Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

A/R TT....Round 3 - 10min TT, 10k TT, 10m TT, Saturday July 4th

• Registered Users Posts: 3,690 ✭✭✭CR 7

Name |Cat|Event|Prediction|Actual|Adjusted|Sandbag Factor
    MrSkinny|M48|10mins|2,500m||||
    edinrunna|M26|10mins|2,840m||||
    Pherekydes|M60|10mins|2,020m||||
    Career move|F38|10mins|2,500m||||
    Thebitterlemon|M53|10mins|2,500m||||
    Dubh Geannain|M37|10mins|3,001m||||
    Annie get your Run|F49|10mins|2,000m||||
    Murph_D|M59|10mins|2,650m||||
    Shotgunmcos|M42|10k|38:59||||
    OOnegative|M41|10k|38.58||||
    DeepBlue|M49|10k|43:54||||
    healy1835|M39|10miles|59:41||||
    Treviso|M41|10miles|64.59||||
    Diablo Verde|M39|10miles|61:17||||
    Lazare|M44|10miles|69:00||||
    spc78|M42|10miles|59:10||||
    skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    Swashbuckler|M38|TBC|TBC||||
    66_Lad|M40|10miles|TBC||||
    lenny palmer|M48|10miles|75:00||||
    ClashCityRocker|M35|10k|36:59||||
    blackbird86|F37|10k|54:59||||
    Laineyfrecks|F42|10k|43:10||||
    Hannibal_Smith|F43|10k|TBC||||
    pansophelia|F40|10k|54:59||||
    crisco10|M34|10mins|2,800m||||
    diego_b|M38|10k|45:00||||
    MisterJinx|M43|10mins|2,800m||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Baby75|F44|10k|57:50||||
    Speedy44|M55|10mins|2,600m||||
    AuldManKing|M47|TBC|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||
    Wubble Wubble|M47|10mins|2,501m||||
    Lambay Island|M39|TBC|TBC||||
    Omeceron|M39|10k|49:00||||
    CR 7|M31|10k|39:45||||

The mile TT predicted this time so looks like a good target to me. I had 2 failed attempts to go under 40 pre-covid too so have that unfinished business to sort.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭ReeReeG

Howyiz! Thanks for setting up another TT lads, although I'm feeling a little bad none of us women have stepped up to that job yet.. maybe next time eh!

Can you please add me for 10k, target 44.59, F34 if we are adding ages! Cheers :)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,250 ✭✭✭coogy

skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||
    ReeReeG|F34|10k|44:59||||

There you go V!

• Registered Users Posts: 187 ✭✭Hedgehoggy

coogy wrote: »
    skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||

There you go V!

Won't go messing with the table.

I'll try 10 minutes. F37 Goal is 2.41 k.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,399 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Murph_D|M59|10k|44:59||||
    skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||

Switching events. Pacing duty.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,143 ✭✭✭outforarun

skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||
    outforarun|M47|10k|38:29||||

Thanks for taking this on guys. I'm signing up for the 10K. PB is 38:38 and I like to think is a sitting duck. But a solo TT is a different beast to a race. 38:29 is a fair mix of sandbag and optimism I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭shotgunmcos

skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||
    Hedgehoggy|F37|10mins|2,410m||||
    jamule|M45|TBC|TBC||||

Updating table... welcome! Up to 40... eh edit: (jamule added) 41 runners now :)

• Registered Users Posts: 933 ✭✭✭jamule

can someone put me in the table. m45 TBC or CDA.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Lazare

So what's a good 10 mile workout then?

Lazare wrote: »
    So what's a good 10 mile workout then?

10x1mile @target pace +15s, no rest? lol

Does anyone specialise in 10mile? People aim for 10k to half marathon lots will enter 10mile races. Do you use your 10k or HM workouts to suffice or do specific 10mile workouts exist?

Yeah, it's a strange one. A block would probably be a blend of 10k and half.

A lot of tempo work I would assume.

I'm thinking for today a 10m run with míle 4 to 8 at goal pace.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,582 ✭✭✭Swashbuckler

Does anyone specialise in 10mile? People aim for 10k to half marathon lots will enter 10mile races. Do you use your 10k or HM workouts to suffice or do specific 10mile workouts exist?

Anyone in good 10k shape isn't far off decent 10M shape. Maybe a bit more emphasis on threshold workouts for 10M block

• Registered Users Posts: 2,491 ✭✭✭Laineyfrecks

Anyone in good 10k shape isn't far off decent 10M shape. Maybe a bit more emphasis on threshold workouts for 10M block

Oh my god you actually did it :D hahaha

• Registered Users Posts: 488 ✭✭ClashCityRocker

skyblue|M53|TBC|TBC||||
    ClashCityRocker|M35|10miles|59:59||||
    coogy|M47|10k|TBC||||
    Rizzee|M29|TBC|TBC||||
    Hedgehoggy|F37|10mins|2,410m||||
    jamule|M45|TBC|TBC||||

Changing from 10k to 10 miles, hope that is ok. Did a 10km tt this morning so might as well mix it up

The ten mile time i've put quicker than my pb by 20 secs, and it's a good bit faster than the 10ktt i did this morning would indicate (McMillan calc has me at 1:01 based on that) but might as well go for it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Wubble Wubble

Sorry, but I won't be running this one either. Injured again, so it would be very foolish to attempt a speedy 10 minute TT, just three weeks from now :rolleyes:

Ah that's **** J.

Yeah, it's a strange one. A block would probably be a blend of 10k and half.

A lot of tempo work I would assume.

I'm thinking for today a 10m run with míle 4 to 8 at goal pace.

Did this session on Sat. Not sure my goal of 69 is realistic after it. Struggled to hold goal pace over 4 miles, 10 seems an ask.

A week of clean living before race day might make a difference though, we'll see, I'll leave it as is for now.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,834 ✭✭✭OOnegative

Did this session on Sat. Not sure my goal of 69 is realistic after it. Struggled to hold goal pace over 4 miles, 10 seems an ask.

A week of clean living before race day might make a difference though, we'll see, I'll leave it as is for now.

Workouts always feel tougher running them solo C. Your no different than anyone else feeling that way.

Why don’t a group of ye hit the PP on the morning of the 4th and run together/close proximity semi-race style. Be definitely easier mentally having others there running & supporting one another. I know ReeReeG is planning on using the GIR route for her TT, maybe yourself, Lainey & even Scaldy could meet up and run some miles together.

OOnegative wrote: »
    Workouts always feel tougher running them solo C. Your no different than anyone else feeling that way.

Why don’t a group of ye hit the PP on the morning of the 4th and run together/close proximity semi-race style. Be definitely easier mentally having others there running & supporting one another. I know ReeReeG is planning on using the GIR route for her TT, maybe yourself, Lainey & even Scaldy could meet up and run some miles together.

That would actually be incredible. I think S is working that day though which is a pity.

See, I knew who you meant with 'Scaldy' :pac:

• Registered Users Posts: 4,807 ✭✭✭skyblue46

If Scaldy does anything on the day it will be a 10k as a pacer :)

skyblue46 wrote: »
    If Scaldy does anything on the day it will be a 10k as a pacer :)

Good man, could help C with a few miles then.

• Registered Users Posts: 622 ✭✭✭Reality_Check1

Ok going to sign up for this. Only started running at the start of lockdown and im v overweight but I like the idea of a challenge. I'll try to pick something challenging but doable with a hard effort

So M33 10k 54:59

Im not gonna touch the table incase I mess it up :o

Welcome aboard! I'll update the table this weekend.

Low numbers and engagement so far. Hopefully will ramp up as we close in on the day :(

Who’s yer man Swashbuckler on the table, new lad about the place.......

I think he could possibly be a mole from that Coronavirus thread :pac:

Did I ever tell ye about the perils of toxic sweat?

I was your ultimate wet dream today!!!!

OOnegative wrote:

Was disappointed at the lack of photo

Insert breaking me bo!!ix laughing emoji!!