Boards Ultimate Flags of the World Tournament

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,742 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Marshall Islands. I'd never heard of them before this contest, but I can honestly say I wanted this flag to win since I saw it.
    It just really attractive , as flags go

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Humm its a tough one. They are very similar.

OK Marshall Islands - final answer

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 96,617 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Namibia for the Caprivi Strip.

It's 32Km wide and 450 Km long

Swapped for Zanzibar and Heligoland , which Germany still owns despite the Brits trying to blow it off the map

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,621 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Namibia.

Same flag as the Islands but much better colours and parallel lines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭CK22

Since I laid eyes on the Marshall Islands it became one of my favourites. I cheered every time it got through. This thread has been incredible for me as Geography nerd. I have learned so many new flags. I have learned so many new countries and learned about the symbolism of the flags. There have been fights and differences. We’ve seen parrots, dragons, eagles eating snakes, a royal rumble, two headed birds, even a carpet on a flag. We all had our own favourites, I discovered I had a thing for black and red flags, such as PNG, Albania and Angola. We’ve all learned something. To the OP who started it all, thank you for running this amazing thread. Beautifully done. A masterpiece.

And finally, to the Marshall Islands, take it home you work of art. It’s been a pleasure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,514 ✭✭✭ArnoldJRimmer

Marshall Islands, such a nice colour scheme and design

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,147 ✭✭✭De Bhál

Marshall Islands is better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,778 ✭✭✭Ferris_Bueller

Namibia because I prefer the colours but looks like it is going to be a massacre.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭al87987

Yeah Marshall Islands for the win. Great colour scheme and design.

Still maintain Mexico was the real winner.

Thanks a lot OP for your work

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,696 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Marshall Islands.

Looks Spacey and that will have to do.

Still in shock from Dominica's early exit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭littlevillage

I'm still butt-hurt about Bhutan and Albania getting booted out early.

Feck-it, I'll go for Namibia. Its a decent flag.

Marshal Islands flag looks like a depiction of a skid-mark contrail left behind by a star meteor

It's been a literal trip around the globe but you, the good people of Boards.ie, have declared that your Ultimate World Flag Tournament winner is...

Marshall Islands

1.jpg

I have had a blast doing this... even though it's all been done pain-stakingly on my phone (except Round 2 which was on a highjacked work computer). It's so great and a bit surreal to bring so many together over bloody colours, shapes and patterns! Thanks so much for all your witty, informative and bonkers posts. It's been class.

You've skippered many a fine tournament Macker but that was the best of the lot. It had its share of questionable results but overall a worthy winner. Thoroughly enjoyed it.

tenor.gif

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,549 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

Looking back at the initial sceptics who scoffed at the idea of a nerdy flag tournament. They've missed out though - this was great craic! Cheers Omack!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 17,742 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Thank you Omackeral.
    The were countries I'd never heard of, like the winner, and now I feel a little more educated.
    I'm now dreaming of booking a holiday to Majuro Atoll .
    Dreams come true don't they?
    Cheers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,724 ✭✭✭✭Earthhorse

Well done to the winning flag and, indeed, to all the flags that took part. Here is a little video to celebrate you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,511 ✭✭✭Purgative

Omack thanks for all your time and efforts holding this thread together.

Its been a blast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,199 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

We should contact the Marshall islands embassy and get Omac an OBE or Iron cross with oaks or whatever award they give out over there.

Oh and thanks for all the hard work was a great distraction.

🙈🙉🙊

Well neither of my favs won, Albania (my heart) or Bhutan ( that dragon!)
    But a good winner overall

Fair play omac, tough days at work this week Obvs :)
    Good comp, better then the insult laden others

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 15,696 ✭✭✭✭Arghus

Yeah, wonderful stuff Omackeral.

Fantastic stuff like this makes Boards worth it.

My three favourites:

Nepal
    Dominica
    Uganda

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭Citizenpain

Well done op , that was a great distraction for a few days

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,791 ✭✭✭KathleenGrant

Missed the play offs. Annoyed but a family crisis was marginally more important. I would have voted Dominica and Marshall islands so i am happy.

This was a great tournament. Fantastic for a nerd like me and I still learned so much.
    Thanks Omack for doing this.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,146 ✭✭✭Dickie10

im a flag nut , i collect them. do one on the flags of the world that are now gone like confederate, USSR, South Africa, East Germany

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Thanks Mack, what's next? :p

I'll have a moment of silence for Bhutan, Vanuatu and Foghorn Leghorn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,272 ✭✭✭Barna77

Thanks to the OP, this was fun

We should contact the Marshall islands embassy and get Omac an OBE or Iron cross with oaks or whatever award they give out over there.
    I'd say a flag :D

I actually learned loads about world flags from this thread.

Thanks OP for a great thread.

Thanks Mack, what's next? :p

Could do one on US State flags and its territories, maybe even include Canadian Provinces in it also?

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Paid Member Posts: 22,100 Mod ✭✭✭✭Leg End Reject

Omackeral wrote: »
    Could do one on US State flags and its territories, maybe even include Canadian Provinces in it also?

Another civil war would break the monotony alright.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,285 ✭✭✭Cosmo Kramer

Omackeral wrote: »

Also US cities possibly, or non-nation states (Scotland, North Cyprus, Transnistria etc)?

• Registered Users, Subscribers, Registered Users 2 Posts: 47,411 ✭✭✭✭Zaph

Missed the final, but in the end my one extra vote for Namibia wouldn't have been enough to halt the Marshall Islands juggernaut.

Omack, that was a seriously entertaining game, thanks for running it. I love flags but I was a bit dubious at the start that there'd be enough other people interested to sustain it, but this thread has been great craic. A pat on the back to all who participated, even if you picked the wrong winner. :)