Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all,
Vanilla are planning an update to the site on April 24th (next Wednesday). It is a major PHP8 update which is expected to boost performance across the site. The site will be down from 7pm and it is expected to take about an hour to complete. We appreciate your patience during the update.
Thanks all.

Any investment/money advice.

• 02-06-2020 8:45pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2,645 ✭✭✭

Hi

I'm looking for some money advice. I'm 24, I work as a software engineer. I make 32K a year (I'm leaving after COVID, once the economy turns back on, and will be on 45-50K).

I luckily live at home and I have 20K saved. My goal is to buy an apartment over the next few years. I know I should probably start a pension, but I don't know who to open one with or how much to contribute. My employer doesn't contribute.

Any advice?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 9,359 ✭✭✭Shedite27

Hi

I'm looking for some money advice. I'm 24, I work as a software engineer. I make 32K a year (I'm leaving after COVID, once the economy turns back on, and will be on 45-50K).

I luckily live at home and I have 20K saved. My goal is to buy an apartment over the next few years. I know I should probably start a pension, but I don't know who to open one with or how much to contribute. My employer doesn't contribute.

Any advice?
    Definitely get a pension sorted. Even if you can get €100-200 a month into that it will blossom fantastically over time. It's tax free too so your €100 will actually get you more for your retirement. Earlier you start the more it will accumulate to.