They know there were 3 people there (min)

At a minimum surely they can charge them with perverting the course of justice or withholding information.

How can these people live with themselves? They didn't even go in the ambulance with him. Their parents know they were involved and yet do nothing.

This isn't a difficult case to solve or shouldn't have been, there's far more info than in most cases.

How on earth would the Mayo gardai manage to lose something like the Graham Dwyer or Joe O'Reilly case? This one should have been a sitting duck of they had acted quickly. It is a disgrace they way thus has been handled.

A supposed friend who won't even talking to Gardai, what an absolute bollix. I hope he is haunted for the rest of his life.

dd973 wrote: »

I think that's a case of the Indo covering a story they didn't in fact cover. They prolly read the story on opposing media publication websites and put their own slant on it.

I didn't say that the DPP needs to make a charge 'to clear the air' or for whatever reason, I'm saying that it's strange that there still hasn't been a decision made as to whether or not the DPP will actually issue proceedings after 3 years. If there's insufficient evidence, which is obviously the case, why has it taken more than 3 years for the coroner to hold an inquest?

I never said that what happened in Bohola recently had any evidential value, I said that it seems to have made the family more determined to exhaust all possible avenues.
    In other words you really haven't a clue

I don't understand this case at all and find it outrageous that there has been no progress. I cannot imagine how difficult that is for his family and friends.

They know the location.
    They know the timeline.

At a minimum surely they can charge them with perverting the course of justice or withholding information.

How can these people live with themselves? They didn't even go in the ambulance with him. Their parents know they were involved and yet do nothing.

This isn't a difficult case to solve or shouldn't have been, there's far more info that in must cases.

How on earth would the Mayo gardai manage to lose something like the Graham Dwyer or Joe O'Reilly case? This one should have been a sitting duck of they had acted quickly. It is a disgrace they way thus has been handled.

A supposed friend who won't even talking to Gardai, what an absolute bollix. I hope he is haunted for the rest of his life.

I don't know the ins and outs of of the investigation so far, but the idea it was some random attach by some unknown person to the victim strikes me as highly unlikely, impossible even, given Swinford is a virtual ghost town. It had to be someone connected to his social group specifically the people he was socialising with on the night it happened.

They know the location.
    They know the timeline.

This isn't a difficult case to solve or shouldn't have been, there's far more info that in must cases.

Why oh why don't the police bring in the suspects and beat a statement out of him. After all " everyone knows who did it"

AllForIt wrote: »
    I don't know the ins and outs of of the investigation so far, but the idea it was some random attach by some unknown person to the victim strikes me as highly unlikely, impossible even, given Swinford is a virtual ghost town. It had to be someone connected to his social group specifically the people he was socialising with on the night it happened.
    Thanks Sherlock. We can rule out the butler

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,172 ✭✭✭cannotlogin

Why oh why don't the police bring in the suspects and beat a statement out of him. After all " everyone knows who did it"

That's not what I'm saying at all.
    Have you ever been to Swinford?
    It's not exactly a town with loads of tourism or strangers around.
    The chances of it being a random attack are so slim.
    If the investigators did their job properly, investigated immediately and collected evidence, it would be a very different story.
    Even the fact that no one in the house, no one he socialised with that night, went to the hospital with him, should have raised immediate suspicion.
    Fully believe the gardai have let him and his family down.
    How can you not believe they couldn't have done more.

In other words you really haven't a clue

Enlighten me then? How would you proceed? Any new information given by the witnesses during the inquest can be used as evidence if the DPP decides to press charges afterwards.

Nobody knows who did it, but the 3 main suspects have questions to answer for sure.

There's evidence to show that Joe & his friend were awake socialising at 4am, snapchatting their friends in the UK. Joe was then found beaten to death outside the house they were staying in at 6am.

Thanks Sherlock. We can rule out the butler

You're welcome Moriarty

• Registered Users Posts: 4,539 ✭✭✭Treppen

Why did the Sun article say that the gardaí thought there was more than one killer?

Treppen wrote: »
    Why did the Sun article say that the gardaí thought there was more than one killer?

I'm not sure! I'm going to post any further developments down the line in this thread.